Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION  (Read 4604 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dkssprs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Last login:January 10, 2019, 02:14:57 pm
    • Bub & Bob's BARTOP
MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« on: October 04, 2015, 12:40:56 pm »
Hi all.

Currently i am on a new project "FAMICADE" which is about to finish.

For the cabs frontend i have selected MA again like my first build. The reason i select MA is that its easy to configure , it has nice themes , its stable and i am good when its about customizing a theme.

The new cab i am building it will only have at most 40 to 50 games. 40 of them MAME and 10 pc games.

I was thinking to use with a unique way the emulators. Instead of emulators the games will be catogorized by their genre.

For example ...

I am going to use the ATARI emulator for "mame fighting games" , the SNES emulator for the "mame platform games , the NES emulator for "mame beat em up games" etc.

The user will select the genre of the game he likes to play and he will go to the page selection game which will only have lets say 5-6 games. The games will be presented with the marquee , instruction card , info of the game etc.

The categories will be
1) Fighting
2) Sports
3) PLatform
4) Action
5) Puzzle
6) Beat em up
7) Shoot em up
8) Racing
9) Pc games

What you guys think about this alternative way to use of MA?   

ArcadeSpirit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Last login:July 01, 2017, 09:18:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2015, 09:47:36 am »
Yes I think this would be a great way to allow people to choose what game they wanted to play. Is it possible to set this up in MA, if so I would try it out mate, sounds like a good idea.  ;D

dkssprs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Last login:January 10, 2019, 02:14:57 pm
    • Bub & Bob's BARTOP
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2015, 09:22:19 am »
Sure, i will upload the final result.

I was thinking that the games at the Game select menu sould be displayed not with just a marquee or a snapshot. I think that it would be cool to be displayed with somthnig like a console game box art even if most of them will be mame/arcade games.

For example i have made the above -draft- picture. Every game will have that kind of setup (logo + 4 snapshots + button layout) and i think it would be cool to be a small text about the game for example the plot.

It would be also nice if i follow the NES games black box (back side) setup.

EDIT :

I have added a picture draft for the ddragon artwork.

Any suggestions to make this idea better. For example any other console game box template art i sould follow.


 
« Last Edit: October 06, 2015, 10:02:52 am by dkssprs »

dkssprs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Last login:January 10, 2019, 02:14:57 pm
    • Bub & Bob's BARTOP
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2015, 03:38:24 pm »
I have also made some icons to use fo the games genre.

Whats your opinion?

dkssprs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Last login:January 10, 2019, 02:14:57 pm
    • Bub & Bob's BARTOP
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2015, 05:17:44 pm »
DAMN :banghead:

The whole idea is - i think - abandoned.

I thought that MA wouldnt have problem to give -for example - to the Playstation's emulator executable the mame.exe. But it has. MA recognize if the exe you give is proper for the specific emulator. DAMN

Any ideas how i can give the mame.exe to a non-mame system emulator?

EDIT: Maybe i was unlucky with the systems i have choosed to mod. I have tried 3DO and SNK NEO. The 3DO couldnt play the mame.exe and SNK only recognized games NEO GEO.

I tried GENESIS and SEGA 32 and both systems are working fine with the mame.exe

So the idea is not abandoned.   :)
« Last Edit: October 09, 2015, 07:01:38 pm by dkssprs »

israb1082

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:January 29, 2019, 11:34:26 am
  • ...
    • Emulator Arcade
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2015, 10:57:50 am »
mame.exe also works fine on FinalBurn Alpha, Texas Instruments and Visual Pinball.

dkssprs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Last login:January 10, 2019, 02:14:57 pm
    • Bub & Bob's BARTOP
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2015, 12:18:01 pm »
Thank you very much with the information.  :)

I have seen your work with the MA skins. Keep up!

What you think about the idea i have about the alternative style of MA?

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1945
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:37:30 pm
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2015, 12:30:35 pm »
that idea would probably work better in mala or something.

Yenome

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 523
  • Last login:April 19, 2019, 04:03:15 am
  • Punch a fish. Make a wish
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2015, 12:50:32 am »
your idea can work. you just got to tell MA what you want to do. For your emulator i just put in where it could find my mame.exe file. pointed it to the roms folder for my games and added the extension for my roms. in my case .7z tried this with intellivision and 3DO since you said it didnt like it. i found the same as you with the neo geo only the neo geo games showed up.
My Gf made me put a sig up. /whipped

dkssprs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Last login:January 10, 2019, 02:14:57 pm
    • Bub & Bob's BARTOP
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2015, 03:36:23 pm »
Hi all. I am getting back on this.

Is there a way to change the game snapshot size? Fow example make it bigger?

Thanks.

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1945
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:37:30 pm
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2015, 01:59:08 am »
Hi all. I am getting back on this.

Is there a way to change the game snapshot size? Fow example make it bigger?

Thanks.
there is. I can't remember how but I had to change a text in one of the files.

dkssprs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Last login:January 10, 2019, 02:14:57 pm
    • Bub & Bob's BARTOP
Re: MAXIMUS ARCADE - ALTERNATIVE EDITION
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2015, 01:53:59 pm »
Thank you.

You gave me a nice boost with your comment.

I have found what to tease.

Just go to skin.ini and change the values at the "dimensions" -> screen.