Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: How to handle new arcade monitor  (Read 369 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

commander

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
How to handle new arcade monitor
« on: October 01, 2018, 05:34:08 pm »
Hi,

I got a NOS Hantarex polo 28 monitor dating back to 93 it was stored in underground garage (moist environment).
I just want to make sure if there is a specific procedure i should follow before or when powering it up due to it being stored for such a long time in a most environment.

Any help would be appreciated





Paradroid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 612
    • SCART Hunter
Re: How to handle new arcade monitor
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2018, 05:58:39 pm »
I just want to make sure if there is a specific procedure i should follow before or when powering it up due to it being stored for such a long time in a most environment.

I don't know if it actually makes any difference but, for peace of mind, I run a dehumidifier in my shed/workshop and let any potentially damp gear dry out for a few days before powering-up.

Also, when I get hold of old TVs I blast them with an air compressor to remove all the dust before testing. Again, maybe it doesn't make any actual difference but feels satisfying to start with clean, dry equipment.

My MAME/SCART/CRT blog: SCART Hunter

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2821
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: How to handle new arcade monitor
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2018, 06:16:51 pm »
This ^

Make sure it is thoroughly dried out before you turn it on and clean it out.
Make sure you keep an eye out for any corrosion damage.

commander

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: How to handle new arcade monitor
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2018, 04:30:39 pm »
Additionally do i need to run this through an isolation transformer ?
Where i live the power outlet is 220v and two prong so no earth connection.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 06:31:00 am by commander »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31