Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?  (Read 2627 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3466
  • Last login:December 22, 2018, 04:12:11 pm
  • North East, US
Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« on: June 16, 2015, 07:24:53 pm »
Ok, so I'm starting a new project and I'm in the planning and obtaining parts stage.

It's going to be a vertical cocktail cabinet but as a slim design so it will have a stand or can be sat on a table.
Here's the general idea I'm going for:


My plan is to keep it simple with strictly 4 way joysticks and 2 buttons per player.
So I'm not planning on a huge game list. Just 4-way vertical classics.
I'm also thinking of putting USB ports on the side for playing some older consoles with game pads (Nothing newer than Genesis)

I'm even planning on going total old school and just do a usb keyboard hack for the encoder.
Shouldn't be any ghosting issues on this setup.

I already bought a good 20" lcd for this project.
So my plan was to use an old DuoCore laptop with Windows 7 for the brain but due to wanting to keep things from getting bulky and hot, I'm thinking maybe a Raspberry Pi may be the way to go.

I've had an older RPi model B for a few years now. I've done some other things with it but haven't tried it out for emulation. Didn't have a reason until now.
If I go this route, I may buy an
So how are you guys liking the pi for emulation.

What seems to work best for you?

I'm gonna mess around retropie and see how it goes.
My monitor has dvi in so that's another plus for the pi.

How do guys handle scan lines?
Thanks for any input.

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3156
  • Last login:April 26, 2019, 02:25:09 pm
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2015, 07:34:02 pm »
I've got an old version B that I shoved into an SNES case, it is purely a retro console station.  I love it.  Honestly, from the game list you've mentioned I see no reason NOT to use a Pi, especially since you've got one collecting dust.

Granted, I did splurge and spent $3 on a heat sink set and I have my Pi on the first notch of overclock settings to smooth out the sound issue that the older models had.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8557
  • Last login:Today at 01:48:14 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2015, 09:22:52 pm »
I'm still waiting for a front end I really like.

This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3466
  • Last login:December 22, 2018, 04:12:11 pm
  • North East, US
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2015, 09:29:07 pm »
I'm still waiting for a front end I really like.

That's one problem I'm having is that the frontends are a little lacking

Bloinkxp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
  • Last login:January 11, 2019, 01:46:47 pm
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2015, 10:25:25 pm »
Retropie \ Emulationstation is really a nice FE in my humble opinion.  Take a look at Floob's YouTube videos to get a feel for how to install...
Nothing witty here...move along.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18851
  • Last login:Today at 02:13:24 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2015, 10:55:47 pm »
I'm still waiting for a front end I really like.
Agreed.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3309
  • Last login:Today at 01:34:06 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2015, 11:21:32 pm »
So the monitor arrived ?  :applaud: (was gonna ask in the other thread but seems it vanished !)
« Last Edit: June 16, 2015, 11:34:22 pm by JDFan »

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3466
  • Last login:December 22, 2018, 04:12:11 pm
  • North East, US
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2015, 11:48:29 pm »
So the monitor arrived ?  :applaud: (was gonna ask in the other thread but seems it vanished !)

Yeah it arrived. I was gonna post something but yeah that Thread got killed.

The monitir actuslly has dvi inputs but not vga So I ran it with an adaptor cable.
It worked fine and the viewing angles are good

That's a nice monitor.
Thanks for the heads up. I'll start a project thread after I figure out some design plans.

8BitMonk

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 989
  • Last login:July 09, 2019, 04:15:08 pm
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2015, 08:52:51 am »
That's a nice monitor.
Thanks for the heads up. I'll start a project thread after I figure out some design plans.
?

Looking forward to the project thread and seeing how the monitor works out. Which model was it again?

Games: Asteroids Deluxe | Atomiswave | Centipede | Championship Sprint | Defender | Donkey Kong | Dig Dug | Frogger | Ikari Warriors | Missile Command | Pac-Man | Pole Position | Robotron | Spy Hunter | Tempest | Super Mario Strikers

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3466
  • Last login:December 22, 2018, 04:12:11 pm
  • North East, US
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2015, 05:14:55 pm »
That's a nice monitor.
Thanks for the heads up. I'll start a project thread after I figure out some design plans.
?

Looking forward to the project thread and seeing how the monitor works out. Which model was it again?

I went with the HP LP2065.

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3466
  • Last login:December 22, 2018, 04:12:11 pm
  • North East, US
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2015, 11:09:01 pm »
I stripped down my old duo core laptop to its essentials and its small enough for this build so I'll probably go that route instead of the pi.

I kinda want a little bling in the frontend so I just feel windows 7 will be a better bet.

LEDAero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:June 26, 2015, 03:32:46 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2015, 11:07:37 pm »
I'm still waiting for a front end I really like.

The beauty of open-source, you get to design one you really like.

Or pay someone on Fiverr to do it for you.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1665
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:25:46 pm
  • Web Developer.
Re: Do I really wanna use a Pi for my Cocktail cab?
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2015, 04:43:07 am »
I stripped down my old duo core laptop to its essentials and its small enough for this build so I'll probably go that route instead of the pi.

I kinda want a little bling in the frontend so I just feel windows 7 will be a better bet.

Attract-Mode front end runs on the pi. It can be "bling". It's open source and multi-platform.