Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Using PS4 to run MAME  (Read 18812 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sshado

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 221
  • Last login:January 25, 2018, 02:51:37 pm
  • Sshado's Club
    • Sshado's Club
Using PS4 to run MAME
« on: December 04, 2014, 10:59:29 am »
Can you use the Playstation 4 to run MAME? I was going to sell my PS4 because I never used it. I was planning on building a MAME Arcade, but I would save money if I could just use the PS4, is this doable?

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8456
  • Last login:Today at 05:19:31 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Using PS4 to run MAME
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2014, 04:36:29 pm »
Just return it as an "unwanted Christmas present" in a few weeks.

 
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

jaharr01

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 799
  • Last login:March 03, 2018, 10:26:45 am
  • Try and fail, but don't fail to try
Re: Using PS4 to run MAME
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2014, 01:07:06 pm »
Use it as a media center or sell it and buy a cheap P4 or dual core and you could mame fine on it

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8456
  • Last login:Today at 05:19:31 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Using PS4 to run MAME
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2014, 01:48:26 pm »
Use it as a media center or sell it and buy a cheap P4 or dual core and you could mame fine on it

Media center stuff is currently mega gimped on ps4. :-(
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
  • Last login:Today at 02:54:19 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: Using PS4 to run MAME
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2014, 03:24:44 am »
PS4 hasn't been hacked so there isn't any way to run mame. Better get some cheap PC with Core2Duo E8500 or new PC with G3258 (needs overclocking) or i3 4160.