Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000  (Read 367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tubeglow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« on: October 14, 2018, 05:25:32 pm »
Hello - trying to help a friend out with his vintage arcade game.  One day the monitor was working, the next day it was not.

I did a little poking around with my DMM and found the following:

119 VDC - main power going up to top section of machine where monitor is and into the main transformer.

The three taps off the transformer:
1.2VAC - P5/P6 - this seems suspect but not sure
120.4VAC - P1/P2
18.8VAC - P9/P10

Not sure where to proceed from here - any guidance or suggestions?
I also have the schematics and photos of the unit if that helps.

thanks in advance.
Mike
« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 06:24:36 pm by tubeglow »

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6839
  • Technician
Re: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2018, 01:32:16 am »

tubeglow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2018, 08:58:10 pm »
Sorry for the delay in replying and thanks for the direction.  The monitor is:

Goldstar
Type:  310KGB4A

Again - as stated by my friend, it was working fine one as it had for quite a few years, then after sitting a few weeks, they powered on the unit and everything works except the monitor.  There is no sigh of life in it at all.  Appears dead.  They never had the unit open or messed around inside of it.

I'm more familiar with vintage stereo tube gear - not so much these types of machines.  But is there a way to test the picture tube to know whether it is function - impedance to measure - something like that?



Do I need to go back and look for a model number on the monitor?

thanks
Mike



Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6839
  • Technician
Re: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2018, 09:42:49 pm »

Goldstar
Type:  310KGB4A


That is the manufacturer of the picture tube and the tube number. That is NOT the brand and model of monitor. Arachnid used several makes & models of monitors during the production run of those dart machines.

tubeglow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2018, 11:53:48 pm »
Roger that - I shall go find out the brand and model of the monitor.   thanks!

tubeglow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2018, 02:13:56 am »
Sorry for the delay - I got over to my buddy's house to check out the monitor.  There's no monitor manufacturer ID.

The CRT is mounted directly to the inside of the cabinet.  The CRT is Goldstar.  Type 310KGB4A.  The main transformer is marked Goldstar.  Then there is a simple control board that sits under the CRT with no manufacture's marking.  Goldstar?  The monitor for this unit consists of a CRT mounted inside a cabinet, a transformer and a control board - that's it.

As posted earlier I was able to get readings off the transformer taps.  Is there a way to verify if the CRT is any good?  To differentiate between a dead CRT or a control board issue?

thanks

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6839
  • Technician
Re: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2018, 12:16:37 pm »
It might be a model MBM-2105A. Here is my repair guide:

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=sites&srcid=ZGVmYXVsdGRvbWFpbnxtdHBhY2lmaWNvfGd4OjY5N2UxMTJiZjJhODgyNDA

Here is the manual:

http://arcarc.xmission.com/PDF_Monitors/Goldstar%20MBM-2105.pdf

I believe this is the model they de-cased to install in your machine.

tubeglow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Help Troubleshooting Dead Monitor for Arachnid AD6000
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2018, 11:34:36 pm »
could very well be - thanks for the help.  I will look at the attached information.

much appreciated.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31