Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".  (Read 30605 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #120 on: February 07, 2019, 05:36:59 am »
My friend owns an arcade in London and has asked me to help him convert 6 Sega Model 2 Daytona cabs to a PC using SailorSat's arduino USB interface . I have got the arduino and all the software flashed the firmware and uploaded the sketch. That all works fine. What I would like some help with is the wiring schematic. I have had a look at the couple of diagrams linked in the threads but I cant' relate them between the pin outs of arduino and the wires from the drive board.

 I have had a look at the http://images.arianchen.de/for-amusement-only/daytona_usb/daytona-usb-teensy2-v2.jpg and http://www.arianchen.de/driveboard/ but can't really figure it out as the teesnyv2 jpg doesn't have a legend?
If anyone could help me out with wiring instructions that would be much appreciated.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 06:15:47 am by TobiasRieper »

tomsp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:February 18, 2019, 10:52:27 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #121 on: February 07, 2019, 09:54:04 am »
I used BigPanik's diagram from the M2Pac discussion forum for wiring the drive board:



https://www.gamoover.net/Forums/index.php?topic=33274.0

TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #122 on: February 07, 2019, 12:24:48 pm »
AMAZING!! Thank you;D I presume I can ignore  the LAMPS DRIVER (ULN2003A) and The PL2303HX as SailorSat's software / firmware has no need for these parts. can't wait to get to work! Thanks for your help.

TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #123 on: February 13, 2019, 04:04:11 am »
Could someone please confirm if I need the uln2003a module? I could not see any mention of it in sailor sats instructions but it's in all of m2pacs diagrams?

Also, It took me a good few hours but I've got video and sound working on Daytona USA using calamitys drivers and OSD Arcade. I don't experience any sound issues and it looks great! If i need to buy some uln2003a do i just get the chip or the modeule that sells on ebay?
cheers :D

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #124 on: February 13, 2019, 04:10:15 am »
The arduino has not enough power to drive the lamps. Thats what the ULN2003 is for
« Last Edit: February 13, 2019, 04:40:50 am by SailorSat »
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #125 on: February 13, 2019, 04:31:09 am »
 Thank you for the clarification. Will get some of those. Did you just use the chips? They also sell an arduino module i guess both give the same result. The project is going well thanks to you and m2pacs hard work. Now just need to do the wiring to arduino :D after i have completed this task ive been asked to do sega rally!

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #126 on: February 13, 2019, 04:40:31 am »
I just realized I never put up a wiring diagram for the arduino stuff.

The arduino used...
Pins D21 to D14 as well as D2 to D7 for the buttons (see here)
Port A - Pin D22 to D29 for the TX Line to the drive board
Port K - A8 to A15 for the lamps, with a slightly different pinout - A8 COIN1, A9 is COIN2, A10 START, A11-A14 VIEW1-4, A15 LEADER

Pin D10 is a jumper - if OPEN "shift decoder active" (Daytona etc 4-Way Shifter), if CLOSED (connected to ground) "buttons as is" (Indy500 etc. Up/Down Shifter)
Pin D11 as a jumper - if OPEN "racing mode", if CLOSED (connected to ground) "flight stick" mode (WingWar etc.)


The TeensyV2 file is for the teensy2+ based version which in fact does use the ULN2008A (which can drives 8 lamps instead of 7).

A kinda legend for the teensy stuff.

- analog stuff 'F1 to F2'
- tx stuff 'B0 to B7'
- pre-driver lamp stuff 'D0 to D7'
- post-driver lamp stuff 'L0 to L7'
- buttons 'A0 to A7, C0 to C7'
- option jumpers 'E6, E7'

Left Side:
Analog ports and TX pins for Model2A/2B/2C/3 on the outside (two 1-row connectors [1x16 & 1x18 pins])
Analog stuff for Model1/2 on the inside (the 2-row connector [2x13 pins]) as well as the TX pins for Model1/2 (one 1-row connector [1x11 pins])

Right Side:
Buttons for Model2A/2B/2C/3 (one 1-row connector [1x25 pins])
Lamps for Model2A/2B/2C/3 (one 1-row connector [1x8 pins])
Buttons and Lamps for Model1/2 (one 2-row connector [2x25 pins])

Center Part:
Teensy2++
2 Jumps for options ([2x2 pins])
Socket for ULN2008A (18 pin DIP)
« Last Edit: February 13, 2019, 01:19:14 pm by SailorSat »
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #127 on: February 13, 2019, 10:52:06 am »
 Thank you. Ive been scratching my head over the past few weeks. So you use pins D14 - 20 and not D8 -10 like m2pacs diagram. Ive ordered the ULN2003a. Could you please clarify where i wire a5 and a9 from arduino to lamps driver module / drive board. Many thanks :)

This is the board i ordered:
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F372223684254
« Last Edit: February 13, 2019, 11:59:31 am by TobiasRieper »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #128 on: February 13, 2019, 01:18:59 pm »
Hm... just by lookin at the pictures. just plug the uln2003 module into the Arduino.

A8 unused (COIN1)
A9 to IN7 = G - unused (COIN2)
A10 to In6 = F - START
A11 to In5 = E - VIEW1
A12 to In4 = D - VIEW2
A13 to In3 = C - VIEW3
A14 to In2 = B - VIEW4
A15 to In1 = A - LEADER

I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #129 on: February 13, 2019, 04:22:55 pm »
Amazing, Thanks :) just to clarify, d22 to 29 goes to CN2 TX on the drive board and not CN1 RX? (Rx is on m2pacs schematic)
« Last Edit: February 13, 2019, 04:27:51 pm by TobiasRieper »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #130 on: February 13, 2019, 04:43:21 pm »
RX on the drive board is correct - they are labeled TX on the model2 side :)
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #131 on: February 13, 2019, 04:49:14 pm »
Ok thanks. Will wire it to the TX  (cn2) on the model 2 side.
Thank you , youve saved alot of headaches. Hopefully will get things finished. Its quite a challenge.

TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #132 on: February 13, 2019, 05:25:55 pm »
I have attached the image for you and circled in red. Im wiring this directly to Arduino . Hope this is right. Sorry, im exhausted. Calling it a night until next week. Thank you, SailorSat :)

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #133 on: February 14, 2019, 05:48:20 am »
No, that is wrong.

The arduino replaces the model2. The arduino is transmiting (TX) comands that the drive board needs to receive (RX)

TX -> wire -> RX
RX <- wire <- TX
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #134 on: February 14, 2019, 06:01:37 am »
Now i feel silly, of course! It all makes sense now. Thank you for your assistance. I learn more each day. Really appreciate the help. Have a great weekend! Regards,

tomsp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:February 18, 2019, 10:52:27 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #135 on: February 18, 2019, 10:08:15 am »
Slightly off-topic, but any idea if a Virtua Racing clutch unit is interchangeable with a Daytona one?
I'm guessing not, since they have different Ogura model numbers: Virtua Racing seems to use a 20N-06, Daytona a 20D-01. Can't find any info on what those id numbers actually mean.

TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #136 on: February 20, 2019, 05:10:51 am »
SailorSat, I hope you are well. I wired up the board using your PinOuts and a bit of help with M2Pacs wiring diagram. Arduino is detected as a USB Daytona and is in the PC, all cables are routed correctly from arduino to sega driveboard. I have the m2 emulator installed with your LUA script and Daytona Saturn Ads rom working. Feedback app is on. Is there anything else I need to run/configure before I plug daytona cab in and start racing?

Thanks :)

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #137 on: February 20, 2019, 08:04:47 am »
That should be enough then.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #138 on: February 20, 2019, 09:02:46 am »
Thank you, I hope it all works when I get to the arcade today, Will let you know :D

TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #139 on: February 20, 2019, 11:18:23 am »
Ok so I have the wheel, brake and accelerator working but no gears, lamps or buttons. Any idea what i have done wrong?

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #140 on: February 21, 2019, 11:16:55 am »
Hit WindowsKey-R and run "joy.cpl", check that the Daytona-USB is showing up - It should show up at least with one button pressed ( Button 20, which is the Neutral Gear )
 
After that, make sure you have the ground connections to the buttons / lamps wired up.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #141 on: February 25, 2019, 06:57:28 pm »
Hiya, thank you. I have made sure all the connections are grounded correctly. I wired up the lamps module as you advised. I ran joy.cpl and it reads all the buttons and the shifter.

When i run daytonas none of the buttons work and the lamps dont light up. I have tried going into the controller settings of the emulator but cant figure out how to set the gears and vr buttons. It only reads my mouse, brake, steerinh wheel and accelorator.
As for the uln module, i have 5v and ground going to it from the sega power supply. Everything is connected to common ground. Ive spent around 30 hours on this now and id really like some help so i can finish this project. Hope you can help. :)

Thanks :)
« Last Edit: February 26, 2019, 07:59:36 am by TobiasRieper »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #142 on: February 27, 2019, 02:48:17 am »
Okay. Lets sort thing out.

1. check the version of m2em you are using - I tried with both single-cpu 1.1a as well as multi-cpu 1.1a

2. update the feedback app. - I just recompiled the feedback app to make sure everything is working.

3. after starting the emulator AND the feedback app, you should see activity in the feedback app.
the top left hex number is the drive board commands, which should be anything but 00.
the top right hex number is the lamp values, which should change while in attract mode etc.

4. to configure the controls you MIGHT need to keep the button you want to assign pressed
this might be needed as the shifter is always keeping ONE button pressed.
so you keep "VIEW1" pressed, then doubleclick "VR 1" in the controls configuration, and release the "VIEW1" button.
when you are done with the buttons, close the emulator to save changes!
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #143 on: February 28, 2019, 01:18:57 am »
Hi, thanks for getting back to me. I updated the emulator to the latest version and downloaded your new feedback app. It now works, well I get numbers in both of the boxes.

I have managed to get the buttons working but no lamps. 2 leds on the uln driver now light up. So thats some progress. The gear shifter works but i  can only get it into 3 positions. I think gear number 2 thinks its number 3. Also the feedback isnt workig even when i have enabled it to FFB=1 in emu settings.

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #144 on: February 28, 2019, 02:05:25 am »
The to troubleshoot the shifter you can use joy.cpl
Neutral should be Button 20, 1st Gear 21, 2nd 22 and so on.

The blinking LEDs on the ULN suggest that the output is indeed working but we are missing something other here.

Mhm... does the feedback board initialize on powerup of the cabinet? It should do some kind of self test by enabling the motor, then slowly turning the wheel on startup.
Also there is 7-digit display on the drive board that should show the position of the wheel in HEX.

Did you cut any of the original wiring?
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #145 on: February 28, 2019, 02:27:49 am »
Hi. We removed the cpu chassis from the cab. The owner is going to sell the CPU boards so he asked me just to snip the connectors. The only ones i cut were attached the cpu board and i took a ground and 5v directly from the power supply. I cut the ends off the cables from the shifters, buttons etc, pedals and steering and connected to pcb with arduino.

I can only see a two digit hex readout but that changes output when wheel is turned. When i turn the cab on the force feedback does indeed do a self test. Is there any  connections i  should check? I think there was 1 +5v  cable from the gears/buttons/lamps lume i have not connected, could that be it?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 02:29:49 am by TobiasRieper »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #146 on: February 28, 2019, 04:19:15 am »
*sighs* Thats why I removed the whole cage and built a interface board where all the original connectors go :)
I removed any cables from the sega power supply and fed the +5V and GND directly from the PC.

see here and here
 
Did I say 7-digit? I meant 7-segment, sorry on that.
That missing 5V line should be the culprit - the uln2003a opens/closes the GND line, so a constant 5V should be fed to the lamps.
As for the drive board… guess we are missing a GND connection somewhere between the drive board and the arduino.
There should be continuity on the Arduino GND and pin 9 of the drive board CN2

Mhm... one of the dip switches on the drive board is to switch between WHEEL and COMMAND display… (but that isn't documented in the manual)
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #147 on: February 28, 2019, 04:35:07 am »
I now realise the error of my ways. I have 7 more cabs to do after this  :-[ Next  one i will keep the connectors on. Right i will connect that 5v line.  Thats ok i knew what you meant. :)

When i am next at the arcade i will check continuity on pin 9. What dip switch settings should i use? I havent even seen a dip switch yet. Never opened up and arcade machine before this. :D

Without your help i would never have gotten this far, thank you.

JeanMix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:March 08, 2019, 11:44:14 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #148 on: March 03, 2019, 02:44:43 am »
Hello :)

Very nice work Sailorsat !!!

I have a small question :
Your setup can work into a twin Le Mans 24 cabinet ?
I wish play with Virtua Racing and maybe Daytona USA mainly

Thanks :)

TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #149 on: March 05, 2019, 02:51:16 am »
Hi SailorSat! Thanks for helping me get daytona up and running. It works now for the most part. The ffb is working great and the lamps are lit apart from the blue one. Im sure its just a lose connection.

Is still having a spot of bother with the shifter. Am i correct in that theres only 3 wires for the gears?
Cheers!

