Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games  (Read 955 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« on: December 07, 2014, 10:54:13 pm »
Why is the audio pot rated at 10 watts for the audio board?  any reason why it's a 10 watts pot?

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6277
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:10:24 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2014, 11:57:19 pm »
any reason it shouldn't be?

maybe they adjust the audio level by adding additional resistance to the speaker line.

maybe they just had a bunch left over and used them any way?

maybe you mean "10k ohm"

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2014, 12:20:34 am »
It's on most schematics in the manuals of 80's arcade games, the pot is 10watts it says


Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6885
  • Last login:Today at 01:22:24 am
  • Technician
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2014, 01:29:53 am »
Why is the audio pot rated at 10 watts for the audio board?  Any reason why it's a 10 watts pot?

Games like Atari "Asteroids" and "Pole Position" use a 10 watt rheostat not a pot. The reason for this is that the audio to the speaker comes out of the game board at full blast volume. Atari inserts a 100 ohm (or on some games a 50 ohm) @ 10 watt Mallory brand rheostat to cut the volume down to the speaker. They did this because then the "volume control" could be placed conveniently right inside next to the coin door for easy adjustment.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2014, 01:41:29 am »
Quote
10 watt Mallory brand rheostat

But what kind of amplifier or amplifiers is going to the Rheostat? what kind of amplifier is this called when using a rheostat like this?

The Rheostat is wipe does to the speaker terminal
The Rheostat Right side terminal goes to the right channel Op amp amplifier
The Rheostat Left side terminal goes to the left channel Op amp amplifier

So the Rheostat is on the output of the power amplifier?




 

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2014, 02:06:09 am »
yes as i have been pointing out to u
and as ken say's it was way easier to place a control at the coin door
then going into the back and turning it up/down


ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2014, 02:08:21 am »
Quote
yes as i have been pointing out to u
and as ken say's it was way easier to place a control at the coin door
then going into the back and turning it up/down

But can't you just run wires from the preamps volume pot to the coin door? or that will pickup to much noises and will be amplifying the noises?

Is that why they used a volume pot in the power amplifier? to not amplify noises

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6885
  • Last login:Today at 01:22:24 am
  • Technician
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2014, 02:15:41 am »


But can't you just run wires from the preamps volume pot to the coin door? Or that will pickup too much noise and will be amplifying the noises?



To do it that way you would have to use shielded wire (which costs a lot more) and you'd have to be very careful on how the wire is routed through the cabinet so it wouldn't pick up AC power hum in the sound.

By using a rheostat you can use ordinary wire and not be so particular about cable placement.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2014, 02:19:29 am »
Yes true the wire would pickup weird noises and hum from the high voltages of the monitor and other boards

The audio amplifiers it not a complementary amplifier, but it's "bridged together" and not complementary

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2014, 02:27:12 am »
it comes down to $$ verus $$
if u use sheilded wire the cost is way up there
plus u must watch routing etc etc
just some good ol 16ga-18ga wire will do the job just fine
and add to the fact we are using the final's is a +
no noise to worrie about etc etc

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2109
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 08:53:58 pm
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2014, 02:31:36 am »
   They must be using shielded cable somewhere however.... Every time I dig in my scrap wire room, I always wind up tossing a handful off to the side.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2014, 02:33:53 am »
older game board's ran shieled to the monitor
rgb/gnd/sync/sheild

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2014, 02:46:31 am »
The Syncs do need to be shielded because if the syncs get to much noise it's hard for the monitor circuit to lock up the vertical and horizontal , so you can get a garbage display


vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2014, 01:53:14 am »
Mostly the volume pot is just a normal voltage divider after the Mixing stage. The volume pot is inbetween the mixing stage and the Left and Right output stages.

Flow Chart:
The Sound chip outputs a signal, then there is a DAC circuit, mixing circuit, VOLUME POT, output amplifier circuit, Speaker

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2014, 03:18:46 am »
So... are you trying to be Nick Burns now or...?

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6277
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:10:24 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Audio pot is 10 watts for arcade games
« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2014, 11:52:40 am »
inb4 PBJ psudo account.