Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?  (Read 537 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Velvis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« on: June 22, 2018, 01:53:15 am »
I have a cocktail mame machine. I want each end to have a joystick, 3 buttons, a spinner and a trackball.


The trackballs are 2" retro arcade usb/ps2 and the spinners are turbo twists 2 one slave/one master.

Is it possible to get this all to work?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6754
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2018, 02:28:27 am »
I have a cocktail mame machine. I want each end to have a joystick, 3 buttons, a spinner and a trackball.

The trackballs are 2" retro arcade usb/ps2 and the spinners are turbo twists 2 one slave/one master.

Is it possible to get this all to work?
Yes, that list of controls can work together.

You'll need 4 USB ports:
- Keyboard-style or gamepad-style encoder for the joysticks and player/admin buttons
- Trackball 1
- Trackball 2
- TT2 spinners

Windows supports up to 8 axes, the trackballs and spinners use a total of 6.

Enable multimouse so each axis is separate, otherwise Windows will:
- Add changes to Trackball 1 X-axis, Trackball 2 X-axis, and Spinner X-axis and output the sum as a change to mouse X-axis.
- Add changes to Trackball 1 Y-axis, Trackball 2 Y-axis, and Spinner Y-axis and output the sum as a change to mouse Y-axis.


Scott

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1922
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2018, 07:03:25 am »
How are you going to fit all of that on a cocktail control panel?

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17781
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2018, 10:27:29 am »
How are you going to fit all of that on a cocktail control panel?

Thatís what I was thinking...
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1922
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2018, 10:37:53 am »
I shouldn't have asked. I know the answer is going to be terrible.

Velvis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2018, 11:19:17 am »
Galaga, Ms. Pacman, Tempest, Centipede.....

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1922
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2018, 11:36:04 am »
I knew I was going to regret it.

KenToad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 858
  • Flap Flap Flap
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2018, 02:22:57 am »
I have a trackball and two spinners and I often have a normal mouse connected. Occasionally, when booting, the numbers assigned to each mouse will change and I have to remap the controls. Maybe someone has a simple solution, but it is an irritation when running multiple numbered devices with MAME.
Just Say No to Partially Hydrogenated Oil  www.bantransfats.com

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17781
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2018, 02:27:51 am »
Galaga, Ms. Pacman, Tempest, Centipede.....

Have you tested it? The trackball and spinner more than likely will both be active at the same time, so when you ay a rounding game of Tempest or Centipede and accidentally hit the other control, itís going to mess up your movement and your game. I speak from experience.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Velvis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2018, 03:15:41 am »
Not yet, but I was planning on configuring it as players 3 & 4 in MAME so the trackball wont interfere.

Mr. Peabody

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 2 Trackballs & 2 Spinners?
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2018, 03:36:25 pm »
How are you going to fit all of that on a cocktail control panel?

Make it wider? People seem stuck on that size for the end panels, but will easily make the 2P panel on the broadside the length of the cabinet.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31