Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Servostik, but no room for it  (Read 2015 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cybermat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Last login:July 06, 2020, 08:14:32 am
Servostik, but no room for it
« on: March 30, 2016, 05:47:22 am »
Hello,
i would like to mount on my bartop a servostik (ultimarc), but unfortunately i have no room for this (control panel is 50 cm), at the moment i stay with a Mag Stik Plus, great for 4 ways but i'm not happy for 8 ways.
Horizontal or vertical is the same (104 or 105 mm) , the mounting plate without servo is 78 mm (width) and i would use a Kowal universal adapter in order to fit with Mag Stik holes.

I thought that if motor was UNDER the joystick, i would have enough room to operate, maybe someone has faced the same issue and solved with a brilliant idea.

Any suggestions ?








Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2016, 08:36:13 am »
I'm not sure if you can just flip the motor over. My issue was the little PCB hung over too far, so I removed a screw and turned it 90*:

I ended up going with a sanwa clone for this particular cab in the long run anyway, out of laziness not because of the stick itself.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

cybermat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Last login:July 06, 2020, 08:14:32 am
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2016, 10:20:40 am »
Thanks for your picture, in this way is more clear for people understanding this thread.
PCB is a minor issue, because it could be placed elsewhere.

I'm thinking to upside-down the motor.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2016, 11:33:53 am by cybermat »

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2016, 12:54:15 pm »
figured pic would help, ask Andy if there's a way to move the motor.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

AndyWarne

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1938
  • Last login:May 31, 2020, 01:16:44 pm
    • Ultimarc
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2016, 04:37:47 pm »
The motor can be mounted on any of the 4 sides. Not sure if this helps.

Andy

cybermat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Last login:July 06, 2020, 08:14:32 am
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2016, 05:37:08 am »
Andy, if i put motor on the side with 78 mm of lenght, should i just use one hole ? And of course i should rotate the restrictor plate of 90 .


AndyWarne

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1938
  • Last login:May 31, 2020, 01:16:44 pm
    • Ultimarc
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2016, 05:53:41 pm »
Andy, if i put motor on the side with 78 mm of lenght, should i just use one hole ? And of course i should rotate the restrictor plate of 90 .

The faceplate (ie the whole joystick) would need to be turned 90 degrees as the motor has to fit on one of the long sides

chrisvg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Last login:August 03, 2019, 09:47:50 pm
  • Blast City fanboy!
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2016, 07:19:00 am »
Not sure if this helps your situation, but I had trouble mounting a ServoStik in a Blast City control panel recently.  I ended up buying a Kowal universal mounting plate to resolve the issue.

I found that the original mounting plate provided with the ServoStik does not have holes to fit a Blast City JLF style mount, and the universal plate allowed me to rotate the stick so the motor was able to be mounted on the left side which gave it plenty of room without bumping into buttons or other stuff.

I also had to get out the Dremel and grind some holes in the sides of the JLW base to allow access to the JLF mounting holes, but it ended up working great!

cybermat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Last login:July 06, 2020, 08:14:32 am
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2020, 12:22:32 pm »
I know that it's 4 years old, but what i'm posting is about this thread. During this lockdown, i got the chance to read a lot and googling i found this post :)
I was searching if there were news about switchable sticks from the top, but i keep finding Mag Stik that it's the first stick i mount when i built my bartop... and quicly removed! Maybe there are tecnical reasons about that, but it's a pity that Sanwa and Seimitsu lacks on this!

When i bought this stick i didn't know i would't have had room for it, so i manually switched it till this morning when i tried to use it in the way it meant to be.

Andy will disagree with this, i know!  ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDvC71hMg0o&feature=youtu.be


dabone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 892
  • Last login:June 26, 2020, 03:56:05 pm
  • Time to work...
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2020, 01:57:34 pm »
I'm working on redoing my Super Neo 29 candy cab panel, and I've bought some servo sticks also. The candy cab doesn't have room to rotate the joystick, so I'm in the same boat as you.

After I finish my panel, I'll try to knockout a mounting board for the smaller side to print on my 3d printer. If it actually works I'll follow up here.




dabone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 892
  • Last login:June 26, 2020, 03:56:05 pm
  • Time to work...
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2020, 10:15:39 pm »
Here you go.


https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4376293


Here's a video compared to the original one.





Later,
dabone



cybermat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Last login:July 06, 2020, 08:14:32 am
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2020, 06:17:18 pm »
You made my day! Thanks. A lot of people will enjoy it!

dabone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 892
  • Last login:June 26, 2020, 03:56:05 pm
  • Time to work...
Re: Servostik, but no room for it
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2020, 10:04:28 pm »
I finally got to assemble my candycab, and had to redesign it a bit, so there are 2 different ones to try now.