Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: system shut down :-(  (Read 818 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Gary.payne

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:October 28, 2018, 04:23:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
system shut down :-(
« on: October 19, 2018, 11:07:43 am »
Hi guy's,

I've just got another megatouch it's the XL platinum and it's got the system shutdown problem, I've tried the del.nvram fix and it hasn't worked probably because this one is booted up from a cd rom rather than a hard drive

can anyone help me clear this?

Thanks
Gary

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:June 03, 2019, 11:25:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2018, 11:19:12 am »
Post a screenshot of what you're seeing. Does it give you the option for a PIN?

Gary.payne

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:October 28, 2018, 04:23:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2018, 01:10:12 pm »

This is what I'm getting I've tried clearing the memory with the set up and calibration buttons


Gary.payne

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:October 28, 2018, 04:23:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2018, 01:11:16 pm »
no option for a pin just goes straight to this screen

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:June 03, 2019, 11:25:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2018, 02:13:10 pm »
Anything happen if you tap the screen a few times?

You may want to try a 2 button clear as described here:

http://www.meritgames.com/Support_Center/manuals/Megatouch%20XL%20Technical%20Service%20Manual.pdf

· Two Button Clear:
1. Turn game power off.
2. Remove the coin box/bill acceptor.
3. Depress and hold the Calibrate and
Set-up buttons located in the rear of
the coin box opening.
4. With Calibrate and Set-up depressed,
turn game power on.
5. Release Calibrate and Set-up buttons
when “2-Button Clear Detected” is
displayed on screen.
6. “2-Button Clear Complete”
· Using the diagnostics software, run the
“Motherboard Tests,” “Processor Test”
and “Co-Processor Test” to make sure
they are each working correctly
« Last Edit: October 19, 2018, 02:42:04 pm by orizzle »

Gary.payne

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:October 28, 2018, 04:23:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2018, 04:27:35 pm »
Ran the diagnostics and the only failure I had was the speaker test??

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:June 03, 2019, 11:25:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2018, 06:36:25 pm »
So I'm guessing you're up and running if you can get to the diagnostics?

Gary.payne

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:October 28, 2018, 04:23:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2018, 08:00:02 am »
No it was still showing shut down error I've run the diagnostics again and now it's telling me I have a fault on the cd rom, so I'm going to try and replace it and try again from there

Thanks for your help so far, I'll be back when I've sorted out a replacement cd

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:June 03, 2019, 11:25:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2018, 07:28:54 pm »
I can send you an iso to burn your own if interested

Gary.payne

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:October 28, 2018, 04:23:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: system shut down :-(
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2018, 04:23:59 pm »
Hi Orizzle,

I don't think it's the cd disc, I think it's the actual player where the fault lies, I've tried a couple of different cd players and I think I might have narrowed it down to the ribbon cable, just trying to get hold of a replacement off an old computer I have knocking around somewhere

thanks
Gary