Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: GroovyMAME 0.220 - Switchres v0.017p  (Read 201916 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

cbcduna

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:January 28, 2017, 04:46:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #120 on: October 11, 2016, 09:18:38 am »
Hi,

i have a doubt about use the ipp system (joysticks and buttons connected per paralel port) of controls with the lastest versions of mame. Is possible use the version GM 0.178 with this without modifications? I need aditional action of compilation in standart version of 0.178 for use IPP controls?

Thanks in advance...

m.andrade1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Last login:March 06, 2020, 08:59:25 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #121 on: October 13, 2016, 07:18:16 am »
Hello haynor666
I managed to work with neogeo games, with good results, i created a neogeo.ini forcing the resolution to 304x224, it seems now the neogeo games are fullscreen without the junk black side bar or the, random blocks on the borders, the good thing itīs mainting the aspect without loosing the smooth, it works with the same Hz from the 320x224, so thatīs what i did.
Thanks Marcos

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #122 on: October 13, 2016, 08:58:33 am »
Some games will still have junk or black bars: Zupapa, Gururin or Cyber-lip (should be cut 16 from right edge).

I almost finished my build with more modifications including neo-geo resolution changes.

tom5151

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
  • Last login:Today at 03:32:30 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #123 on: October 15, 2016, 03:24:23 am »
Thanks @Calamity, @haynor666 and @ozfalcon for your help about res switching on win7+.
I've indeed tried wcbowl, and I have the same issue I have with Shienryu.
I use super resolutions on win 10 (35 modelines), I only have 1 output, so the last thing I can try is to replace my system shell.

peterson65

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
  • Last login:March 03, 2019, 08:34:45 am
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #124 on: October 16, 2016, 06:50:49 pm »
i have groovymame 0178 working fine but still getting the there are known problems with this game  ect is ther no way to bypass that? i have it compilled with the supression patch and skip game info at 1
!!never mind got it working!!
« Last Edit: October 20, 2016, 10:26:43 pm by peterson65 »

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
  • Last login:February 19, 2020, 09:07:34 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #125 on: October 24, 2016, 09:38:05 am »
Some games will still have junk or black bars: Zupapa, Gururin or Cyber-lip (should be cut 16 from right edge).

I almost finished my build with more modifications including neo-geo resolution changes.

any chance you could share this compile for X64 haynor666?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #126 on: October 24, 2016, 03:44:43 pm »
Sure - https://mega.nz/#!ckc3xYAI!R_NQQrmhtUVD9SFsizqm02vnsPNZmpHjDdTk8Ed8lm0

It would be nice if you can look at neo-geo visible area modifications. Maybe something can still be improved.

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
  • Last login:February 19, 2020, 09:07:34 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #127 on: October 24, 2016, 05:44:21 pm »
thanks for sharing that haynor666!  :cheers:
I will be gone for ~10 days starting tomorrow in a trip to Germany - once I return I'll test it in my setup , finally doing some progress completing my wood cab  ;D
I also have a real neogeo board with mslug1/aof1 - the garbage on the side are visible in them too , there was a time I though my board had an issue or something  ::)

peterson65

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
  • Last login:March 03, 2019, 08:34:45 am
Re: GroovyMAME 0.178 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #128 on: October 25, 2016, 08:41:11 pm »
Anyone have any ideas how I can go about finding out why groovymame 0.178 is crashing? I am running game-ex for my front end and it demos what's in my favorites and at some point it crashes in the background . I assume maybe a particular game but I am not sure because game-ex keeps going to the next game and when I close it I see on the desktop the errors. I am running crt 2.0 on win 7 64.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2016, 08:55:36 pm by peterson65 »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #129 on: October 26, 2016, 04:39:12 pm »
GroovyMAME 0.179 is out (SwitchRes v0.016 alpha 2).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Jonny G

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • Last login:February 18, 2019, 04:21:29 pm
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #130 on: October 27, 2016, 05:03:11 am »
GroovyMAME 0.179 is out (SwitchRes v0.016 alpha 2).

Cheers Calamity!!! Back up to top speed!
« Last Edit: October 27, 2016, 05:11:12 am by Jonny G »

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:April 02, 2020, 06:59:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #131 on: October 27, 2016, 07:45:24 am »
I have a working groovymame 177 winxp32 build on a hd2400. I have tried 179 32build on the same machine with new mame.ini and i have framerate problems (frames hovering from 95-105%) with sound problems. Also neo geo games give me an out of sync picture.  I'll stick to 177 build.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2016, 11:05:44 am by mdd45 »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #132 on: October 27, 2016, 09:45:28 am »
I have a working groovymame 177 winxp32 build on a hd2400. I have tried 179 32build on the same machine with new mame.ini and i have framerate problems (frames hovering from 95-105%) with sound problems. Also neo geo games give me an out of sync picture.  I'll stick to 177 build.

