Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480  (Read 379 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DaddyLongLegs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« on: November 01, 2018, 04:31:01 pm »
Hello all.

I had my MAME cabinet set up perfectly. Then my Corsair liquid cooler leaked all over my motherboard and video card, destroying both.

I bought a replacement motherboard and video card (ASUS Radeon HD 6450 Video Card). I flashed Atom15 to it without issue, and crtemudriver is all set up and installed.

The only issue is all of a sudden I cannot get Windows 10 to start up in 640x480. It is so annoying seeing a scrambled screen and having to get my laptop to remote desktop into my MAME cabinet to change the resolution.

Is there any reason I didn't have this issue before but do now just because I replaced the motherboard and identical video card? Is there any way I can tell Windows 10 to boot up in 640x480? I assumed it just kept whatever the last resolution you selected was but it does not seem to do that. Thank you in advance!!

Osirus23

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 358
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2018, 06:30:03 pm »
Was the old PC running Windows 10?

DaddyLongLegs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2018, 08:26:39 am »
Was the old PC running Windows 10?

Yes. Literally nothing changed except me swapping out the motherboard and video card. Even the CPU and RAM is identical.

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3155
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2018, 10:42:33 am »
It's been a while but IIRC the first time you boot you need to boot into safe mode (this forces a start with the low res VGA driver (which is 640x480 res.) - then you go into the video settings and under advanced properties have it list all video modes - that list should contain the 640x480 resolutions that by default windows 10 no longer lists - select the one you want save the changes and reboot in normal mode and it should now be in 640x480 res.

Until you do this 640x480 resolutions are not available in the list of resolutions since the windows desktop etc. do not look good in 640x480 so they have pretty much done what they can to get rid of those low resolutions.

DaddyLongLegs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2018, 11:23:38 am »
It's been a while but IIRC the first time you boot you need to boot into safe mode (this forces a start with the low res VGA driver (which is 640x480 res.) - then you go into the video settings and under advanced properties have it list all video modes - that list should contain the 640x480 resolutions that by default windows 10 no longer lists - select the one you want save the changes and reboot in normal mode and it should now be in 640x480 res.

Until you do this 640x480 resolutions are not available in the list of resolutions since the windows desktop etc. do not look good in 640x480 so they have pretty much done what they can to get rid of those low resolutions.

I definitely never had to do that when I first made this cabinet. Weird. I will give that a try.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2018, 11:39:17 am by DaddyLongLegs »

DaddyLongLegs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2018, 01:02:43 pm »
It's been a while but IIRC the first time you boot you need to boot into safe mode (this forces a start with the low res VGA driver (which is 640x480 res.) - then you go into the video settings and under advanced properties have it list all video modes - that list should contain the 640x480 resolutions that by default windows 10 no longer lists - select the one you want save the changes and reboot in normal mode and it should now be in 640x480 res.

Until you do this 640x480 resolutions are not available in the list of resolutions since the windows desktop etc. do not look good in 640x480 so they have pretty much done what they can to get rid of those low resolutions.

I definitely never had to do that when I first made this cabinet. Weird. I will give that a try.

OK this did not work. In safe mode, I cannot change screen res. It forces 800x600. I cannot change it to anything else.

DaddyLongLegs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2018, 09:59:50 am »
Anybody?

phulshof

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
    • Pieter's Webpage
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2018, 10:30:34 am »
Is your video card actually capable of running at such resolution? I know I had to get a special card to run 320x240 in the past, and I'm not sure all modern cards can still run at 640x480.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


DaddyLongLegs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2018, 10:43:28 am »
Is your video card actually capable of running at such resolution? I know I had to get a special card to run 320x240 in the past, and I'm not sure all modern cards can still run at 640x480.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Yes. I am using an Radeon HD 6450 Video Card with crtemudriver. As mentioned, I have no problem getting 640x480 or 320x240. My problem is Windows 10 refuses to start in either and insists on 800x600.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16728
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2018, 10:54:21 pm »
You could download something like Qres and then add a batch file to your startup folder that uses qres to switch the resolution. 

http://qres.sourceforge.net/

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1028
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2018, 11:38:30 pm »
Try this:

open "Display settings" (right-click on desktop)
click/open "Advanced display settings"
click/open "Display adapter properties for Display 1" Or whatever # your display is.
click/open "List all modes"
choose your video mode from the list!
- "640x480, True Color (32 bit), 60 Hertz"

Click OK a couple of times to exit out!

After the above, you can also use ArcadeOSD (should be in same folder as VMMaker) to select desktop mode (though I'm not sure that you'll need to, at this point).

If problems persist, you could ask about this on the Groovymame branch of this forum.

Check out my completed projects!


DaddyLongLegs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2018, 08:16:58 am »
Try this:

open "Display settings" (right-click on desktop)
click/open "Advanced display settings"
click/open "Display adapter properties for Display 1" Or whatever # your display is.
click/open "List all modes"
choose your video mode from the list!
- "640x480, True Color (32 bit), 60 Hertz"

Click OK a couple of times to exit out!

After the above, you can also use ArcadeOSD (should be in same folder as VMMaker) to select desktop mode (though I'm not sure that you'll need to, at this point).

If problems persist, you could ask about this on the Groovymame branch of this forum.

This solved it! Thank you so, so much!!  :cheers:

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16728
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2018, 06:57:24 pm »
Wait so the first thing you tried wasn't what was posted above?!?  Lol welcome to windows... I can see you are a first time user.  ;)

Mr. Peabody

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2018, 10:12:35 pm »
Liquid coolers have not appealed to me. What monitor are you using?

Wait so the first thing you tried wasn't what was posted above?!?  Lol welcome to windows... I can see you are a first time user.  ;)

I was thinking it might not translate from Safe Mode to normal boot. I'm surprised he didn't go into display>advanced to begin with.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1028
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2018, 06:04:43 am »
Liquid coolers have not appealed to me. What monitor are you using?

Wait so the first thing you tried wasn't what was posted above?!?  Lol welcome to windows... I can see you are a first time user.  ;)

I was thinking it might not translate from Safe Mode to normal boot. I'm surprised he didn't go into display>advanced to begin with.

It is not obvious, especially in Win 10 as you have to scroll down in Display settings to find the advanced settings button/link (on my laptop's 1080p display anyway). The resolution pull-down list, that you immediately see, seems to be the obvious place to look, and one might not realise that you can scroll down a ways to access more settings. It is also several layers "deep" before you get to the right place.

So no, really not obvious at all.
Check out my completed projects!


Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16728
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: My MAME cabinet (Windows 10) refuses to start Windows in 640x480
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2018, 08:42:21 pm »
Actually it is.  The menus might have changed a little, but that is how it's been since windows xp. 

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1028
Actually it is.  The menus might have changed a little, but that is how it's been since windows xp. 

Yeah, that's what I mean - in XP the advanced display settings button is visible right there on first "page" of display settings, so to speak.

On Win 10 you have to scroll down or use the scroll slider on the side to find them. And it is not immediately obvious that you can scroll because the scroll slider is slimmed right down unless you hover over it.

Just another arcane thing to using windows.
Check out my completed projects!


  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31