Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: accessing pc on normal monitor when arcade monitor dies using Emudriver?  (Read 328 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vargas14617

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
My monitor died and I was running emudriver and windows 7.  I need to access computer but when I attach to pc monitor I get out of scan range. is it possible to get computer back to normal resolution till I fix monitor?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6149
Re: accessing pc on normal monitor when arcade monitor dies using Emudriver?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2018, 11:21:33 am »
Yes. Restart the pc in safe mode (press F8 during boot), then when in safe mode, uninstall the video driver from device manager.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 704
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: accessing pc on normal monitor when arcade monitor dies using Emudriver?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2018, 06:40:10 pm »
Couldn't you also plug an LCD into a digital port? Its EDID should add modes it supports...? Unless it appears as a clone, i guess.

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1925
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: accessing pc on normal monitor when arcade monitor dies using Emudriver?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2018, 06:50:09 pm »
Couldn't you also plug an LCD into a digital port? Its EDID should add modes it supports...? Unless it appears as a clone, i guess.

I think this is correct as long as you haven't modded your video card with Atom-15.  In that case, you need a second video card.

Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 704
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: accessing pc on normal monitor when arcade monitor dies using Emudriver?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 12:39:31 am »
I think this is correct as long as you haven't modded your video card with Atom-15.  In that case, you need a second video card.

You won't see the bios screens then, but once windows is up, it shouldn't matter. And if the low-res modes in the bios are crashing the LCD, just wait for the computer to load into windows first?

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31