From now on, all log-less bug reports will be sent to this purgatory thread.

Thanks for your collaboration.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:April 02, 2020, 06:59:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #133 on: October 27, 2016, 11:06:23 am »
added

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #134 on: October 27, 2016, 12:54:06 pm »
added

The out of sync issue is probably due to not forcing the dotclockmin option for your HD 2400. The speed issue is similiar to a previous one we had caused by baseline moving time functions to the std library, but this one was fixed in GM. It'd be nice to have another XP user confirming this.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #135 on: October 27, 2016, 01:14:43 pm »
I'm affraid problem is valid. This time speed issue is even more bizarre.

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:April 02, 2020, 06:59:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #136 on: October 27, 2016, 02:06:31 pm »
added

The out of sync issue is probably due to not forcing the dotclockmin option for your HD 2400. The speed issue is similiar to a previous one we had caused by baseline moving time functions to the std library, but this one was fixed in GM. It'd be nice to have another XP user confirming this.

You are right about the dotclock, i forgot to force it to 8. The speed issues though are still there.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #137 on: October 27, 2016, 02:19:43 pm »
Just tested on my XP32 system (Pentium 4 HT), no speed issues here, all games running smoothly here.

I'm wondering if you have frame_delay enabled.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:April 02, 2020, 06:59:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #138 on: October 27, 2016, 02:48:33 pm »
frame_delay is 0 at mame.ini

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #139 on: October 27, 2016, 03:46:00 pm »
Without frame delay speed is constantly switching between 101 and 95 %. Very noticable with sound. With frame delay 2 it's even worse.

ozfalcon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 155
  • Last login:April 28, 2019, 09:07:10 pm
  • ZSystem
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #140 on: October 27, 2016, 08:29:41 pm »
Without frame delay speed is constantly switching between 101 and 95 %. Very noticable with sound. With frame delay 2 it's even worse.

I have encountered this in the past.

Out of interest, What's your OS & CPU type?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #141 on: October 28, 2016, 01:38:47 am »
G3258 overclocked to 4,2 GHz, XP x32.

Problem is as I read only on XP.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #142 on: October 28, 2016, 05:11:40 am »
G3258 overclocked to 4,2 GHz, XP x32.

Problem is as I read only on XP.

Would you mind checking this test build? https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5iMjDor3P__WEFqU1JyTThrSVE
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

ozfalcon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 155
  • Last login:April 28, 2019, 09:07:10 pm
  • ZSystem
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #143 on: October 28, 2016, 10:14:33 am »
G3258 overclocked to 4,2 GHz, XP x32.

Problem is as I read only on XP.
Sorry, Misread the previous post's in the thread.



 

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #144 on: October 28, 2016, 02:00:50 pm »

Doozer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 496
  • Last login:April 06, 2020, 07:14:32 am
  • Z80 ERROR
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #145 on: October 29, 2016, 09:53:22 am »

The groovymame 0.179 Linux builds are available.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #146 on: October 30, 2016, 12:20:43 pm »

Would you mind checking this test build? https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5iMjDor3P__WEFqU1JyTThrSVE

Still the same.

Ok, I've confirmed the issue.

But there's something odd going on. If I build GM from my main PC (i7-4771 - Windows 8.1) then the speed issue on XP happens. However if build GM from my laptop (i7-2670QM - Windows 10) then there's no speed issue, provided I add the patch for the chrono library.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:April 02, 2020, 06:59:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #147 on: October 31, 2016, 04:42:34 am »
Is there a new 179 build to test for winxp users? You think the problem is due to win8.1? My advice though is that you should update to windows 10. They are great and better than 8.1. ;)

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #148 on: October 31, 2016, 01:13:01 pm »
SwitchRes v0.016 alpha 3 (October 2016):

- Attempt at fixing erratic speed issue on Windows XP, by replacing std::chrono::high_resolution_clock by std::chrono::steady_clock.


