Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!  (Read 2136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #40 on: July 24, 2017, 04:04:34 pm »
Ok so the GPIO controls on the ArPiCade are really making me angry, so I'm sending it back. I have two options now: either I try a JPAC or I sell the cabinet. I really want to make the cabinet work, but it's going to be quite a bit of work and now apparently I need to replace capacitors on the monitor. It might be easier to just sell the cabinet and build a portable control panel or something. What do you guys think I should do? 

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 954
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #41 on: July 24, 2017, 04:07:03 pm »
Capacitor replacement is easy. Don't be afraid.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #42 on: July 24, 2017, 04:14:13 pm »
Capacitor replacement is easy. Don't be afraid.

I guess. It feels like an entire other project to me lol. What capacitors should I be replacing or looking at?

Here's a pic if that helps:

http://imgur.com/a/rENkm

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 954
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #43 on: July 24, 2017, 04:23:04 pm »
I guess first things first. Did you buy a multimeter yet? Do you own a soldering iron?

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #44 on: July 24, 2017, 04:39:07 pm »
I guess first things first. Did you buy a multimeter yet? Do you own a soldering iron?

I bought a multimeter but idk where my soldering iron is lol.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 954
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #45 on: July 24, 2017, 04:41:13 pm »
Baby steps brother.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #46 on: July 24, 2017, 04:59:32 pm »
Baby steps brother.

Yep, one step at a time. I think I'm actually going to replace the caps before I do the JPAC thing because it will probably determine if I keep this cabinet or not. I also found something weird on one of the monitor cables: http://imgur.com/a/WKxIs. Kinda looks like some red juice leaked or something. Is that normal?  :P

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #47 on: July 26, 2017, 06:35:13 pm »
Ok, I decided to continue with the project. I'm going to get a JPAC setup once i get my money back and  :censored: hope it works lol. I will try my hardest to get this working.

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #48 on: July 28, 2017, 05:22:53 pm »
Ok so while I'm waiting to get my money back I've been researching the sound thing on the JPAC, and I want to make sure I have this right. So I plug a male to male mono 3.5mm cord into the Pi, strip it and screw into the input thingies in the amp below. Then i strip a female to male mono 3.5mm cord from the output to the JPAC, then use the PSU below the power the amp. Do I have that right, and do i have to use mono everything?  :P

Mono amp from HollandComputers: http://www.hollandcomputers.com/store/pc/catalog/ra-amplifier-2_02lg.jpg

PSU: http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-2A-24W-AC-to-DC-Adapter-Power-Supply-for-5050-Flexible-LED-Light-Strip-3528-/391128328033

SuperGojira2001

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Trying to learn...
Re: FINALLY Starting this Bartop Upgrade!!!
« Reply #49 on: August 28, 2017, 03:46:13 pm »
Hi! So if anybody cares or reads this...I'm not dead. Everything with the JPAC has been working, I just haven't fit everything in yet. I still have the really  :censored: annoying fold over on the top I can't get rid of. I don't think it's the monitor as there is no issue with the original PCB and overscan settings do nothing on the Pi. Also the JPAC sometimes looses sync while booting up, however I will be trying this fix soon: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=152488.0

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31