Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip  (Read 1319 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« on: December 13, 2014, 03:05:30 pm »
The Test mode switch goes to which Pin mostly on the CPU and what is the Pins name on the CPU that the Test mode switch goes to?

The TEST mode switch it seems to go to the NMI, I'm not sure what the NMI does to the CPU Z80 or 6502

For the Test Diagnostics is loaded on an EPROM chip

Is there a way to use an EPROM read/writer program to just copy the test diagnostics from each arcade game?

I just want to get the Test Diagnostics from each arcade game and copy that in my computer as a file

But I don't know how to get just the Test Diagnostics from which ERPOM chip

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2014, 03:38:02 pm »
The Test mode switch goes to which Pin mostly on the CPU and what is the Pins name on the CPU that the Test mode switch goes to?
It is CPU and circuit specific. Google the specific CPU and schematic.

Quote
The TEST mode switch it seems to go to the NMI, I'm not sure what the NMI does to the CPU Z80 or 6502
The NMI on the Z80 and 6502 are well documented an appears in numerous discussions. I suggest you, at a bare minimum, download the Z80 or 6502 technical documents to understand what the NMI does.

Quote

For the Test Diagnostics is loaded on an EPROM chip

Is there a way to use an EPROM read/writer program to just copy the test diagnostics from each arcade game?
This question is a question that bears its own answer. Re-read http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
 
Quote
I just want to get the Test Diagnostics from each arcade game and copy that in my computer as a file

If you don't understand the machine code involved, what's the point? MAME likely has those diagnostics already archived.

Quote
But I don't know how to get just the Test Diagnostics from which ERPOM chip

Google it. This answer has been asked multiple times across multiple chips.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2014, 03:50:11 pm »
it appears u either cannot google or will not ?? pick which 1

here

>Zilog Z80 microprocessor architecture - CPU-World
www.cpu-world.com/Arch/Z80.html
When non-maskable interrupt occurs the CPU will preserve the content of IFF1 ... Accumulator (A) register is an 8-bit register used for arithmetic, logic, I/O and ...
<
so the term non-maskable-interrupt,means it take's control of all thing's
going on period

google is your friend try it on for speed

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2014, 03:56:23 pm »
Wait hold on

Does the TEST MODE or SELF TEST switch always goes to the NMI on the CPU chips? or where does the TEST mode/Self switch go to on the CPU?

For every arcade game in the 80's the Test mode switch always goes to the NMI on the CPU?


SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2014, 04:07:48 pm »
Does the TEST MODE or SELF TEST switch always goes to the NMI on the CPU chips? or where does the TEST mode/Self switch go to on the CPU?

Not always. Depends on what the engineer wants to do.

Quote
For every arcade game in the 80's the Test mode switch always goes to the NMI on the CPU?

No one here will do that research for you. Download the schematics for any games that captures your fancy and see for yourself. Of course, that might be the bulk of the problem here.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2014, 04:21:29 pm »
In your guys experience where have you seen the Test mode/self test switch mostly going to on the CPU?

When I'm looking at the schematics the test mode switch does to a harness and going to multiple chips and it doesn't say there is connects to the CPU pin, they don't make it clear as to where the test mode/self test switch is going to on the CPU

Quote
MAME likely has those diagnostics already archived.

Can I load a different diagnostics test from another arcade game to test a different arcade game?

Are the Diagnostics test only ment for the one arcade game or can It be universal to test all arcades with?

Most arcade games in the 80's had 4 to 6 ROM chips , which one has the Diagnostics self test code on it?

When using an EPROM programmer zif socket, I put the ERPOM chips into to READ the code, but how do I know which one is the Diagnostic self test code?

I'm just trying to extract the Diagnostic self test code for each arcade game in the 80's

I want to Load different Diagnostic self test on a EPROM chip to on different arcade logic boards


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2014, 04:46:11 pm »
if that is the case
then learn >hex< and >binary<
from there every dump u get should be if it is a good programer/reader
give u a hex dump..now u use >hex-ascii< converter
or if it dump's as a .img/.bin then u need the nessary converter's
to ascii//your answer is in the ascii code,+ the .hex code
my response to u is bone up on them first before u want to just
willy-nilly dump eprom's,because without the converter's they mean jack to u

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2014, 04:47:53 pm »
 ::)

In your guys experience where have you seen the Test mode/self test switch mostly going to on the CPU?

