Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Radeon R9 380 and Atom15  (Read 476 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 704
  • Is running at 15kHz
Radeon R9 380 and Atom15
« on: October 17, 2018, 12:03:22 am »
I'm looking to upgrade to an R9 380 for purposes of playing newer non-emulation titles on my cab. Probably a Gigabyte 4GB version. I want to install crt_emudriver beta 10 so i get the interlaced filter, which seems possible. I'll also need to modify the BIOS with Atom 15 and flash it back to the card, and this might be a sticking point.

I see the following threads reporting issues, but no confirmed fix:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,154875.msg1624556.html#msg1624556
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,154563.msg1621011.html#msg1621011
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,157395.msg1653800.html#msg1653800

Can anyone shed some light or share some experiences? Calamity, there are versions of Atom 15 that post-date the issues with modifying the bios, so i presume that part would work. But there's nothing confirmed for flashing the BIOS back and getting it working.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2018, 12:08:49 am by buttersoft »

Paradroid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 610
    • SCART Hunter
Re: Radeon R9 380 and Atom15
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2018, 04:38:21 pm »
I want to install crt_emudriver beta 10 so i get the interlaced filter

You heathen! ;)
My MAME/SCART/CRT blog: SCART Hunter

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Radeon R9 380 and Atom15
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2018, 04:05:42 am »
Can anyone shed some light or share some experiences? Calamity, there are versions of Atom 15 that post-date the issues with modifying the bios, so i presume that part would work. But there's nothing confirmed for flashing the BIOS back and getting it working.

Hi buttersoft,

Not sure if I understand your question, but the R9 380 should not be different from other cards with regards to ATOM-15 flashing. It's true that the most complex a card is (the more outputs it has), the most difficult to figure out how outputs are going to behave after flashing it. I experienced this with my R9 270, I thought it was bricked and it turned out it was working fine once I used the proper output, I can't remember the details. It's more of a matter of bypassing the issues with suddendly blanked-out monitors that are often too much for a novice.

With regards to patching the bios itself, unfortunately newer bios revisions have less blank space to work with. And although ATOM-15 is now capable of really daring stuff like relocating the uefi bios part in order to get more room, this is not always the solution, specifically if the legacy bios part is too big. The patch still requires 532 bytes of free space, and sometimes it just doesn't exist.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

flybynight

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Radeon R9 380 and Atom15
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2018, 03:25:44 pm »
I've a R9 380 and the error when patching with atom15 is "Hook not possible. GOP reallocation failed". It's no big deal for me as I've a jpac with the jumper set to 15khz so it's 31khz protected.

Bios file from ati_winflash is here if you are interested: https://www.dropbox.com/s/nycb6htn3hgsywa/bios.zip?dl=1

Can you tell me more about this "flicker filter" on the older versions of emudriver that was removed? The R9 380 absolutely powers through Demul emulation but it's 480i and flicker is extremely high (both on hantarex polo 28" and hantarex mtc9110 25"), especially with white backgrounds or text. Can't seem to get demul going on 240p at all. Maybe the flicker filter would help me here or is there a way to get Demul going at 240p?









  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31