Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: New CRT Emudriver/VMMaker/Arcade OSD download, documentation and discussion site  (Read 101926 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7076
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:45:16 pm
  • Quote me with care
I am trying to move the desktop resolution (640x480p) that has been shifted to the right with it but it does not do anything?
I selected a different desktop res to make sure i was doing it correctly

You can't do modifications to the mode used currently by the desktop. Just set your desktop to a different mode temporarily and do the changes to 640x480, then switch your desktop back to this mode.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

edomatic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Last login:February 02, 2021, 04:44:10 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
yep that works! :cheers:

Thanks a million Calamity!


Vaderman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:March 30, 2020, 07:57:11 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I'm considering buying an athlon 200ge or 3000g. Does it work with the current crt emudriver version?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 07:54:32 pm by Vaderman »

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:February 05, 2021, 05:49:11 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
Eiusdemmodi's got server issues once again. As I'm not sure when we'll be back, this may help in the meantime:

https://web.archive.org/web/20190805022158/http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/index.php

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 697
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:08:01 am
  • I want that recipe
Eiusdemmodi's got server issues once again. As I'm not sure when we'll be back, this may help in the meantime:

https://web.archive.org/web/20190805022158/http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/index.php

A suggestion if I may; when it's back you should really post a copy of the Installation and quick configuration (2019) thread here on BYOAC.
Because when eius' down and we can't give around the link to people who need it like now, it's kind of nooooooh  :'(

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?id=433
GravyMOM LCD user i5-4690k @3.9GHz, RX Vega 56, W7 64, crt_emudriver 2.0b15 18.5.1
PSA: general warning regarding internet communities where emulation is an important discussion topic: freedom of speech stops where criticism of MAME and its devs begins.

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:February 05, 2021, 05:49:11 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
I'll upload that thread in a back-up service and post the link here as soon as it's back on-line. Thanks for the heads-up.

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:February 05, 2021, 05:49:11 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
Back again. 2019 GM guide captured here:

https://archive.li/6bw9B


Recently archived threads, from here:

https://archive.li/k0dYn


« Last Edit: April 05, 2020, 06:55:03 am by Recapnation »

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 697
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:08:01 am
  • I want that recipe
Thank you!
GravyMOM LCD user i5-4690k @3.9GHz, RX Vega 56, W7 64, crt_emudriver 2.0b15 18.5.1
PSA: general warning regarding internet communities where emulation is an important discussion topic: freedom of speech stops where criticism of MAME and its devs begins.

sergio83

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:July 11, 2020, 04:33:29 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
.
« Reply #288 on: April 25, 2020, 09:35:24 am »
.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2020, 04:53:57 pm by sergio83 »

tronbaby

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:February 13, 2021, 03:17:39 pm
  • I love SF
Hi, apologies if this is a dumb question - but I'm about to build a new PC to play Demul in 31Khz (as well as Groovymame in 15khz) on my Blast City cab.
What's the best graphics card I should get that is supported by Emudriver that will power Naomi 2 and Atomiswave games?

Thanks

tronbaby

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:February 13, 2021, 03:17:39 pm
  • I love SF
In case anyone else is interested, I’ve got a follow up to my question above.
I went for an R9 380. I did some investigation and the 380 and 380x were the last Radeon cards to include analogue out through DVI-I.
I’m using it with an i7 4770k CPU overclocked to 4.3ghz and unfortunately, using default settings, it’s not good enough to play Naomi or Atomiswave in Demul.
Standard GroovyMame games are brilliant, but I’m not able to have the 31khz newer games on too.
I’m guessing someone else has cracked this using j-pac and CRTemu?

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:February 05, 2021, 05:49:11 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
Which are the "default settings"? Those specs should be more than enough for bare-bones emulation at 480-P, which is what you're after. You don't need CRT Emudriver for that, though.

