Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: jvl vortex touchscreen  (Read 520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

windman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
jvl vortex touchscreen
« on: July 21, 2018, 10:24:28 pm »
hi all first off thank for allowing me to join
i found a jvl vortex i the garbage and took it home plugged it in and to my surprise it turned on
but the touchscreen doesnt work properly
it does work just doesnt select what you touch i have to touch like 4 inches away fro where i want to select
could his be an easy fix?
thanks in advance for any help you can offer

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6130
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: jvl vortex touchscreen
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2018, 12:52:18 am »
sounds like it might just need a cleaning and calibration.

make sure there is no junk along the bottom edge of the screen, that can screw up the accuracy.

press the service button inside the machine and see if you can get to the calibration screen.

also check and see if you cord and outlet are properly grounded...that can cause all kinds of touch issues if someone has snapped the ground pin off to fit it into an extension cord.

windman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: jvl vortex touchscreen
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2018, 09:31:33 am »
i removed the lcd from the base and found 1 beige tiny wire pulled out from its connector
soldered it .....no differance
removed the glass from lcd cleaned all around the edges no differance
it also comes up with cannot load rspc (cant remember exact letters) or something as it starts to load
did a factory reset which wiped the 30 credits off. Coin thing works cause i did get to put credits back on but still says cant load .... but does finish loading and asks you to select a game.
got shooting monkeys to start and anywhere i touch screen it shoots?

windman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: jvl vortex touchscreen
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2018, 08:52:12 pm »
Your the man lilshawn got it working
still says unable to load rsdp ...is this a concern?
is there a default or master user/opperator pin?

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6130
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: jvl vortex touchscreen
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2018, 02:45:55 pm »
I believe the pin is not enabled by default, so if it's enabled, it's been set by it's previous owner.

you may have to reinstall the software to get past it.

also... do you mean "ACPI: Unable to locate RSDP"?

ACPI is a power management dealiy in the bios...not a big deal if it's not loading.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 02:50:00 pm by lilshawn »

windman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: jvl vortex touchscreen
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2018, 10:33:28 am »
yes to the error code ...good to know
contacted jvl the were very helpful and gave me the pin
thanks for your help kids and my 80 yr old mom love this game

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6130
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: jvl vortex touchscreen
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2018, 03:24:52 pm »
yes to the error code ...good to know
contacted jvl the were very helpful and gave me the pin
thanks for your help kids and my 80 yr old mom love this game

just out of curiosity, what was the pin they gave you? I wonder if they have a master code to bypass any pin put in by the operator.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 536
Re: jvl vortex touchscreen
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2018, 10:59:01 pm »
yes to the error code ...good to know
contacted jvl the were very helpful and gave me the pin
thanks for your help kids and my 80 yr old mom love this game

just out of curiosity, what was the pin they gave you? I wonder if they have a master code to bypass any pin put in by the operator.

I think its 6696

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31