Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: [17-09-22] RatRefresh 0.14 - refresh rate switcher, stops LCD tearing  (Read 29875 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tonyt76

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:September 03, 2022, 06:35:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi everyone. Has anyone created a batch file to do the following:

Run the batch
Type in the rom name
Ratrefesh sets the custom res
MAME launches the same "rom" that you typed in?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: April 10, 2019, 09:27:36 am by tonyt76 »

Rataplan626

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:26:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Tony, I will help you out, and we will post the final .bat here for reference for other people. Rest will be through PM to not clutter the forum. Also fixed the initial posts' images. Sorry for not responding earlier, never got the notifications. Changed my email address now, this one gets them. Probably a spam issue.

Note there's still no improvements in RatRefresh. However, I'm going to do a new version with better usability and hopefully detection of the display device. However, the main issue will still be there, which is restarting of the display driver. So far I've been unable to find a solution, or any third-party tool that can apply new EDID overrides without restarting the video driver.
Again, please prove me wrong :-)
« Last Edit: April 10, 2019, 10:03:30 am by Rataplan626 »

mortalkombatfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:July 22, 2019, 04:38:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
My Attract Mode emulator cfg

   !Code!
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.5.1
#
executable           run.bat
args                 "[romfilename]"
workdir              emulators\MAME
rompath              roms\
romext               .zip;.7z
system               Arcade
info_source          listxml
import_extras        nplayers.ini;catver.ini
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap
   !Code!

This is my batch file (run.bat) in the mame folder with nircmd.exe and ratrefresh configured as per instructions. I use nircmd.exe as attract mode loses focus when relaunched and does not terminate well.   

   !Code!
nircmd.exe killprocess attract.exe

ratrefresh.exe /edidfile edid.txt /file refreshrates.txt /get %~n1;mame

devconx64.exe disable =display
devconx64.exe enable =display

mame64.exe %1

ratrefresh.exe -edidfile edid.txt -refresh 60

devconx64.exe disable =display
devconx64.exe enable =display

nircmd.exe exec2 max "D:\Attract Mode" "D:\Attract Mode\attract.exe"
   !Code!

I use groovymame which would only launch after i added an additional display driver restart, as switchres did not agree.

In groovymame mame.ini
   !Code!
monitor      lcd
lcd_range   50.00-75.00
   !Code!

Putting this altogether you select a game refresh rate is chosen, attract mode terminated, mame launched when you exit mame the display is switched back to 60hz. Attract mode relaunched, Select another game.

I use groovymame with d3d9ex for low latency.

Bojak

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:August 11, 2020, 11:31:31 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Unable to download your files, GDrive keep saying it's infected with virus, both 0.1 and 0.11 version.  :'(

Rhyader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:February 15, 2022, 09:43:17 am
Hi, how can I download RatRefresh? It seems I need an autorization...

Rataplan626

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:26:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi. I'm really sorry for not replying to anything, I never got any notification working on this forum. It seems those Google Drive links aren't good anymore for public access. I acknowledged the request I got today, which is why I actually got noticed.

While I still use 0.11 on my own cab with great success, it could still do with some better usability. The response to the tool has been quite a bit less than I anticipated though. For me it was the holy grail when used with a LCD based cab, I thought more people had tearing issues and such. But anyway, I'll try to update the links soon, and find some ways to make RatRefresh better to use.

Rataplan626

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:26:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I've changed the link to RatRefresh in the opening post, so it should be available without authotization again. 5 years after it's release, it seems more people are picking it up. So I'm tempted to improve it's usability, even if I have very, very little time on my hands the last few years.

Rataplan626

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:26:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: RatRefresh - Automated EDID updater for MAME and others - no more LCD tearing
« Reply #87 on: September 13, 2022, 04:24:22 am »
Hi, I found that the Google Drive link again didn't work without a google account. I've fixed that now. Also I removed the link to version 0.1 completely, as that had some bugs anyway. I'm currently finally working on the tool a bit again, I'm trying to get the display-detection in properly, so you don't have to fiddle around in registry anymore. So far no luck in that but I made some progress.

Rataplan626

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:26:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi, I've been working on the tool the last couple of days, and I think the usability has improved quite a lot. I've updated the opening post. All comments, issues, questions, requests or remarks are welcome.

Cisek

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 104
  • Last login:September 20, 2022, 04:57:12 am
Re: [17-09-22] RatRefresh 0.14 - refresh rate switcher, stops LCD tearing
« Reply #89 on: September 20, 2022, 04:57:12 am »
Rataplan  :notworthy:

I was waiting years for this. Technicaly gsync/freesync solve the issue, however for classic 4:3 aspect ratio lcd, or 16:9 lacking gsync/freesync it is gamechanger!
Will it work on pc crt monitors as well?

Do you think it would be possible to implement it for the linux systems, like batocera?

Rataplan626

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:26:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: [17-09-22] RatRefresh 0.14 - refresh rate switcher, stops LCD tearing
« Reply #90 on: September 23, 2022, 03:25:24 am »
Rataplan  :notworthy:

I was waiting years for this. Technicaly gsync/freesync solve the issue, however for classic 4:3 aspect ratio lcd, or 16:9 lacking gsync/freesync it is gamechanger!
Will it work on pc crt monitors as well?

Do you think it would be possible to implement it for the linux systems, like batocera?

Well, I use linux (ubuntu / debian based) at work, but never wrote any software for that myself. While .NET apps can nowadays made to run on Linux, this app basically writes a registry value to achieve the goal, which Linux doesn't have obviously. So no, don't expect a Linux version soon.
I guess it can work on CRT as well. For that though, maybe changing the resolution as well might be even more effective, or even requiered. The tool now changes the refreshrate for the resolution you are running at now. Maybe I should add actual resolution change too.