SuperMagoAlex

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:59:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi, I just installed latest CRT Emudriver and Groovymame on my pc (Win7, CPU AMD Athlon, GPU Ati Radeon R5 230) connected to a fantastic monitor Commodore 1084S.

The image quality is superb, but I have a few questions:

- I don't have installed super resolutions. I generated the modelines with the user_mode.ini file from WMMaker... I didn't understand what super resolutions can do  :-[

- verticals games (like 1941) are displayed with an interlaced resolution... is it right ?

- During the PC startup, bios splash screen and Win7 loading screen are out of frequency, is it possible to fix this?

Thanks in advance for reply  :)

DreyMIX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
  • Last login:February 20, 2021, 01:51:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hello,
I recently bought a mini-pc "Barebone AMD Mini-PC 500-AMD fx-8800 / 4gb / Radeon r7". I installed Windows 7 Professional x64 on it. The only drivers that I installed were those of the network card and the sound card.
I went to the calamity forum page and downloaded these at first:

- Download CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 15 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN* cards) for Windows 7/8/10 64-bits

               Desktop: AMD Radeon™ HD 7700-7900, HD 8500-8900 Series
                             AMD Radeon™ R7 200, R7 300, R9 200, R9 300, R9 Nano, R9 Fury Series
                     APU: AMD A-Series APUs with Radeon™ R4, R5, R6, or R7 Graphics   
                             AMD Pro A-Series APUs with Radeon™ R5 or R7 Graphics   
                             AMD Athlon™ Series APUs with Radeon™ R3 Graphics   
                             AMD Sempron™ Series APUs with Radeon™ R3 Graphics   
                             AMD A-Series APUs with Radeon™ R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, or R8 Graphics
                             AMD Pro A-Series APUs with Radeon™ R5, R6, or R7 Graphics
                             AMD FX-Series APUs with Radeon™ R7 Graphics
                             AMD E-Series APUs with Radeon™ R2 Graphics
                             AMD Radeon™ HD 8180 - HD 8400 Series Graphics
               Mobility: AMD Radeon™ R9 M300, R7 M300, R9 M200, R7 M200, R5 M200 Series           
                             AMD Radeon™ HD 7700M-7900M, HD 8500M-8900M Series

In red I have marked what my video card should be.

After installing the CRT Emudriver 2.0 drivers and restarting the PC several times, start VMMAKER (both as administrator and not). In the "Video card" tab in the output selection, the "Analogic_0" item does not appear, but as you see only the digital HDMI ones. My pc has an HDMI port and a VGA port. I first tried to attach a samsung CRT monitor to the VGA port and nothing. And then I also tried, after restarting the PC, to connect the video card via the HDMI port on an LCD monitor. But in the output selection, Digital_0 and Digital_4 always give me and Analogic_0 never shows me.



Then I tried to completely uninstall the CRT driver, through the setup, restart your PC and download the new version:
- Download CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 15 (Adrenalin 18.5.1 for GCN* cards) for Windows 7/8 64-bits

As you can see, always on the list, my video card seems to be supported.
I repeated exactly the same steps again and the same thing, the "Analogic_0" entry is not in the list.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks :)

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7076
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:45:16 pm
  • Quote me with care
Hi DreyMix,

Your APU probably sees the VGA connector as a digital output, internally, your MB is probably using a DAC for that. I'd try enabling EDID emulation over the Digital_4 output, and see if that sends video through the VGA connector.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

DreyMIX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
  • Last login:February 20, 2021, 01:51:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi Calamity,
Thanks for the reply. Could it be that I have these BIOS settings? I left them as default.


DreyMIX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
  • Last login:February 20, 2021, 01:51:46 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I tried to uninstall the new CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 15 drivers (Adrenalin 18.5.1 for GCN * cards) and reinstall the 16.2.1 again. After rebooting and checking that the drivers were installed correctly, I started the VMMAKER software again.

