Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie  (Read 521 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MrRalphMan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« on: December 21, 2018, 10:37:26 am »
Hi,

I am trying to add a check PS2 Trackball to my Retropie controller, but am not having much luck.

The device works on my PC and lights up when connected to the PI, but Emulation Station will not pick it up to configure.  I know that this will work with the PI, as searching I found the following link:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=146993.0

So I was wondering is it the PS2 --> USB converter that needs to be swapped and if so, does anyone know the correct one to buy, bearing in mind I am in the UK?

Any help would be gratefully received.

Paul

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5622
  • I eat cookies yum yum!
Re: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 05:25:26 am »
Hi,

I am trying to add a check PS2 Trackball to my Retropie controller, but am not having much luck.

The device works on my PC and lights up when connected to the PI, but Emulation Station will not pick it up to configure.  I know that this will work with the PI, as searching I found the following link:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=146993.0

So I was wondering is it the PS2 --> USB converter that needs to be swapped and if so, does anyone know the correct one to buy, bearing in mind I am in the UK?

Any help would be gratefully received.

Paul

Well due to the fact you are in the UK....

If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1127
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2018, 04:09:57 pm »
You have to configure the mouse input to be on in whichever emulator you use before it will work.

EmulationStation doesn't use the mouse as far as I know for selection and input.

MrRalphMan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2018, 10:50:46 am »
Hi,

I think I was being a numpty, yes I was expecting Emulation Station to find the Track Ball.

So following the Wiki (https://retropie.org.uk/docs/Spinners,-Trackballs,-Lightguns,-and-other-Mouse-Devices/) I have found that mouse0 is the trackball and it does seem to be working under Linux on the PI.

I have added the following line to the retroarch.cfg file for mame2003-libretro, which is the emulator I am using, but I still unable to configure this under the Track settings, for Missile command for example.
Is there another step that I have missed, or should I be able to set the settings, using the track ball input?

**** Update ****
I have seen another post that states they got it working by putting the following in the /configs/all/retroarch-core-options.cfg file.

mame2003-tate_mode = "enabled"

This still does not allow me to set the track controls in a game to this device.  Do I need to do this manually?

Many Thanks,

Paul
« Last Edit: December 23, 2018, 11:22:25 am by MrRalphMan »

MrRalphMan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2018, 10:59:16 am »
Hokay, a quick update.

I've tested a game with logging and I see this section around the inputs:

[INFO] [udev]: Keyboard #0 (/dev/input/event3).
[INFO] [udev]: Keyboard #1 (/dev/input/mouse1).
[INFO] [udev]: Keyboard #2 (/dev/input/event0).
[ERROR] [udev] Failed to open device: /dev/input/event3 (Success).
[INFO] [udev]: Mouse #0 (/dev/input/mouse1).
[ERROR] [udev] Failed to open device: /dev/input/event1 (Success).
[INFO] [udev]: Mouse #1 (/dev/input/mouse0).
[INFO] [udev]: Plugged pad: DragonRise Inc.   Generic   USB  Joystick   (121:6) on port #0.
[INFO] [udev]: Pad #0 (/dev/input/event2) supports 0 force feedback effects.

Now doing a cat on the different inputs, I find the following mappings:

mouse0 (Track Pad)
mouse1 (KB Mouse)
event0 (Unknown)
event1 (Track Pad)
event2 (Unknown - Constant Input)
event3 (KB Mouse)
js0    (USB Joypad Controller)
mice   (Track Pad & KB Mouse)

So am I right in saying that the Trackpad is mouse0, but mouse index 1 as per the 'Mouse #1 (/dev/input/mouse0)' line?

I have deleted the mame2003 default.cfg file and the associated .cfg file for missile command.  This has not worked.
Looking at the game control options within the Mame GUI, what I do see is that the Track x/y settings are set to the retropad1, so not sure if this needs to be altered?

Any advice would be great at this point..

Many Thanks,

Paul

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1127
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2018, 03:23:12 pm »
I've only used Advanced mame with the mouse on the RPI.

but I have an old laptop with linux installed and retroarch here at work so I took a look.
Get into the retroarch settings by just running retroarch by itself.

https://www.retroarch.com/index.php?page=configuration

go to input and select Input User 1 Binds.
set user 1 device type as the mouse. my laptop calls it retropad.
Then I loaded up centipede and I was able to move around using the touchpad and the arrow keys on the keyboard so it didn't nutz anything up.
Hope this helps as debian desktop isn't exactly non-desktop rpi linux.


MrRalphMan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2018, 03:55:21 pm »
I've only used Advanced mame with the mouse on the RPI.

but I have an old laptop with linux installed and retroarch here at work so I took a look.
Get into the retroarch settings by just running retroarch by itself.

https://www.retroarch.com/index.php?page=configuration

go to input and select Input User 1 Binds.
set user 1 device type as the mouse. my laptop calls it retropad.
Then I loaded up centipede and I was able to move around using the touchpad and the arrow keys on the keyboard so it didn't nutz anything up.
Hope this helps as debian desktop isn't exactly non-desktop rpi linux.
Maybe you could share the retroarch core config file when you get a chance. 
Just so I can take a look at what's being set.

Paul

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk


MrRalphMan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Using a generic PS2 Trackball with my Raspberry PI and Retropie
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2019, 02:29:15 am »
Just to let you know this is now working, seems that when I had the wireless keyboard plugged in, it would only see that.
Reboot the pi without it and the ball works just fine.

Paul

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk


  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31