Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: A Switch for the Switch  (Read 904 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
A Switch for the Switch
« on: December 24, 2017, 05:48:44 pm »
So I got a Nintendo Switch (yay!) but it isn't cooperating with my hdmi switch (boo).  Do any of you guys know a switch confirmed to work with the switch?  Preferably an auto-switch.

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1853
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2017, 06:05:18 pm »
I havent got an hdmi switch for the dungeon yet. I wasnt aware of this issue so i will be checking back for an answer, but congrats on the switch.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2017, 07:05:44 pm »
Yeah it struck me as odd because thus far my old reliable has been able to tackle everything I throw at it.  It's not static or anything like that either.... the picture will stay on for about 10 seconds and then blink off for a couple of seconds.  Usually when a device does this it'll work if I manually set the hdmi port, but that didn't solve it. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2017, 09:17:51 pm »
I've been reading up, and the switch has these features where if docked it goes into sleep mode if you turn your tv off and "wakes" an off tv when docked and you turn the power on.  I'm pretty sure this is what's fouling everything up.  I'll try again with this feature turned off. 

If Nintendo would have included, I dunno, a fikkin manual with the console, this probably wouldn't have happened. 

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2429
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2017, 12:58:23 pm »
Not sure about the Switch specifically but from what I understand the new HDMI standard is supposed to be able to autowake other devices so maybe something to do with that?

As for the HDMI splitter I use these:
Kinivo Premium High speed HDMI switch with IR wireless remote and UK plug - supports 3D, 1080p (301BN - 3 Port) https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0049S6ZUS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_l2OqAbYQ4RDV4

I have 2 and they are excellent.
No idea if they work with the Switch though.

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1853
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2017, 02:28:56 pm »
I've been reading up, and the switch has these features where if docked it goes into sleep mode if you turn your tv off and "wakes" an off tv when docked and you turn the power on.  I'm pretty sure this is what's fouling everything up.  I'll try again with this feature turned off. 

If Nintendo would have included, I dunno, a fikkin manual with the console, this probably wouldn't have happened.
Yeah i forgot about that. Thats definitely whats causing this.

efp9teen78

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2017, 05:01:25 pm »
Not sure about the Switch specifically but from what I understand the new HDMI standard is supposed to be able to autowake other devices so maybe something to do with that?

As for the HDMI splitter I use these:
Kinivo Premium High speed HDMI switch with IR wireless remote and UK plug - supports 3D, 1080p (301BN - 3 Port) https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0049S6ZUS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_l2OqAbYQ4RDV4

I have 2 and they are excellent.
No idea if they work with the Switch though.


I have the same hdmi switch in my living room with the Nintendo switch got it for Christmas hooked up to it and it works for it but i also turned off the tv wake function too

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1853
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2017, 10:46:37 am »
So Howard, have you tried it with this function off for confirmation?

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2017, 05:01:59 pm »
Not yet... I've been busy with real world stuff the past couple of days.  I'll try it tonight. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2017, 10:43:01 pm »
I just tried it and that absolutely was the issue.  It works fine after I turn off "match tv power state" in the settings under tv.  Now we know, and knowing is half the battle.  ;)


*edit*  Nevermind, after a few minutes it started blinking again.  I guess I'm buying a new hdmi switch. 
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 10:49:02 pm by Howard_Casto »

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 985
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2017, 03:49:32 am »
whelp,
better hook this up to the hdmi switch and see what happens before the kids come over and want to use it.

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1853
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2017, 10:23:38 am »
Are there any available ports on the tv? Maybe have everything else on the switch box and the switch hooked up to hdmi 2 or something.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2017, 03:47:13 pm »
Well this particular switch came over on the mayflower.... I got it when hdmi first became a thing enough to warrant one, so while I do have other ports I can use it in, none of the devices on those ports are going to work properly because it throws some garbage on the screen with any hdmi channels or streams using encryption.  I can't use it with my xbox one because of Netflix and I can't use it on my cable box because of hbo.  One option would be to plug the Nintendo Switch into my xbox one, but then I'd have to turn on my xbox one to play my switch, which is silly.  Supposedly recent patches have made it into a passive hdmi passthrough, but I'll believe it when I see it. 