When I'm looking at the schematics the test mode switch does to a harness and going to multiple chips and it doesn't say there is connects to the CPU pin, they don't make it clear as to where the test mode/self test switch is going to on the CPU

You MUST understand that it is CPU specific and very dependent on what the engineer wanted to do. If we take your previous choice of the 6502 or Z80, you must understand what the NMI does before you understand the circuit that goes into it. I do not have the time or the desire to explain the nuances of the NMI to you. You are free to research it yourself as many others have done. Once again, Google it.


Quote
Quote
MAME likely has those diagnostics already archived.

Can I load a different diagnostics test from another arcade game to test a different arcade game?

This must be answered on your own. Take the test diagnostic block from one arcade and compare it to another. Are they the same?
To understand why, you MUST understand the CPU you are working on and you MUST understand the schematic. Non one will do this homework for you. GOOGLE IT!

Quote
Are the Diagnostics test only ment for the one arcade game or can It be universal to test all arcades with?

Google it.

Quote
Most arcade games in the 80's had 4 to 6 ROM chips , which one has the Diagnostics self test code on it?

Seriously? This question is so asinine that it deserves no answer whatsoever other than, Google it.

Quote
When using an EPROM programmer zif socket, I put the ERPOM chips into to READ the code, but how do I know which one is the Diagnostic self test code?

I'm just trying to extract the Diagnostic self test code for each arcade game in the 80's

I want to Load different Diagnostic self test on a EPROM chip to on different arcade logic boards

Then no one here will help you as there is no logical reason for a beginner-1, such as yourself, to even be messing around with that. Anyone else who has enough inkling as to how to do that, will know enough not to do it as it would be a total waste of their time. Sorry... :dunno

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2014, 05:42:28 pm »
The IRQ gets triggered from a Blanking circuit, when does the blanking circuit get triggered? and how do you test the blanking circuit?

Some Arcade Test modes test the blanking circuit and the IRQ of the CPU, most don't have this test so how can I test this please?

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2014, 09:29:01 pm »
I still don't understand why they would use the NMI input on a CPU as the test mode switch

When does the IRQ on CPU get triggered or pulsed? when what happens , the control lines, data lines, address lines

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2014, 10:03:23 pm »
non maskable interrupt...makes it a frist call in the stack..about that simple..
the micro must answer it frist
again that simple,handy for reset line's huh ??

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2014, 10:28:14 pm »
So the First Stack in the CPU is the Test Diagnostics program?

The Reset goes to the First stack or first line of the program also

 

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2014, 10:32:21 pm »
non maskable interrupt...makes it a frist call in the stack..about that simple..
the micro must answer it frist
again that simple,handy for reset line's huh ??

ed

You had to bring up the damn stack?!

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2014, 11:09:32 pm »
sorry my humble  :dizzy: >SavannahLion <
i just had thought that the @ had caught onto the "other-control-line's"
as most ppl do

again my bad

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2014, 11:21:56 pm »
sorry my humble  :dizzy: >SavannahLion <
i just had thought that the @ had caught onto the "other-control-line's"
as most ppl do

again my bad

ed

All good, don't let it happen again.  :cheers:

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2014, 11:48:41 pm »
no fear's and thk-u :)
i just happen to side of error for some one who truly want's to know....
come's from my teaching day's,but with the amount of q's i need
to go why.?
where as i do teach special need's ppl where
there is a reason.....i do not how-ever get this from the @
it seem's to me there is a skunk in the fox patch..if u catch the drift

ed
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 12:00:24 am by ed12 »
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Test mode switch, IRQ and Diagnostic on ROM chip
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2014, 02:50:00 am »
I still don't understand how the test switch goes to the NMI and it starts the diagnostic test program

The Test Diagnostic program is in an EPROM chip , the test mode switch doesn't switch on the ERPOM , it switches on the NMI on the CPU