Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Can I use IDE drive in D945GCLF2  (Read 1413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

STL_Tom

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:March 28, 2014, 09:03:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Can I use IDE drive in D945GCLF2
« on: January 22, 2014, 07:29:29 am »
I have been getting intermittent NO VIDEO errors on my Purple ECS board of death.  The ION is running 2013 software on an IDE flashdrive with a 3.5" to 2.5" IDE adapter.

I have a new Intel D945GCLF2 board coming to upgrade the machine and get rid of the ECS board.

My question is:
Can I use my IDE drive in the Intel board or do I have to get a new SATA hard drive to make this work?

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
  • Last login:Today at 01:19:56 am
Re: Can I use IDE drive in D945GCLF2
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 11:48:33 am »
IDE works fine. There is only one IDE connector so its best to use a sata dvd drive to install the software. I believe the software is funny about the sata port you use if using a IDE hard drive. Pretty sure you must use sata 1 instead of sata 0 for the dvd drive.

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 644
  • Last login:June 01, 2019, 04:53:37 pm
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: Can I use IDE drive in D945GCLF2
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2014, 11:52:14 am »
Yes this board has one IDE connection....

When you get it you will have to start the board by shorting the red on/off pins on the front panel header then change the CMOS power management setting to always on after power loss.

Here is a link to the User Manual....         

http://downloadmirror.intel.com/16960/eng/D945GCLF2_ProductGuide02_English.pdf