Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen  (Read 942 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« on: December 26, 2014, 06:12:38 pm »
Why would you want to freeze the screen or Flip the screen?

All Arcade games of the DIP switches to Flip the screen or you can Freeze the screen, but when would you want to use this?

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 10:46:41 pm »
on the dip switches on the logic board you can reverse the screen, why would you want to reverse the screen?

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18812
  • Last login:Today at 10:51:18 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2014, 10:51:22 pm »
I can actually answer the flip one with a legit reply- it all depends on monitor orientation. My Centipede uses a monitor that is oriented with the chassis on the left side, but I've seen other vertical games where the monitor has to be oriented with the chassis on the right. If I were to hook my Centipede board up to this monitor in that orientation, it would be upside down. The flip circuit on some boards allows you to use the board with either monitor orientation.  :cheers:

Edit: Changed "circuit board" to "chassis" so not to confuse van.  :cheers:
« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 02:15:10 pm by yotsuya »
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2014, 11:01:17 pm »
what do you mean by the circuits boards are on the left side or the right side?

The Monitor orientation shouldn't have to do anything on if the circuit board is mounted screwed down on the left side or on the right side of the arcade wooden box

The monitors orientation is controlled by where the anode is placed right?

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18812
  • Last login:Today at 10:51:18 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2014, 11:03:58 pm »
I'm trying to simplify it for you. By circuit board, I meant the chassis on the monitor. Monitor chassis is normally on the bottom, right?

Yes, stick with the anode. On some vertical games, the monitor needs to go with the anode on the left. On some, the right. A flip switch means the orientation doesn't matter.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 02:13:42 pm by yotsuya »
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Sarver Systems

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 937
  • Last login:March 20, 2016, 02:47:36 pm
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2014, 10:55:44 am »
The freeze screen can be used like a pause button.

Also, flip screen, I thought was used for if your cab had a mirror in it.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2014, 02:12:55 pm »
Quote
The freeze screen can be used like a pause button.

When would I want to use the freeze screen to pause it? is this for troubleshooting arcade tech?

Why would you want to freeze the screen?

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6276
  • Last login:Today at 02:09:00 am
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2014, 02:24:18 pm »
yes.

this.

Sarver Systems

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 937
  • Last login:March 20, 2016, 02:47:36 pm
Re: Dip switches for Freeze screen and Flip Screen
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2014, 03:55:44 pm »
Lets say you're 2 knuckles deep into Ms. Pac.

The phone rings.

What do you do?

Pause the game!