Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: What is the best hardware?  (Read 500 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
What is the best hardware?
« on: October 30, 2018, 02:32:22 am »
Hi everyone! ^_^
What is your dream? Our dream? Playing all these old 15Khz games in the best conditions, right? So instead of trying to get an approximate result of these games with our own hardware why not list the best possible hardware (graphic card, CPU, MB, RAM etc...) to play as if it was the original hardware? I don't care if I need to spend US$1000 instead of US$1,000,000 if I should buy all these old games... ;)

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2817
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 05:58:22 am »
The best hardware is the original hardware the game was designed for.

If you want to play pac man get a pac man arcade board etc.

The nearest you will get without a original cabinet is a supergun hooked up to a real arcade monitor with controls to suit.

After that just get any old PC and emulate it.

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2018, 06:26:56 am »
Titchgamer, I know the best hardware is the original hardware... I want to say is many many players playing with groovymame would like to know how to play as on original hardware. Some people say there is no differences when 2 cabinets are side by side (a cabinet with original hardware and the other one with groovymame). No differences about graphics, sound and of course playability. So how to get this result?
« Last Edit: October 30, 2018, 10:33:48 am by folken »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6149
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2018, 06:32:51 am »
After that just get any old PC and emulate it.

1.- Original PCB (cabinet or supergun)
2.- New PC with the best single thread performant CPU your budget allows.
3.- Old PC

 ;)



Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6149
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2018, 06:43:15 am »
folken,

Every few months you come back with the same question. Man, spend some cash a get a proper pc finally. There's no such thing as the best possible hardware for GroovyMAME. You can't wait forever until someone tells you the specific parts you have to buy. Your best bet is to go to one of those webs that suggest gaming pc builds for different budgets. Those guys know better than us. Pick one that uses a Radeon card, or simply ignore the video card suggestion and get a card that's supported by CRT Emudriver 2.0, much better if it's one of the later GCN models.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2018, 07:26:15 am »
Calamity, I see what you mean but these guys don't play Groovymame ;)
About graphic card I have the ASUS 6450 2go.

Some people say Groovymame works in single thread some say not so who I must believe? If GM works in single thread I'll buy a 4790k (Windows 7 pro 64) if multithread... It depends my bank account  :D
« Last Edit: October 30, 2018, 07:36:15 am by folken »

cools

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 573
  • Arcade Otaku sysadmin...
    • Arcade Otaku
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2018, 07:32:19 am »
much better if it's one of the later GCN models.

 :hissy:

Are any of the GCN models fanless?
Please don't PM me with support questions. Ask in public so everyone can learn!

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6149
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2018, 08:06:32 am »
much better if it's one of the later GCN models.

 :hissy:

Are any of the GCN models fanless?

Nevermind, I'm currently patching a new Emudriver with support for Ryzen / Vega graphics, so the situation may be different in a few weeks.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2817
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2018, 08:13:03 am »
If you want specific support for GM then ask the GM devs?

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 704
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2018, 07:17:37 pm »
If you want specific support for GM then ask the GM devs?
er...

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2817
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2018, 07:48:19 pm »
If you want specific support for GM then ask the GM devs?
er...

My point is that if a dev said use a certain type of gfx card it would be best to listen to them over some other random guy....

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 704
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2018, 10:34:41 pm »
Who do you think the GM devs are, though?

folken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2018, 02:21:52 am »
Who do you think the GM devs are, though?
Calamity?

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1462
  • Web Developer.
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2018, 07:03:13 am »
My setup doesn’t cost anywhere near the $1000 mark. I choose the best for budget i3. Can play blitz and gauntleg well over 100%. No super computer needed. If I were to do it again, I would pick up a used dell optiplex and start there. Excellent budget since companies but them in bulk and then upgrade.

cools

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 573
  • Arcade Otaku sysadmin...
    • Arcade Otaku
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2018, 07:29:41 am »
much better if it's one of the later GCN models.

 :hissy:

Are any of the GCN models fanless?

Nevermind, I'm currently patching a new Emudriver with support for Ryzen / Vega graphics, so the situation may be different in a few weeks.

Ooh, that could be interesting. Fully integrated stuff, just slap a HDMI > VGA on it. I'm years away, current machines emulate everything I want to fine.
Please don't PM me with support questions. Ask in public so everyone can learn!

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 199
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2018, 08:20:19 am »
Fully integrated stuff, just slap a HDMI > VGA on it.
Can you get 15khz just from that ?

My issue with the AMD APU thing is that it seems to me a lot of what these are supposed to do on paper completely depends on what the mobo features and compatibility.

For instance recently I've looked into Ryzen and FreeSync, and turns out the requirements for having this feature actually work with monitors are foggy, few mobos have a DP out (especially the entry level ones which are already several times more expensive than anything Intel socket), and for the few monitors supposed to take FreeSync through HDMI the requirements are even more obscure.

15Khz output is not the same field but I just wanted to say; be careful with those AMD APU setups, don't take for granted that they'll do everything you expect just slapping them on any board, they're not as straightforward as the typical Intel and require careful reading/documentation.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6149
Re: What is the best hardware?
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2018, 08:41:21 am »
Fully integrated stuff, just slap a HDMI > VGA on it.
Can you get 15khz just from that ?

Yes, the new version of the CRT Tools allows this.

It's true what you say about AMD boards. I also miss the information about which of them have their bios updated to support the new 2200G/2400G chips. Older boards only support them after a bios upgrade. I've waited for a few months so manufacturers launch their new models. The RAM seems to be a very critical point too. Hopefully we can collect some information of how they compare to Intel builds in performance/price.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31