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1853
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2017, 04:20:25 pm »
Just get a good $25 one and be done with it.

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2429
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2017, 04:53:24 pm »
Just get a good $25 one and be done with it.

This ^

Dont skimp on switches :)

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 985
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2017, 07:29:45 pm »
Well this particular switch came over on the mayflower.... I got it when hdmi first became a thing enough to warrant one, so while I do have other ports I can use it in, none of the devices on those ports are going to work properly because it throws some garbage on the screen with any hdmi channels or streams using encryption.  I can't use it with my xbox one because of Netflix and I can't use it on my cable box because of hbo.  One option would be to plug the Nintendo Switch into my xbox one, but then I'd have to turn on my xbox one to play my switch, which is silly.  Supposedly recent patches have made it into a passive hdmi passthrough, but I'll believe it when I see it.

my TV is "old" also with only two hdmi inputs.
i have the hdmi in the main hdmi input.
second input was made for PC's according to manual.
It sometimes loses audio if the active device on the hub goes dormant and I have to cycle the power.

my hub is nice in that it switches the input to whatever device powers on so its seemless with the wii-u then goes back to last device (fire stick)
my hub sucks in that it switches the input to whatever device powers on so whenever my damn steamlink decides it needs to update in the middle of something......

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #16 on: December 30, 2017, 10:05:43 pm »
That's similar to how this one operates, which is why I've held onto it for so long.... there was really no need to upgrade.  So the switch you guys posted earlier... is it an auto switch or do you have to manually change it?

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 985
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #17 on: December 31, 2017, 12:17:57 am »
That's similar to how this one operates, which is why I've held onto it for so long.... there was really no need to upgrade.  So the switch you guys posted earlier... is it an auto switch or do you have to manually change it?

this is the model i have

https://www.ebay.com/p/GPCT-5-Port-1080p-Video-HDMI-Switch-Switcher-Splitter-for-HDTV-PS3-DVD-IR-Remote/1340587432?iid=291650364888


Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2429
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #18 on: December 31, 2017, 03:59:50 am »
That's similar to how this one operates, which is why I've held onto it for so long.... there was really no need to upgrade.  So the switch you guys posted earlier... is it an auto switch or do you have to manually change it?

The one I posted is auto but it comes with a remote for manual switching to.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 985
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #19 on: December 31, 2017, 01:24:54 pm »
ok. Can confirm my switch works with the switch.
watched the kids argue for 30 mins. with each other while playing mario oddesy because one was being a jerk with mario and the other was being a jerk with the cappy.

totally awesome! ;D

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2017, 09:32:46 pm »
Mario Odyssey is pretty awesome in it's own right, but that is another topic. 

So against my better judgement I'm going to try this:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Fosmon-HD1832-Intelligent-5-Port-HDMI-Switch-Splitter-with-IR-Remote-and-AC-Adapter-Supports-3D-5-In-1-Out-Switcher-Black/40654435

It's advertised as working with the Switch on amazon.  I'm only giving this one a try because 3 additional ports really aren't enough.  I've got the switch, my snes classic, my nes classic, my scart 2 hdmi adapter for retro rgb and honestly I could probably use another port but I won't get greedy.  I've also got some Walmart gift cards ready to expire, so if it doesn't work I'm not out anything. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16400
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: A Switch for the Switch
« Reply #21 on: January 05, 2018, 11:45:29 pm »
Ok so for those following along, the fosmon 5x1 hdmi switch came in.  I've only had it a day, but so far the switch works great and the Nintendo Switch likes it just fine.  It's also much smaller and has an ir-blaster with remote.  It's supposed to support 3d devices as well.  For 13 bucks shipped you can't beat that if you are in the market for something to hook all of your hdmi consoles with. 

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31