Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Help with CRT 4:3 TV  (Read 944 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RPO R6V

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« on: January 19, 2018, 09:32:06 pm »
Looking for help with the older cab I bought (because I don't have the skills to build one).

It uses a 4:3 CRT KLH television (model KT2406) as its monitor. The PC is connected through S-video through an S- video capable graphics card.

This wasn't a problem with the old PC, but using the new one a significant amount of the picture is cut off on all sides. In other words, even though the aspect ratio looks okay, the picture is just a little too big for the screen.

Adjusting the PC resolution doesn't help. I'm inclined to think "fixing" the TV's overscan would fix things, but I can't figure out how to access the TV's service menu. Any advice?

acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 880
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 10:12:30 pm »
Is the TV de-cased? (I would assume that it is) If it is, does the TV have a circuit board with buttons connected?

RPO R6V

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2018, 10:23:26 pm »
Actually, it's not de-cased.

acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 880
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018, 10:27:41 pm »
So is it safe to assume that you either cannot access the front panel's buttons on the tv? Or is there just no menu button?

If you don't have a remote, either, it may be your best bet to go buy a cheap universal remote.  Depending on how cheap you are, i find them at thrift stores all the time.  Could be a simple solution, if you can't access the menu from the tv's buttons.

RPO R6V

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2018, 10:31:56 pm »
Thanks for the reply! I can access the TV menu by using the remote as you would expect. But I think a lot of CRT TV's have a "service" menu that is supposed to be accessed only at the factory or by repair techs so you have to know a secret series of button presses to get to it.

RPO R6V

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2018, 10:33:47 pm »
The "regular" menu won't let me adjust the picture size or position. Also, maybe I misspoke - are old TV's 4:3 or 5:4?

RPO R6V

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2018, 10:35:47 pm »
Here's an example: https://youtu.be/nUTyhyl5K28

acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 880
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2018, 11:25:35 pm »
Thanks for the reply! I can access the TV menu by using the remote as you would expect. But I think a lot of CRT TV's have a "service" menu that is supposed to be accessed only at the factory or by repair techs so you have to know a secret series of button presses to get to it.

ahh, i see.  well my apologies then, as i have no knowledge of that.

Mad A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Help with CRT 4:3 TV
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2018, 05:38:57 pm »
What graphics card are you using? Some of them may have an associated software application that might allow you to address the overscan issue.

If that fails, I believe KLH TVs are made by KONKA electronics? You can search google for "KONKA CRT TV Service Menu" and try the remote combinations you find in the links you get. I couldn't find anything for KLH specifically from a short search.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31