Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop  (Read 399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

thebrokenjoystick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • The cake is a lie
    • My Vogon Poetry
$2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« on: September 29, 2018, 05:52:58 pm »
I liked the placement of the insert coin on the icade so wanted to make it "real".  Here's my solution. a $2 lighted rectangular button, some graphics printed out, and some icade modifications (Dremel!). I still have to go to the dollar store to find something with a 5V LED to put in, instead of the 12v one that came with it.
 
« Last Edit: September 29, 2018, 05:57:22 pm by thebrokenjoystick »

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6857
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2018, 06:20:29 pm »
I still have to go to the dollar store to find something with a 5V LED to put in, instead of the 12v one that came with it.
Before you do, try running the 12v LED on 5v.

Con:
- May be slightly less bright, but you may not even notice   :dunno

Pros:
- Lower current draw
- Longer LED life


Scott

thebrokenjoystick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • The cake is a lie
    • My Vogon Poetry
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2018, 02:33:18 pm »
I still have to go to the dollar store to find something with a 5V LED to put in, instead of the 12v one that came with it.
Before you do, try running the 12v LED on 5v.
Scott

I did - nothing.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7790
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2018, 02:57:14 pm »
It's probably either a #555 or #44/47 style bulb.  Grab one intended for a pinball machine and you're good to go.


PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6857
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2018, 03:15:39 pm »
I still have to go to the dollar store to find something with a 5V LED to put in, instead of the 12v one that came with it.
Before you do, try running the 12v LED on 5v.
I did - nothing.
That's odd.   :dizzy:

All of the 12v LEDs I've tried work great on 5v.

Any chance that you accidently reverse-biased the LED? (i.e. 5v and ground swapped)

It's probably either a #555 or #44/47 style bulb.  Grab one intended for a pinball machine and you're good to go.
The #555 LED bulb from Paradise Arcade works on 5v.  #44 or #47 LED bulbs should work, too.


Scott

thebrokenjoystick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • The cake is a lie
    • My Vogon Poetry
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2018, 08:56:00 pm »
Thanks for the advice... tried again tonight and switched + and - and it works with 5V! I swear i tried that. Thanks!

thebrokenjoystick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • The cake is a lie
    • My Vogon Poetry
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2018, 11:41:33 pm »
Wow - maybe everyone already knew this, but on the "Zero Delay Arcade USB Encoder", on mine there are two unmarked red connectors - those output 5V. You can use one of the extra wire with connectors they gave you, plug it in there and get 5V. I used that to power the LED on the insert coin button! If anyone wants pics of what I mean, let me know.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6857
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2018, 12:07:51 am »
Thanks for the advice... tried again tonight and switched + and - and it works with 5V! I swear i tried that. Thanks!
Glad to assist.   :cheers:

Wow - maybe everyone already knew this, but on the "Zero Delay Arcade USB Encoder", on mine there are two unmarked red connectors - those output 5V. You can use one of the extra wire with connectors they gave you, plug it in there and get 5V. I used that to power the LED on the insert coin button! If anyone wants pics of what I mean, let me know.
Related thread here.




Scott

thebrokenjoystick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • The cake is a lie
    • My Vogon Poetry
Re: $2 insert coin button for icade/bartop
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2018, 11:06:46 am »
Ah - ok, so it is already known. I thought I stumbled on something cool. Well, ti IS cool, just already known :)

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31