Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Arcade games CPU clock speed and GPA clock speeds are at different speeds why?  (Read 888 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Why are arcade CPU clock speed and GPA/TIA chips cock speeds both at a different speed rate?

Some arcade games use the same or one clock speed for the CPU, the RAM and ROM clock input signal, GPA
Other Arcade games use different clock speeds for the CPU,RAM chips , ROM chips and GPA

example:
Atari 2600
CPU clock  is 1.19MHZ
GPU is 3.58MHZ

Atati 7800
CPU clock is 1.79MHZ
GPU is 7,19MHZ


SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Google the following
Racing the Beam
Magic quartz crystal value

Read and understand
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
Before you return

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7225
  • Last login:Today at 02:23:05 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
Thanks SavannahLion.   :notworthy:

Added a link to the FAQ here.

This is the most useful thing yet to come out of a vanwatson thread.   >:D


Scott

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2109
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 08:53:58 pm
    **Jennifer hides a laugh.... (Snicker, Snicker) :laugh2:

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6277
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:22:04 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
why does my GTX750ti memory run at 5.4ghz but my GPU only run at 1.15 ghz?

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I have notice certain arcade games using the same clock frequency signal for the CPU, GPU/TIA/VIDEO ROM, ROM CHIPS, RAM CHIPS
But other arcade games using different clock frequencies signals for the CPU, GPU/TIA/VIDEO ROM, ROM CHIPS, RAM CHIPS

I don't understand why and what's the difference between using the same clock frequency compared to using different clock signals for each chip


SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
I gave you two excellent starting points as to why the T.I.A. is clocked at a very specific frequency.

The Atari 2600 programming docs have a very concise explanation as to why the 6507 runs at the frequency it does.

This kind of information will go a long way to help you understand.

Are you still posting this same crap in other forums?

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Quote
I gave you two excellent starting points as to why the T.I.A. is clocked at a very specific frequency.

Are you talking about this Google the following
1.) Racing the Beam
2.) Magic quartz crystal value

Quote
Are you still posting this same crap in other forums?

No