Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Screen or mainboard problem?  (Read 602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

didgey101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Last login:March 01, 2015, 04:56:25 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Screen or mainboard problem?
« on: November 10, 2014, 12:45:21 pm »
Hi all,

I just went to have a look at my friends house of the dead 2 arcade machine that has developed a fault. I cant quite make up my mind if its the monitor or the main game board at fault??
I have attached a picture of the screen to see if any of you guys have an opinion on which you think it is likely to be..

Many thanks...Tim

jessybr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:December 25, 2016, 05:54:07 am
Re: Screen or mainboard problem?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2014, 07:02:46 am »
that looks like a board problem with the blok missing in the right bottom
good luck

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3466
  • Last login:December 22, 2018, 04:12:11 pm
  • North East, US
Re: Screen or mainboard problem?
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2014, 07:25:20 am »
My first quick impression was screen because at first it just looked washed out but as jessybr pointed out, that block missing in the lower corner may indicate the board.
the green noise is also odd.

what I do in these cases is I have a cheap jamma board that I bring along (Robocop) as well as a psu and harness. I just fire that up and plug it into the monitors video input.
I also have a video extension cable made up that I use if the customer has more than one game. It's about 10ft long with male pins on one end and female pins on the other.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5819
  • Last login:Today at 11:42:41 am
Re: Screen or mainboard problem?
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2014, 05:41:17 pm »
that has to be a video board fault as there are artifacts being created and a chassis cannot do that

didgey101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Last login:March 01, 2015, 04:56:25 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Screen or mainboard problem?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2014, 05:02:20 pm »
Thanks for the replies, the only reason ive asked for advice is I plugged a laptop into the monitor and it still came up really fuzzy but no green block? Im in the uk so dont know if a pal laptop would be an issue on an American monitor at all. Thanks

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5819
  • Last login:Today at 11:42:41 am
Re: Screen or mainboard problem?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2014, 04:05:53 am »
that runs on a naomi i think so why not just attached a pc monitor to the naomi board,that will prove that side of things