Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!  (Read 45835 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #160 on: September 26, 2020, 01:18:10 pm »
Don't use pedal override.... it even says it's experimental.  Setup your pedals within outrun's menu then use wheel override in fxt if needed. 

ArcadeDreamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:September 28, 2020, 09:21:07 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #161 on: September 27, 2020, 12:02:34 pm »
Okay, so I'm a dumb-dumb. I am trying to implement the FXT, and I can tell I'm doing it wrong. I'm trying to see if there's a video tutorial online, but no luck so far. I unzuip the rar, take the contents of the rar into the folder that has OutRun 2006. I have no clue what the fonts are and I don't know how to install it by right clicking. I ran FXTConfig as admin. When I try to run the game, the icons used are still for PC and I have trouble with changing the controls, (and I swear it has trouble what left and right is? I can't tell what's going on there). I apologize for my total ignorance.

thebirdsolution

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:October 16, 2020, 12:12:51 pm
  • I'm using tilt controls!
    • Twitch Streams
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #162 on: October 14, 2020, 02:13:47 pm »
This may be more suited to the hacking OutRun thread, so my apologies. This thread seems more active in recent months so I thought I'd enquire here.

So I've had FXT running for a few months now, and after a bit of fiddling, it's all pretty seemless now. Got AF injected through the NVIDIA Panel, fixed the bloom, got a nice ReShade preset that I'm still kinda tweaking to get things closer to PS3 OOR with the high contrast levels. My question is simply how complicated is the texture format for this game? Is extracting and editing the textures a fairly seemless process? Does the engine have limitations in terms of image resolution you can bring in? I'm weighing up whether I want to start planning a larger texture update for OR2 once I've squared away a few projects I'm working on currently, and whilst probably the PSP version would be the easiest to work with for me, I'd feel remiss if I didn't target the best version first.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #163 on: October 15, 2020, 04:05:13 pm »
It just uses regular dds files but that isn't the problem.  The problem is I never fully worked out the container format so any replaced textures have to be of identical size and texture format.  So you can alter textures but you can't up-res them.  If you could I would have already done it.  ;)

Plesbien

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:November 02, 2020, 05:48:10 pm
  • Logitech G29 user
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #164 on: November 02, 2020, 05:48:57 pm »
Don't use pedal override.... it even says it's experimental.  Setup your pedals within outrun's menu then use wheel override in fxt if needed.

I'm not - those are my settings in the screengrab. Sorry if it was unclear, I was saying that whether I have pedal override on or off it gives the same issue.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 793
  • Last login:April 16, 2021, 12:25:21 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #165 on: November 16, 2020, 01:36:39 pm »
I managed to arrange an online game of Outrun Online Arcade on the PS3 with someone over the weekend! First time I've played it online in probably 9 or 10 years.

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 748
  • Last login:April 10, 2021, 10:25:35 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #166 on: November 16, 2020, 05:44:38 pm »
Excellent vid bro  :cheers:

Nostradadu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:January 14, 2021, 09:56:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #167 on: December 05, 2020, 07:42:25 am »
Does anyone happen to have a Logitech DFGT profiler he'd be willing to upload? I swear I can't get that thing to work with Outrun. At best I got the pedals working but the car won't react to the wheel no matter what.

Edit: okay, finally figured out how to use the Logitech Profiler software. As you can tell, it's the first time I'm using a wheel... now, regarding OutRun, my problem is that either:
- The pedals inputs are simply not recognized even though they are well configured into the options,
- Or both pedals go to the maximum value, cancelling each other and rendering me unable to move forward.

I tried to tweak with the options which explains the different results, but none managed to satisfy me. Yet. Did anyone manage to make a Driving Force GT to work with FXT? I tried with the regular version of Outrun 2006 but got pretty much the same results…

Edit 2: wew, finally managed to fix it... hot damn, I wish some proper documentation came with that stupid wheel. Just in case anyone comes across the same issue with a logitech wheel: make a profile for OutRun, click onto the first pedal, select axis properties and tick "invert polarity". That ought to do it.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2020, 04:56:40 pm by Nostradadu »

Zeosstud

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 517
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:05:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #168 on: December 21, 2020, 02:28:34 am »
really enjoyed that video.. thanks for sharing..

Joaquim2020

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:January 06, 2021, 07:00:46 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #169 on: December 28, 2020, 12:35:43 pm »

Talos91

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:March 20, 2021, 01:15:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #170 on: February 16, 2021, 04:05:50 pm »
Guys does FTX work with the steam version or do you have to remove the drm? Also does anyone know if it is possible to change the ports the game uses for LAN? any .ini setting?

Retro77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:43:51 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #171 on: March 06, 2021, 06:55:56 am »
Hi All,

I have OutRun 2 FXT set up and working great on a Sega Racing cab. Thank you Howard. This should be popular with my friends when we are permitted to see people again  :-\

I have a couple of questions.

I have installed the arcade button mod which removes the keyboard button prompts. But I can see a different, newer style button section when I ALT-TAB the screen (I can also see it briefly when I quit the game. What option do I need to use to get it to show on top of the main game screen?

As it is an arcade monitor 31hz, I am running this at 640x480. Crt-emudriver resolutions installed.

When I run the game windowed I can see the newer looking view buttons, but running the game in windowed full screen as opposed to full screen messes up the graphics. It is hard to explain, but there are extra lines that aren't there when running non windowed.