I tried to select the "Digital_4" output as you told me, while I already had the VGA cable attached to the samsung CRT monitor. So I closed the VMMAKER program and went to the desktop. With the right mouse button, I chose "Screen resolution", I selected the 2nd screen (640x480) and I said put it as main screen. So the samsung monitor went out of sync. I unplugged the samsung vga monitor cable and attached the Arcade Press VGA to Scart cable to the TV instead. I also attached the USB socket (for 5v) to a free socket on the PC. You see something, but the image is completely moved.

PS: I also tried to change the BIOS settings, putting the "Int Graphics (IGD)" item on "Primary Video Adapter". But nothing has changed, as regards the list of available outputs of EDID.

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 697
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:08:01 am
  • I want that recipe
Dunno if anyone already asked so; any plans for RDNA / RX 5000 series inclusion in the future ? thx
GravyMOM LCD user i5-4690k @3.9GHz, RX Vega 56, W7 64, crt_emudriver 2.0b15 18.5.1
PSA: general warning regarding internet communities where emulation is an important discussion topic: freedom of speech stops where criticism of MAME and its devs begins.

0zzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:October 11, 2020, 05:55:16 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi all, i have a BSOD when i try to install crt_emudriver_&_tools_2.0_beta_15_12.6_W.7.8.10-64 on my win10 machine.
I have disabled fastboot and AMD External Events Utility service, but i have a BSOD about atukmdag.sys

 i have a clean win10 installation (tried 1909 and 2004)

Thak you all


EDIT:
Ok i have solved, doing a new win10 installation, with network detached (no updating)
« Last Edit: August 31, 2020, 05:11:00 pm by 0zzy »

eoinzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:December 11, 2020, 05:06:16 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi,

I'm getting a lot of scrolling on my CRT.
See this video:


Specs:
OS: Windows 10
Graphics: Radeon R9 380X
CRT: Nanao MS9-29SU

I installed calamity drivers, ran VMMaker and I can get 640x480 resolution but can't get a stable image.
I then uninstalled calamity drivers, and ran catalyst uninstaller and rebooted.
I started the process again and ended up in the same situation.

I also tried on a 2nd identical CRT. I have 2 from a SEGA Naomi Universal cabinet (Model Nanao MS-29SU).
I've adjusted the pots on the CRT chassis and can't get a stable image, so figure it must be the PC config.

Im running Windows 10. Is it the case that if I downgraded to Windows 7, it would have a better chance of working?
Or is there something else I need to do?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2020, 05:42:42 pm by eoinzy »

Osirus23

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 833
  • Last login:February 20, 2021, 10:06:33 am
"crt_tools_2.0_beta_15.exe" is marked as having a virus from Google Drive and cannot be downloaded.

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
  • Last login:February 27, 2021, 09:11:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
"crt_tools_2.0_beta_15.exe" is marked as having a virus from Google Drive and cannot be downloaded.
I second this.

Jasper27

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:January 12, 2021, 09:40:42 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi,

I'm getting a lot of scrolling on my CRT.
See this video:


Specs:
OS: Windows 10
Graphics: Radeon R9 380X
CRT: Nanao MS9-29SU

I installed calamity drivers, ran VMMaker and I can get 640x480 resolution but can't get a stable image.
I then uninstalled calamity drivers, and ran catalyst uninstaller and rebooted.
I started the process again and ended up in the same situation.

I also tried on a 2nd identical CRT. I have 2 from a SEGA Naomi Universal cabinet (Model Nanao MS-29SU).
I've adjusted the pots on the CRT chassis and can't get a stable image, so figure it must be the PC config.

Im running Windows 10. Is it the case that if I downgraded to Windows 7, it would have a better chance of working?
Or is there something else I need to do?

Thanks.

look like horizontal hold issue to me.

RikkTheGaijin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:February 01, 2021, 12:29:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hello everyone, I registered to this forum just to ask for your help.
I am a complete noob, but I tried my best to follow the setup guide from Calamity on how to connect my PC to a CRT TV with CRT Emudriver.
But unfortunately I have ran into some issue. Instead of writing a long post, I decided to record a video to show my problem.
I apologize for the poor video quality.



Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:February 05, 2021, 05:49:11 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
Hi,

Quote
Around the 1st of January we'll be migrating once again. This time it's sure the Forum will be down for several days --probably weeks--, given that we'll likely need to update de DB's and change the software.

The GM guide was captured here in case it's needed:

https://archive.li/6bw9B


Some archived threads, from here:

https://archive.li/k0dYn


Again, any news in case we can't get this working again, we'll be posted here:

www.geedorah.com


http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1905#p1905

SORHP

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
  • Last login:February 25, 2021, 08:11:18 am
I checked the wayback machine, A T O M - 1 5   v 1 . 5   d o w n l o a d
is not available, can someone please post a link to download ATOM 15 v 1.5?
Games: Super Punch Out, Fix It Felix Jr, DK, DKjr, DK3, PC10, UMK3, TRON, MS-Pac, Pac, Centipede (2x), Robotron, Galaga, Space Invaders, Street Fighter 2 CE, X-Men vs SF, BuckHunter HD, 2X Custom Vewlix, Custom Nintendo VS 3/4, Atomiswave

alde

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:February 24, 2021, 02:15:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi all! I'new to this forum!
I found this forum looking for documentation on CRT emudriver as I just purchased a cabinet with a 25"crt tv equped with pandora and I want to get rid of it and install a PC.
I get redirected to calamity site for documentation and guides but its down.
If someone can point me to where to find documentation I will ne really grateful
Un saludo Calamity, que he leido en varios sitios que eres paisano!

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7076
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:45:16 pm
  • Quote me with care
Hi alde,

The guides can be found in the links posted by Recap, 2 messages above.

You can download the drivers here.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

alde

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:February 24, 2021, 02:15:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi Calamity, I tried thatd link several times and its down. Anither user in a spanish forum told me its down for him too so its not a problem on my side to connect.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7076
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:45:16 pm
  • Quote me with care
@alde, please check this:

Some archived threads, from here:

https://archive.li/k0dYn
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

alde

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:February 24, 2021, 02:15:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Thank you, that link worked for me.

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3478
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:01 pm
  • North East, US
Is there another option for download of CRT Emudriver?
eiusdemmodi seems to still be down.
I've tried the mirrors including the archived thread just above.
Thanks

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7076
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:45:16 pm
  • Quote me with care
Hi alde,

The guides can be found in the links posted by Recap, 2 messages above.

You can download the drivers here.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

mgb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3478
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:01 pm
  • North East, US
Actually, I found the Google Drive link. should be good now

punkysuen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:04:49 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Demul fullscreen resolution
« Reply #314 on: January 20, 2021, 09:28:16 pm »
When the desktop set to 480i, would it be possible to switch to 240p by entering fullscreen mode in Demul?
Model 2 emulator and Supermodel 3 can do so, but I cannot figure it out on Demul.

Any idea?

Ep1c

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:January 27, 2021, 02:50:21 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Does the emudriver & tools executable file include step by step guide on how to properly install it?

I know I need to download the proper version according to my GPU, but is there any guide on how to install it or is it all included in the executable file itself?

I just bought myself a GPU and would like to prepare myself for the installation while I wait :)

Of note: For the time being I am only interested in crt_emudriver, no emulator nor Atom15. Only crt_emudriver.

Thanks :)

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:February 05, 2021, 05:49:11 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
Eiusdemmodi's back again. Please, mail me:

postbackweb --at-- yahoo --dot-- com

...with any problem. Supposedly, old passwords should work.


Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7076
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:45:16 pm
  • Quote me with care
Recapnation, thanks for bringing Eiusdemmodi back!
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:February 05, 2021, 05:49:11 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
My pleasure, tete. (Well, Marshall's pleasure once again, I'm sure.)