Please check if this fixes the issue (it does here).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 2
« Reply #149 on: October 31, 2016, 01:25:48 pm »
My advice though is that you should update to windows 10. They are great and better than 8.1. ;)

As I said I'm already running W10 on my laptop. Boot takes way longer than it did on W7. Until the anniversary update, the hd was 90-100% busy most of the time, doing unknown background stuff, even after disabling all the telemetry crap. After the anniversary update, it feels more robust and faster. Windows 8.1 on the other hand is the most solid OS I've experienced so far, it's great once you hide all the metro stuff. I'm running it on a SSD so the comparison isn't probably fair, but when I get to the office and press the power button the desktop is ready before I have time to hang my jacket.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #150 on: October 31, 2016, 02:17:16 pm »
Alpha3 works fine for me. Tested with frame_delay 2 and 0 ans couple games with different frequencies.

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:April 02, 2020, 06:59:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #151 on: October 31, 2016, 05:59:16 pm »
Alpha 3 works for me too. With Frame_delay set to 0-2 i had no issues. I haven't figure out yet  if it is better for my configuration to have frame_delay at 0 or lets say 2. (pentium 4 2.8ghz, 2.5gb ram, Winxp 32b with hd2400)
« Last Edit: October 31, 2016, 06:07:11 pm by mdd45 »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #152 on: November 02, 2016, 07:20:12 am »
I haven't figure out yet  if it is better for my configuration to have frame_delay at 0 or lets say 2.

Frame_delay must be zero in mame.ini. Then, if you want to enable it for some game, you need to determine the highest value that offers a stable performance for that specific game on your specific hardware, and create an .ini file for that game.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

tom5151

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
  • Last login:Today at 03:32:30 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #153 on: November 06, 2016, 05:05:29 am »
Hi all,
I would be nice if someone could share a no-nag patched window 64bits version (xp / linux as well) when a new GM version is out.
Thanks,

javierluisbravo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:November 28, 2016, 02:26:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #154 on: November 11, 2016, 11:10:13 am »
Hi my friends,

In GM 0.179 when i load the rom from the command line or with a frontend.. the blue "loading" pointer of Windows 10 appears over a black screen... just a second before the nag screen and after hitting enter.

In GM 0.149 it does not happen at all.

Am I the only having this blue circle pointer of the mouse appearing between hitting enter and the nag screen? 

Or is something common since a couple versions ago?  (As i just updated from 0.149 to 0.179 alpha3)




Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #155 on: November 11, 2016, 12:39:24 pm »
The Windows loading pointer has happened since I have memory.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1255
  • Last login:April 08, 2020, 01:24:17 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #156 on: November 11, 2016, 01:00:09 pm »
Some frontends have some ability to hide pointer.

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 583
  • Last login:April 07, 2020, 09:24:06 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #157 on: November 12, 2016, 03:19:32 am »
Just to re-confirm please; 0.171 was the last build where D3D9ex worked, right ?
GroovyMAME oddball LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @4.1GHz, Rx 570, crt_emudriver 2.0b15

keropi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
  • Last login:February 19, 2020, 09:07:34 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #158 on: November 16, 2016, 02:03:21 pm »
^ I believe so, after that it's BGFX

I've been meaning to ask, what happened with the F10 behavior in recent mame builds? For example in 0.171 it unlocks framerate but in 0.179 it does nothing for me (in all games). Is there a new mame.ini option I missed?  ???

edit:
it appears that "FAST FORWARD" works for me but "THROTTLE" does nothing at all.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2016, 12:33:48 pm by keropi »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:54:18 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME 0.179 - Switchres v0.016 alpha 3
« Reply #159 on: November 19, 2016, 10:26:07 am »
I've uploaded a new Direct3D 9Ex build to the drive:

groovymame64_0179.016_alpha3_d3d9ex.7z

There's also a new diff file to add Direct3D 9Ex support to GroovyMAME. It must me applied after the usual GroovyMAME patch:

d3d9ex.diff

Notice this build is 9Ex-only, you can't switch from D3D9 to D3D9Ex anymore, so just use -video d3d or simply leave the default -video auto setting. The old -video d3d9ex won't work!. This build won't work on XP either (Direct3D 9Ex requires Windows Vista+).

The key is now we need separate builds for either D3D9 or D3D9ex, both using the same option -video d3d.

I'm providing this diff and build temporarily, I'm not sure if I'll be mantaining it. In case I do, only the 64-bit build will be released. I could aswell integrate this diff into the main one, but that would mean dropping support for XP. Maybe I should post a poll about this.

Pro memoria: Direct9Ex is used to reduce video latency to the minimum possible allowed by the system, before or without using advanced technics (=hacks), namely frame delay and/or direct polling of scanlines.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi