Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Multiple wires on Jamma edge connector overloads and transmission problems?  (Read 856 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
For Edge connectors and Jamma Edge connectors it says in arcade manuals not to put multiple wires on the same edge connector trace because it will cause overloading and transmission problems

Why does it cause overloading problems? and transmission problems?

The +5 volts and +12 volts wires are not to be soldered to the same edge connector trace because it causes overloading and causes transmission problems


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
exactley what fregen manual are u reading ?

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
it's for all the arcade manuals in the 80's, it says not to put multiple wires on the same or going to one edge connector leg trace it will it cause overloaded and it will cause it to burn the jamma board trace


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
news flash
jamma dose exactley that...
all wire's are routed to a single dual side connecter

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6276
  • Last login:Today at 11:22:22 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
...so don't do it.

or do...and burn up your "connector leg traces"


IE: the connector can only take so much current before burning out. the connection is only made for low current draw. drawing excess current will burn out the connector. using the JAMMA harness AS DESIGNED won't cause issues.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
So it's the connectors copper traces, the edge connector

The Copper traces on the edge connector can only handle low current draw?

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
why do you guys bother answering? if you stop, maybe it will quit posting.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7213
  • Last login:Today at 11:25:18 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
:stupid   :troll:


Scott

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
why do you guys bother answering? if you stop, maybe it will quit posting.

Someone answered but it wasn't quite right as to dips question. Makes sense to clarify in case some other dip comes along and thinks it's the right answer.

Nonetheless, I'll remind clueless to make better use of Google, yet again.