Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Will unplugging a TV from the wall  (Read 1298 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Alienreb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:November 06, 2003, 08:03:22 pm
Will unplugging a TV from the wall
« on: May 17, 2002, 03:30:21 pm »
damage it or short it out?  The reason I am asking this is that I've got my power strip cord running from the back of the cabinet and the TV automatically powers on whenever I plug it in.  I know that arcade monitors can do this without any trouble, but I'm curious if standard televisions can do the same.    THX
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

JustMichael

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1438
  • Last login:September 27, 2015, 01:19:40 am
  • Mmmmm!! Cheesecake!!
Re: Will unplugging a TV from the wall
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2002, 04:44:05 pm »
No.  It won't damage it.  TVs that turn on when power is applied to them are rare these days.  Every tv I have seen for several years you have to hit the power button on the tv or on the remote to turn it on.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

aramis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
  • Last login:November 26, 2002, 09:24:04 pm
  • mame cab ALMOST done!
Re: Will unplugging a TV from the wall
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2002, 08:58:52 pm »
my new RCA 25" s-vid works like this:

If I turn it off w/ the power button, yank the plug and plug it back in, it doesn't come back on automatically. I have to hit the power button.

If I just yank the plug with it on, then plug it back in, it comes back on automatically.

Whether or not it does any damage, I dunno...

Alienreb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:November 06, 2003, 08:03:22 pm
Well
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2002, 10:01:56 pm »
It is a JVC 27" television for any of you wanting to know.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

delta88

  • I didn't try to trick anyone - Fair warning was given
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 639
  • Last login:February 04, 2019, 08:15:40 pm
  • This place is still here?
Re: Will unplugging a TV from the wall
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2002, 08:52:17 am »
well its not a tv but I have a 21" vga sony trinitron in my mspacman and i have that and the pc plugged into a power strip...and I have aos setup so I can turn it on and it starts playing mspacman but will exit to aos menu..and when you are done I just hit the power button on top of the cab....is that what you are doin???
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »