Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Question about happ 4 speed shifters  (Read 1473 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:02:05 am
  • Brakes are overrated
Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« on: March 28, 2015, 10:34:34 pm »
Im think about changing my act labs shifter to something more authentic. My concern is that I will have any future shifter mapped to keypresses using a encoder so, I would need to put into neutral when not use.

My question is this, are there any 4 speed arcade shifter that have a neutral resting point in the middle where no buttons are being pressed?

Fursphere

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1057
  • Last login:August 20, 2018, 11:28:40 am
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2015, 06:38:26 pm »
I'm curious as well, but probably for a completely different reason.   :)


vandale

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 338
  • Last login:Today at 02:49:37 pm
  • Id 10 and t error
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2015, 07:00:23 pm »
both my original Daytona 4 speed and scud race 4 speed don't have neutral switches however my sega rally 4 speed has 3 micro switches and I use a 8 legged Motorola PIC to allow 4 separate outputs.

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:02:05 am
  • Brakes are overrated
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2015, 07:41:29 pm »
Thank vandale, i dont need a neutral switch per se, i just need to be able to leave the stick in a neutral position where none of the buttons are being pressed. Do any of yours allow for that? I use my cabinet as media pc as well and dont want a button being pressed all the time. for example, my current shifter has a neutral center position but, if i forget and leave it in gear, it will be constantly sending that keypresses to my pc. If not, im pretty I can program xpadder to only open on certain programs but, i rather just leave it in a neutral position.   

Fursphere

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1057
  • Last login:August 20, 2018, 11:28:40 am
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2015, 09:46:29 pm »
You could wire up an "on off" switch inline with the shifter.   Just cut the group or signal wire(s).   I have a "hi low" shifter I was considering doing this with for the kids.

vandale

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 338
  • Last login:Today at 02:49:37 pm
  • Id 10 and t error
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2015, 01:19:16 am »
Thank vandale, i dont need a neutral switch per se, i just need to be able to leave the stick in a neutral position where none of the buttons are being pressed. Do any of yours allow for that? I use my cabinet as media pc as well and dont want a button being pressed all the time. for example, my current shifter has a neutral center position but, if i forget and leave it in gear, it will be constantly sending that keypresses to my pc. If not, im pretty I can program xpadder to only open on certain programs but, i rather just leave it in a neutral position.

Yes the 4 switch Daytona and scud ones allow the stick to sit in neutral and no switches are pushed. Even if you get a 3 switch version you can simple relocated the 3rd switch and add another to make it work also.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8597
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:25:38 am
  • ...
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2015, 09:00:16 am »
I have Ketz 4-way shifters (from model 3) modified with an extra switch.
It doesn't register anything when in neutral.
On one, the rubber that makes it center was worn out and would allow the shifter to flop to one side and register a gear.
I added some addition material on the other end of the rubber to firm it back up and it has been fine since.

I have an original Daytona shifter, but haven't messed around with it.
From outward appearances it works the same way.

I've never had a Happ (Midway) 4-way.
They have 4 switches, so I imagine they don't register anything while in neutral.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2015, 09:50:13 am »
any H gate 4 way shifter should allow for neutral (as in no gear button being hit)

just gotta leave the shifter in the right spot.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:02:05 am
  • Brakes are overrated
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2015, 10:52:12 pm »
Thanks! thats the answer i was looking for. What shifter is that malenko?

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2015, 07:41:04 am »
Thanks! thats the answer i was looking for. What shifter is that malenko?

I bought it from uncleT, so I dont know exactly which one it is.
This looks like the same one
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 702
  • Last login:December 05, 2019, 11:52:05 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2015, 05:46:32 pm »
Thanks! thats the answer i was looking for. What shifter is that malenko?

I bought it from uncleT, so I dont know exactly which one it is.
This looks like the same one

That looks pretty cool. Does anybody know if you can get something like this in a plug and play variety? I unfortunately lack the man skills of a true BYOAC member in wiring, soldering and knowing how to interface stuff like this with a PC. I've previously tried a bit of Googling for a four way shifter without much luck (I can only find super expensive 'realistic' looking 6 way shifters for sims, when what I'd really like is a 4 way shifter like you'd find on a Daytona Arcade machine).

Failing that, can anyone point me in the right direction of a beginners guide in how to get one of these working...?

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:02:05 am
  • Brakes are overrated
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2015, 08:06:54 pm »
im going to be using a $20 ebay encoder for mine MrThunderwing the encoder shows up as a generic joystick. Most come with the wires and clamps so, no work is needed other then plugin it into the switches.  Although I use xpadder to turn into keyboard presses for more uniformity across all emus.

Anyone selling a 4 speed shifter by chance?

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2015, 08:08:43 pm »
Just wire the 4 switches into any encoder. It's virtually plug and plug. If you need help, that's what we're here for!
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 702
  • Last login:December 05, 2019, 11:52:05 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2015, 11:57:04 am »
Cheers for the advice fellas. So something like this should do the job then?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Zero-delay-USB-Encoder-to-PC-Joystick-and-Buttons-For-Arcade-Happ-diy-kit-Parts-/201249409888?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2edb664b60

Presumably the encoder has software drivers on board then that lets the PC recognise it?


Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2015, 12:17:19 pm »
 that's actually exactly what I used with my shifter.  Shows up as a plug and play controller . Installs as a generic USB  HID no drivers needed
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:02:05 am
  • Brakes are overrated
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2015, 12:50:34 pm »
This is the one i use, it shows up as 2 controllers on my pc (10 buttons for player 1 and 12 buttons for player 2). no drivers or apps needed. The one you posted is basically the same, just less buttons.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Xin-Mo-Arcade-to-USB-controller-2-player-MAME-Multicade-Keyboard-Encoder-/120966915693?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c2a30a66d

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 702
  • Last login:December 05, 2019, 11:52:05 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Question about happ 4 speed shifters
« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2015, 04:25:01 pm »
Thanks for clarifying guys  :cheers: