Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: CRT Screen  (Read 817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

solocon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:January 01, 2019, 10:20:52 pm
  • I'm a llama!
CRT Screen
« on: December 15, 2018, 09:14:58 pm »
Only had the system for about a week. Screen is a Neotec NT-35C.

« Last Edit: December 29, 2018, 06:19:53 am by solocon »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5801
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:40:13 pm
Re: Having CRT Screen issues
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2018, 05:23:55 am »
have you tried adjusting horizontal hold?

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1403
  • Last login:March 22, 2019, 02:34:08 pm
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: Having CRT Screen issues
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2018, 06:01:46 am »
This definitely looks like an HSync issue to me as well.  Although itís odd that it happens after a certain amount of time.  I wonder if that points to a bad cap or something?

big10p

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 677
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:13:08 pm
  • Mmmm, arcade classics!
Re: Having CRT Screen issues
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2018, 06:06:55 am »
This definitely looks like an HSync issue to me as well.  Although itís odd that it happens after a certain amount of time.  I wonder if that points to a bad cap or something?
Common enough problem if the hsync is set right on the cusp of being out of sync. Fine when it's cold, but when things warm up, it goes out of sync.

lomoverde

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:March 22, 2019, 06:43:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2019, 11:20:57 am »
Could I ask how this problem can be fixed. Iíve been running crt emudriver for a while now with a hd2400.
Iíve switched to a different pc, a hd6450, same cable same grundig crt tv, relevant driver and I cannot get it right. If the tv has been off a while itís ok for about 2 mins then starts flickering and rolling like mad. Iíve battled with this for 2 days now, and seem to be going round in circles.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:03:20 pm
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2019, 11:28:02 am »
Did you try the horizontal hold yet?

lomoverde

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:March 22, 2019, 06:43:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2019, 12:53:15 pm »
Ok so youíve stumped me already, this is only my second go at crt emudriver. Unfortunately my first attempt went without a hitch so I didnít have to leave the tutorial.  Is h hold a physical setting on the tv? Iím assuming it will involve taking the back off if it is? I no longer have the remote. I donít understand why the other pc would work fine.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:03:20 pm
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2019, 01:02:43 pm »
It is a physical knob. It will be labeled. If you don't know what horizontal hold is you probably shouldn't be poking around an arcade monitor without help. There are some guys who really know their stuff here. Hopefully someone can chime in and direct you safely.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 792
  • Last login:March 20, 2019, 01:18:37 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2019, 05:40:29 pm »
It is a physical knob. It will be labeled.

A newer TV won't have a knob.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:03:20 pm
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2019, 06:30:46 pm »
I thought he was dealing with an arcade monitor.

Paradroid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 656
  • Last login:March 24, 2019, 07:26:11 pm
    • SCART Hunter
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2019, 04:23:53 pm »
Iíve switched to a different pc, a hd6450, same cable same grundig crt tv, relevant driver and I cannot get it right.

What kind of wiring does your VGA to SCART cable have? Separate H & V sync of composite sync?
My MAME/SCART/CRT blog: SCART Hunter

lomoverde

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:March 22, 2019, 06:43:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Screen
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2019, 06:44:04 am »
Iím not sure about that sorry. I bought the cable from a retro store on eBay. It has the vga on one end, scart on the other obviously. A audio jack and a molex connector. Iíve switched back to my other pc with the hd 2400 card and itís rock solid on my crt. Bought a remote from eBay for the tv and have been able to adjust geometry slightly and all looks great.
My problem with this setup is running groovymame as administrator. Attract mode wonít launch games and Iím assuming itís because of administrative issues.