Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: This should work, right?  (Read 787 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
This should work, right?
« on: November 25, 2017, 09:26:30 pm »
I have ordered a small stereo amp to power a single 6x9. Didn't find a cheap mono amp, so I went with the one pictured.

Here's my question: my name PC will put out stereo sound, and I'd like to combine that to mono. Would the plug adapter work? The two stereo channels will make the mono connection, right?

I mean, if I'm wrong, it's a cheap error, but it's the wasted time that I'm trying to avoid. Thanks again.



Sent from my Moto Z2 Play using Tapatalk


lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6035
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2017, 06:41:50 pm »
kind of, sort of not really.

you are more or less grounding out one channel with that adapter. (left audio work fine but right audio is shunted to ground) not really great for the preamp.

if you are using windows, Right click on the volume icon on taskbar > Playback Devices > select the device > Configure > Choose Mono  > click next > click finish. BAM! mono output. don't even worry about the other speaker or adapter.

short of using a mixer or just hooking up one speaker and not the other... there is no real graceful way to mix an audio signal without degrading it.

for instance if you just use a "Y" adapter to combine the left and right together to a mono output, there could be an instance that an audio signal being output would cancel out the other channel resulting in garbled or no output.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12723
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2017, 08:14:04 pm »
if you are using windows, Right click on the volume icon on taskbar > Playback Devices > select the device > Configure > Choose Mono  > click next > click finish. BAM! mono output. don't even worry about the other speaker or adapter.
^This is the way I'd do it.
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project - Dayclona USA 2 :
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155515.0.html

acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2017, 09:23:43 am »

you are more or less grounding out one channel with that adapter. (left audio work fine but right audio is shunted to ground) not really great for the preamp.

for instance if you just use a "Y" adapter to combine the left and right together to a mono output, there could be an instance that an audio signal being output would cancel out the other channel resulting in garbled or no output.

Wow.  I run live sound from time to time, and never knew that.  Thanks for the info.  I just dug up a Y adapter, too, so it's especially applicable.


if you are using windows, Right click on the volume icon on taskbar > Playback Devices > select the device > Configure > Choose Mono  > click next > click finish. BAM! mono output. don't even worry about the other speaker or adapter.


Well i feel stupid.  I never really even considered the software side of it.  Thanks again.  :cheers:

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6035
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2017, 10:54:02 am »
A "Y" adapter is OKAY to split a signal (provided you can boost it back up to the proper level again using gain in the pre-amp stage.) Ideally you'd daisychain devices using an (input -> output -> input) for no signal loss. In a pinch, you do what you got to do....as long as you account for your choice later on.

acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2017, 05:07:42 pm »
Sorry to bump an old thread, but I couldn't find what the adapter rating should be for these. I know it's 12v, but does anyone know the mA rating I should be looking for?

Sent from my Moto Z2 Play using Tapatalk


acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2017, 09:48:27 pm »
So, bumping my own thread again, but is the mA input the Quiescent Current?

I hope not, as I have a 12v, 1.5A plug sitting around that I'm hoping to salvage.

Sent from my Moto Z2 Play using Tapatalk


lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6035
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2017, 10:42:57 pm »
yeah 1.5a is probably fine.

quick and dirty is 12 volts divided by 20 watts = 600ma and it's probably not even that much or efficient.

acvieluf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147793.0.html
Re: This should work, right?
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2017, 10:43:48 pm »
Awesome, thank you very much.

Sent from my Moto Z2 Play using Tapatalk


  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31