Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: ION Games wont load  (Read 834 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
ION Games wont load
« on: January 03, 2019, 10:05:36 am »
Hey Guys

I have an ION that boots up with no issues but when you touch any game on the screen it goes black(no sound either) and nothing after that. At first I thought it might be the hard drive so I changed that out but it still does it with the replaced HD. The only thing I can think of is the IO board is bad or is starting to go bad. But when it boots up it shows the IO as passed, not sure if that matters or not. Has anyone else ran into this?

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:June 03, 2019, 11:25:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2019, 10:10:33 am »
Which model, motherboard, and software version? How much ram in the system? Have you tried an old game like Great Solitaire or 11up that runs in 640x480?

Sent from my XT1687 using Tapatalk


jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2019, 10:15:04 am »
Ion with the Asus gold motherboard, 512mb of ram, hard drive is 2014 ION. I have tried old games, new games, changing ram and the results are the same every time.
It boots, runs all of the demos with no issues. Only craps out when you select a game.

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:June 03, 2019, 11:25:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2019, 09:47:37 pm »
I've seen the Asus boards have problems with the video chip that occurs when the game uses 3d rendering (e.g. Beer pong) but not in older games like 11up. Never seen it not play any games. Sounds like the only thing left to swap out is the motherboard... I would take everything out of the machine and run it on my bench first.

Sent from my XT1687 using Tapatalk


lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6272
  • Last login:Today at 03:03:12 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2019, 10:14:18 pm »
try and swap out the ram stick with another if you have one kicking around. maybe even try to swap slots. ram gets weird. could be a bad slot too.

failing that, just do a reinstall. if you don't have the disks, one of us can upload a ISO of the CD's so you can burn a set.

otherwise... ebay D945GCLF up a board and replace it.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2019, 10:16:02 pm by lilshawn »

jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2019, 08:19:14 am »
Thanks guys for the help. Sadly I do not have the 2014 software I thought I found an ISO online but when I tried to install it, it said my security key wasn't the correct version.
I will try out another RAM stick,  I know they can cause a lot of issues. I had one go bad that threw a D-sub error. My god that one took me forever to figure out.

I'll take everything out tonight and run some tests. I have a backup IO, CPU, RAM, HD, and motherboard so I should be able to see what is causing this headache.

I'll keep you posted and let you know what I find. Thank you again.

jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2019, 06:22:19 pm »
Well fellas it looks like I have an issue with the Asus motherboard.  You nailed it right on the head. I tried the older games again tonight and all of them worked. When I tried the 2014 or 2010 games it went blank. Should I change the motherboard or is there a fix for this? If I swap the MB out it will be with another Asus gold board.

I do have an Intel D945GCLF board to try its been sitting in my parts bin and I forgot all about it
« Last Edit: January 05, 2019, 06:35:11 pm by jokerz4fun »

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6272
  • Last login:Today at 03:03:12 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2019, 06:37:04 pm »
yeah the D945GCLF is the board used in the next model up RX machines.

jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2019, 05:48:44 pm »
The only thing I'll have to change is the wiring harness. I think the ion harness I have now is a 20 pin and the Intel board is a 24 pin with another four pin for the processor.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:19 pm
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2019, 07:07:40 pm »
The only thing I'll have to change is the wiring harness. I think the ion harness I have now is a 20 pin and the Intel board is a 24 pin with another four pin for the processor.

20 pin works fine. The other 4 pins are not needed. I have no idea why intel made that board with a 24 pin connector. Also, every WS Aurora ive seen still use Merits official 20 pin atx 300w psu.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6272
  • Last login:Today at 03:03:12 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2019, 08:36:16 pm »
just for increased current carrying capability on higher wattage CPUS with tons of regulators. for these tiny things, you don't even need to plug them in.


jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2019, 08:49:29 pm »
Awesome thanks for all the help! I will say it's nice with a smaller board it frees up a ton of space

jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2019, 09:17:07 am »
 :applaud: Thanks to all of you for the help. It booted right up yesterday the only issue I had was re-calibrating the screen. But a simple Dip Switch 6 corrected that issue. Now she runs like a dream and a heck of a lot cooler than the Asus boards. Thanks again!  :cheers:

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:June 03, 2019, 11:25:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2019, 10:29:24 am »
Is this an Evo machine? Curious how you mounted the board

Sent from my XT1687 using Tapatalk


jokerz4fun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 28, 2019, 09:03:41 am
  • Im surprised I haven't electrocuted myself yet.
Re: ION Games wont load
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2019, 11:46:54 am »
I used one of the existing mounting hole for the Asus board and reran all the cables to the io board which I mounted on the side of the new mb. Is it the best way? Probably not but it works