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #150 on: March 05, 2019, 06:13:03 am »
@JeanMix: it should work with any Model1/2/3 cab :)

@TobiasRieper: Yup, 3 wires + Ground.
what is the problem right now?
« Last Edit: March 05, 2019, 06:39:28 am by SailorSat »
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


TobiasRieper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 10:32:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #151 on: March 05, 2019, 06:15:39 am »
Right! Maybe its a grounding issue. I can go to gear 1, 2 and 4. Gear 3 thinks its 1. I will have a look and report back, i only think i used 2 grounds!

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #152 on: March 05, 2019, 06:33:44 am »
Hm... Don't count on the ground wires - They may be daisy chained from switch to switch.
So Gear 1 shows up as Button 21, 2nd as B22, 4th as B24?

If not, you might have a switch two of those wires around. if my notes are correct...
Arduino D5 = Grey/Red, Arduino D6 = Grey Blue, Arduino D7 = Grey Yellow

If so, there might be a issue with the switches inside the switcher.
One of my cabs had serious problems going to gear 4.

I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


jurulz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
  • Last login:March 14, 2019, 08:42:18 pm
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #153 on: March 05, 2019, 11:28:46 am »
Hello Guys!

Let's say i want to convert my Sega Rally Cab to a multi-racer cab. My ultimate goal is to play Daytona USA with FFB. I Actually buy everything to do a M2PAC but my concern is the EPROM swap for FFB.

I heard that your solution can do translation for FFB command but will it work with a Sega Rally EPR-17891 for Daytona USA Saturn Ads?

Thank you for your help!

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #154 on: March 05, 2019, 11:50:15 am »
Hm... The FFB eeprom for Sega Rally only supports movement in two directions, but at 32 steps or something like that.

There is a translation to play Sega Rally on a Daytona eeprom.
As both games use the same force feedback hardware it might be enough to simply switch the eeprom on the drive board.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


jurulz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
  • Last login:March 14, 2019, 08:42:18 pm
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #155 on: March 05, 2019, 01:01:12 pm »
Hm... The FFB eeprom for Sega Rally only supports movement in two directions, but at 32 steps or something like that.

There is a translation to play Sega Rally on a Daytona eeprom.
As both games use the same force feedback hardware it might be enough to simply switch the eeprom on the drive board.

Wow thx for the fast answer!! So i shoud put a eprom of Daytona so i can have FFB on both Sega Rally and Daytona? Same results on MAME or Model 3?

Thx again!

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #156 on: March 05, 2019, 04:18:53 pm »
In theory, yes.

The Model3 (and later Model2) wheels work on a different mechanic, so they might "feel" different.
BUT they will work.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


Vegetable

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:March 15, 2019, 07:57:53 am
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #157 on: March 11, 2019, 08:41:05 am »
Hi SailorSat, another happy DaytonaUSB user here - it's a great piece of work. All buttons etc working fine, but might need some advice with the FFB.

Drive board seems to be fine, does the left / right test when powered up. Display reads 80 by default (which should be ok according to the Daytona manual).

Using Model2 emulator, Daytona (Saturn ads) seems to be ok.
But trying Sega Rally, on the first 'Practice / Championship' selection screen the FFB constantly pushes the wheel counter-clockwise. Any idea why it might be doing this?

EDIT - looks like Daytona FFB isn't working quite right either. The FFB tries to push the wheel pack to centre whenever a direction is turned (I thought maybe this was how it was supposed to be, but it makes driving quite hard work) and occasionally seems to throw the wheel around for no apparent reason.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2019, 12:45:18 pm by Vegetable »

Vegetable

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:March 15, 2019, 07:57:53 am
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #158 on: March 15, 2019, 07:23:38 am »
In case it helps diagnose whatever is going on, the readouts on the ForceFeedback program, when loading Sega Rally, read:

FF     00

When on the Championship / Practice select screen, the values jump (I guess because the wheel is being thrown left and right) between:

62     00
89 > 62

51     00
C4 > 51

I've checked the service menu, input options - the wheel values seem to be ok in there. I'm on Windows 10 64bit if that means anything.

Any ideas gratefully received :)

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:Today at 12:46:53 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA - Converting a Twin cabinet "correctly".
« Reply #159 on: March 15, 2019, 10:38:02 pm »
That is hard to debug remotely. As for the sega rally translation - well it's most likely a combination of the "deadzone" and the feedback strength.

The real game has a range of 00 to FF - where everything below 0x20 or above 0xE0 is considered "full saturation".
Now the Daytona USB does map those values directly as long as you don't calibrate in windows.

Also I firmly believe the lowest Daytona force is still stronger as most of sega rallys force.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.