Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Ledwiz Wiring  (Read 2856 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Ledwiz Wiring
« on: January 07, 2014, 10:40:36 pm »
I am seeking clarification on my addition of a Ledwiz to my cabinet for the sole purpose of lighting my controls.  I presently have all of my controls wired to an iPac.  I have connected my resistor to the short end of the LED (I am using standard coloured LED lights and not RGB lights).  I have then run the wire, which is connected to the resistor, to Ledwiz terminal number 1.  I have the soldered a wire to the long lead on the LED and have it daisy chained back to the 5vdc output on the Ledwiz.  Is this correct?  Additionally, can I attach LED lights to all ports numbered 1 through to 36?  My cabinet is a two player setup with 7 buttons per player as well as two buttons for my spinner and trackball, respectively.  There is also player 1 and player 2 coin and start buttons.  Therefore I have a total of 22 LED lights for each button to wire up.
How do most of you have your cabinets wired for LEDs?
Your assistance is always appreciated.

John
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.

Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 08:19:02 am »
Here is a diagram of how I believe it should be wired up.  See attached diagram.
Thanks.
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6517
  • Last login:Today at 01:25:17 pm
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2014, 03:29:47 am »
The diagram looks fine.  Daisy-chaining the power is ok, as long as you use a gauge of wire which is capable of handling the entire load of the circuit.  This method will also have the minor possible drawback that if the line is broken at some point in the chain, all leds past that point will no longer work until it's repaired.  This will only happen in the event of a physical break in the circuit, not if an LED simply burns out.  Another option is to set up a junction point for the +5v lines, with which this won't occur.

To gauge the fuse size required, you simply add up all of the components under the maximum load (i.e. 20ma x the number of LEDs) and add some percentage to allow for some headroom so as not to blow the fuse when there is no issue.  Usually 20% is fine, but that's for you to decide.  As you indicated, you only need the one on the +V line, unless you are connecting high current devices, at which point it may be prudent to protect those circuits individually.

Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2014, 07:04:48 am »
The diagram looks fine.  Daisy-chaining the power is ok, as long as you use a gauge of wire which is capable of handling the entire load of the circuit.  This method will also have the minor possible drawback that if the line is broken at some point in the chain, all leds past that point will no longer work until it's repaired.  This will only happen in the event of a physical break in the circuit, not if an LED simply burns out.  Another option is to set up a junction point for the +5v lines, with which this won't occur.

To gauge the fuse size required, you simply add up all of the components under the maximum load (i.e. 20ma x the number of LEDs) and add some percentage to allow for some headroom so as not to blow the fuse when there is no issue.  Usually 20% is fine, but that's for you to decide.  As you indicated, you only need the one on the +V line, unless you are connecting high current devices, at which point it may be prudent to protect those circuits individually.

Thanks Randy.  I would like to update my diagram with all of the correct information and want to clarify the following. 

If I have 22 LED lights that are 20 ma each, that equals 440 ma plus 20% overhead would give me an answer of 528 ma fuse. 

How does one determine what size wire to use in this application (daisy chain)?  I have .22 ga wire.  Should I use .16 ga wire?

What size of resistor do you provide with each of the LED lights (3.3 to 3.5 vdc for the 5 vdc application?

Can the photo included in my diagram f the LEDWiz be used for the Wiki after it has been completed?

I will be updating the attached diagram and will include an alternate diagram to cover what you mentioned about feeding each LED with it's own 5 vdc power cable.  I initially was looking at the wiring diagram from your LEDWiz packaging and thought the 5 vdc wire ran from the 5 vdc output on the LEDWiz to each LED light.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to providing you with further business to support my William Widebody Pinball build after this control panel is completed.

John  :cheers:
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.

Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2014, 09:43:01 am »
Okay.  I have put together two diagrams for wiring of the LEDWiz.  Please correct me if I am wrong.

Option 1 is for the wiring of LED's where the total amperage does not exceed 500 ma?  Do I still need to hook up a ground cable to the ground outlet on the LEDWiz, or is the USB ground used in this case?

Option 2 is used when the LED total amperage exceeds 500 ma?
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 09:09:20 am by Bambam1963 »
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.

Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2014, 10:01:48 am »
Here is an optional wiring diagram:

« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 09:07:51 am by Bambam1963 »
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.

SgtSlaughter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • Last login:March 02, 2021, 10:38:50 am
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2014, 10:09:37 am »
I'm no expert, but te only thing I see missing in your option 2 diagram is connecting the Ground from the PC Molex into the ground port on the LEDWiz.


PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8962
  • Last login:Today at 01:21:33 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2014, 05:07:24 pm »
Here's #3 with the ground added, the USB cable picture removed, and several other minor tweaks.


Scott
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 05:09:00 pm by PL1 »

Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2014, 11:16:53 pm »
I'm no expert, but te only thing I see missing in your option 2 diagram is connecting the Ground from the PC Molex into the ground port on the LEDWiz.
You are correct Sir. :)
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 09:03:08 am by Bambam1963 »
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.

Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2014, 11:19:51 pm »
Here's #3 with the ground added, the USB cable picture removed, and several other minor tweaks.


Scott

You are the man. Thanks for the correction.  Last question. Can I wire as many LED's as there are ports on the LEDWiz?  For example 32 standard LED's.

I am leaning towards Option 1 as it will eliminate a lot or wires from the mix.  My total amperage is 440 ma and the LEDWiz supports up to 500 ma.  All of the lights will not be on at the same time so I think I am safe.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 09:06:34 am by Bambam1963 »
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.

SgtSlaughter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • Last login:March 02, 2021, 10:38:50 am
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2014, 12:10:16 pm »
Option 1 is fine for your case.  Just make sure your using a powered USB source (don't use a non-powered USB hub - directly to the PC should be fine, unless it is a laptop as some ports aren't always powered).  You can definetly use all 32 outputs, although not if your using option 1, as you'd be using too much power for the USB.  You can also hook up multiple leds to each output (although someone would have to verify what the maximum is) - which in your case is not needed.


Bambam1963

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Last login:February 14, 2022, 04:22:22 pm
  • I love this stuff man!-
Re: Ledwiz Wiring
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2014, 10:04:53 pm »
Thanks Sgt Slaughter.  That was the kind of answer I was seeking.  I will daisy chain the 5vdc directly to the power supply. I figured a 500 ma fuse should be okay for 22 standard LED's. I found 500 ma fuses today, but could not find a fuse holder that could accommodate them. I read else where that a 1 amp fuse would suffice?? Thanks again for everyone's input.  I am finishing up the wiring and then will be taking it on it's maiden voyage. :-)
« Last Edit: January 13, 2014, 06:40:29 am by Bambam1963 »
I am an oldie, who used to troll here years ago.  Now I am back to tweak my machine and help a friend build his.