Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: moving hi scores to a newer groovymame , possible ?  (Read 626 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

s8n187

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
moving hi scores to a newer groovymame , possible ?
« on: December 31, 2017, 10:47:06 pm »
hi members ,  i was wondering if this is possible.  I have groovymame 0.186 installed on my MAME PC and i want to update to groovymame 0.193.  Thing is i have high scores on 0.186 and want them to show up when i start using 0.193.

i've tried a few things but they haven't worked ,  anyone know if this can be done ?...............btw i use the groovymame hiscore plugin.


btw the Cab is a Vewlix Clone made by Arcadeworx in Australia

http://www.arcadeworx.com.au/



RobertJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
Re: moving hi scores to a newer groovymame , possible ?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2018, 04:26:44 am »
I think the hiscore plugin was introduced in 182? In which case all you need to do is:

1) Backup your /mame/hi directory!
2) Rename your mame executable to something like mame.186
3) Rename your mame.ini to mame.ini.186
4) Install latest mame (it looks like you have an LCD monitor? In which case I'd recommend just going with the base mame and not groovymame)
5) Install the latest hiscore.dat
6) Generate a new config (mame -cc)
7) Compare the new config to the old config, make sure you have the plugins enabled (especially hiscore)
8) Start a game you know you had a hi score on and you should see it

Just make sure you don't have save states enabled because they aren't compatible between mame versions, they may or may not conflict with hiscores, I've never risked it because I like my high scores!

Also, one thing I have is a script that waits until my cabinet has been on for a few minutes, then it backs up all my hiscore and config files and transfers them to my NAS. So I always have backups from the last 10 times I launched the cabinet, just in case.

s8n187

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: moving hi scores to a newer groovymame , possible ?
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2018, 12:32:54 am »
woohoo now working from 0.186 to 0.193 !.  Thanks for the guide and extra tips Robert...........stoked :applaud:

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31