Also, the intro screen has stayed as standard Outrun 2 (minus the Press Enter prompt) instead of the Outrun 2 FXT with the arcade start button image that I have seen in other posts. Is this a different mod? If so, does anyone know what it is please

Thanks.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 793
  • Last login:April 16, 2021, 12:25:21 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #172 on: April 01, 2021, 01:25:56 pm »
Hey y'all, so this isn't specifically related to FXT, but this thread seemed as good as any to post this in. There's something a bit screwy going on with the frame rate in my version of Coast 2 Coast. It's been doing it for as long as I can remember, but it seems to be getting worse over time. There are instances in the game where suddenly for a couple of seconds, the game will suddenly feel like it's going waaaay too fast, making controlling the car and not crashing into things really difficult. Other times, the frame rate will, for a short period of time, seemingly get a bit chuggy, but yet the game will still feel too fast. It's weird...

I've previously tried turning V-Sync on in the NVIDIA control panel and setting the monitor refresh rate to 60HZ, but it hasn't made any difference. I can't see it being a performance issue, as the game ran without issue on my old single core Pentium 4 back in the day, so my i5 shouldn't be struggling...

Has anyone else had this issue and managed to fix it?

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #173 on: April 01, 2021, 04:00:24 pm »
It's a known issue and I haven't been able to come up with a satisfactory solution.   Locking the refresh rate helps..... sometimes running the game in xp compatibility mode helps as well.  The slowdowns might be on my end.... when the game runs too fast fxt is getting data faster than it's used to and that can eat up resources normally used by the game.  In a perfect world this would regulate the games speed but in practice it can cause a glitch or two.   I've only got a few more goals with this project and then maybe I can move on to hacking another version of the game or perhaps something new.

Retro77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:43:51 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #174 on: April 04, 2021, 03:56:28 am »
Hi all,

Does anyone know if there is a way to force Outrun 2 FXT (and the transparent layer) to shut down fully by pressing Escape?

I have this in a driving cab, which also uses MAME, Model 2 and 3. This is now the only game I can't get to shut down with Escape.

I am using a frontend (Attract Mode). When setting Escape for all of the above, all work aside from Outrun 2. The main exe closes but the layer stays active (alt-tab shows this).

So I was wondering if anyone had any ideas how to force it to accept Escape. Or somehow send Alt-F4 when Escape is pressed for this game.

Thanks

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1109
  • Last login:April 11, 2021, 07:10:01 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #175 on: April 04, 2021, 06:19:03 am »
I'm not sure how to get the program itself to do that, but... you could use a workaround in AutoHotKey. I have an awful lot of those set up for teknoparrot, and tend to use them for most games now.

I'm using this example for Sega Rally 3 - track set 3. So it renames a folder full of tracks for Sega Rally 3 to use, then it waits half a second, then it runs a bat file that is just teknoparrot with the SR3 profile (for other games it might run a different profile for my wheel and perhaps switch resolutions as well) then it waits (not exactly necessary because the only other thing in the script is a hotkey. After that, when i push the "x" key it shuts down the list of programs you can see. I think the only one that matters here is the rally.exe one, but you could list anything there.

Then the script runs SR3-close.bat, which i think might be empty but used to do something (and for other games might change the wheel profile back to deafult, and reset screen res for the frontend.)

Anyway, you could grab autohotkey, run the AU3_spy application to get the names or classes of the programs you want to shut down, and just setup esc:: as your hotkey.

Quote
FileMoveDir, C:\games\Sega Rally 3\Rally\main_release\tracks set 3, C:\games\Sega Rally 3\Rally\main_release\tracks, R

sleep 500

Run "C:\games\teknoparrot_1.41\SR3.bat"

winwaitactive, Rally.exe

~x::
send, esc
process, close, rally.exe
process, close, racing.exe
process, close, racing
process, close, parrotloader.exe

Run "C:\games\teknoparrot_1.41\SR3-close.bat"

sleep 2000

FileMoveDir, C:\games\Sega Rally 3\Rally\main_release\tracks, C:\games\Sega Rally 3\Rally\main_release\tracks set 3, R

sleep 2000

exitapp

return




Retro77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:43:51 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #176 on: April 04, 2021, 07:40:57 am »
Awesome. Thanks for the advice, buttersoft.

I will definitely give this a try.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #177 on: April 04, 2021, 09:36:43 pm »
If you are talking about an instant kill via escape no, that doesn't happen and intentionally so.   The load times in 2006 are outrageous so you don't want to accidentally kill the game when you are just trying to access the menu system.   I highly recommend leaving the game as-is where escape brings up the menu and you can select your choice from there. 

BigTinz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:April 09, 2021, 10:39:40 pm
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #178 on: April 07, 2021, 09:39:55 pm »
There are instances in the game where suddenly for a couple of seconds, the game will suddenly feel like it's going waaaay too fast, making controlling the car and not crashing into things really difficult. Other times, the frame rate will, for a short period of time, seemingly get a bit chuggy, but yet the game will still feel too fast. It's weird...

I'm so glad to hear I'm not crazy. I've noticed this for years, but it's so subtle that I thought I was imagining things.

Very frustrating. Never noticed this issue on any non-PC versions of C2C.

Retro77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:43:51 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 FXT 2.5 Released!
« Reply #179 on: April 13, 2021, 06:40:50 am »
If you are talking about an instant kill via escape no, that doesn't happen and intentionally so.   The load times in 2006 are outrageous so you don't want to accidentally kill the game when you are just trying to access the menu system.   I highly recommend leaving the game as-is where escape brings up the menu and you can select your choice from there.


Hi Howard, thanks for the response. The reason I want this is because I have this installed in a Sega racing cab. All of the games on it quit via an additional quit button assigned to Escape that I have added outside the cab (along with a coin button for those games that need it).

I would rather users not have access to the menus. It works great how I have it set up now