Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: SNES driver resolutions  (Read 1104 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Marcelo_20xx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
SNES driver resolutions
« on: January 24, 2018, 04:00:28 pm »
I am using GroovyMAME and I loving it so far, the main reason I am using it its because the audio sync perfectly to the gameplay unlike the stock MAME. I am using it on Windows XP/7 PC with a LCD monitor so no fancy powerstrip resolutions for me. Only issue so far I am having and that's a big one is that the SNES driver of MAME doesn't allow me to play it on an internal 256x224 resolution that most SNES games uses, it defaults to an ugly 512x224 res that make any upscaling filter useless...

I will be forever grateful if someone here can help me force the SNES driver to output at an internal resolution of 256x224, thank you!!!
« Last Edit: January 24, 2018, 06:41:44 pm by Marcelo_20xx »

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 07:03:13 am »
i was having the same issue and actually one of the reasons why i quit using mame for snes was also that yoshi's island among other games (mk, etc) are not working properly.
Ever since i changed to mednafen all issues are gone, and using emu4crt from silmalik member, everything is working great again.
I use an arcade machine though, i would recommend you give it a try, as it may be worth the change :)


Marcelo_20xx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 11:46:46 am »
Thank you for your suggestion but I tried every emu under the sun and there is a key reason why I use MAME over others. There is simple no other emulator that offers overclocking without terrible side effects and for the games I play MAME do the job, I know there are some games that uses special chips but I don't play those...

BTW Mario Kart works on mame, you need to put the "sns_dsp1leg_hi.zip" on your roms folder...
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:48:22 am by Marcelo_20xx »

Marcelo_20xx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2018, 09:05:04 pm »
Bump! Any suggestions?

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 95
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2018, 02:57:49 pm »
You can force any resolution via "machinename.ini", though I'm not sure it will help in "upscaling filters" looking better.

Marcelo_20xx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2018, 06:15:04 am »
Nope it doesn't help, only way its like I said before, we must force the internal resolution to output 256x224 in the core files (snes.cpp and snes_ppu.cpp) then recompile it... thanks though

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 95
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2018, 07:17:09 am »
Try it also with this:

Code: [Select]
unevenstretch 1

unevestretchx 1


Marcelo_20xx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2018, 01:30:57 pm »
It didn't work, anyone knowledgeable of the source can point me how to edit the internal resolution?

Ilitirit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • no i'm not
Re: SNES driver resolutions
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2018, 10:24:20 am »
Have you tried setting the value in source/snes.ini?

1.  Create a folder called source.
2.  Create a file called snes.ini (or whatever source you need - use mame64.exe -listsource <game> to get this value)
3.  Put the line resolution 2560x224 at the top of the snes.ini file

Edit:  I tried the above settings and while the resolution does switch it doesn't look very good.  I'll play around with it some more.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2018, 06:10:35 am by Ilitirit »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31