Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Bally loses its memory  (Read 1610 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Bally loses its memory
« on: January 03, 2014, 01:36:47 am »
Hi and thanks for letting me join what seems a great forum, im 8/10ths way through restoring a well used 1984 Bally kings of steel, 4 player pinball, I had it serviced and re-rubbered, bulbed, etc and it played fine, all the features worked but the replay level had been set too low, I set it to the recommended levels and all was fine for a while, then I noticed I wasn't getting replays for the set levels, and I also don't get replays for hitting a lit special, or an extra ball when it was lit and hit, I have done the procedure for setting replays a few times and it just doesn't register in the memory, I don't think its a battery problem as I think this has been replaced with a capacitor, im a real novice, vintage one armed machines is my thing but I also love pinball, I would really appreciate any help and advice, cheers, Alan.
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 643
  • Last login:May 17, 2018, 02:57:42 pm
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2014, 08:46:40 am »
With the the game off... do you have at least +4VDC at pin 22 of U8 on the MPU board?

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2014, 09:04:22 am »
I will check and report back, work in 3 hours so it will be Saturday, thanks, Alan.
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8296
  • Last login:Today at 01:42:49 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2014, 09:37:22 am »
I haven't heard good things about memory caps, I guess they can discharge a lot quicker than advertised.  Who knows... I had a Comet that used to gobble AAs about every 3 months.  It was a slight nuisance but not worth tearing up an MPU attempting to fix.  You may be in a similar situation.



 
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2014, 10:06:31 am »
Im learning more with each reply,, I will send an email to the guy who serviced it for me and ask if it could be the memory cap, im still new to this stuff, Im more at home stripping a 60s-70s fruit machine and rebuilding it, thanks for your advice, Alan.
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2014, 09:48:24 pm »
Hi everyone, I think ive sorted the problem, it seems that when messing with the self test button I had turned the replay and extra ball award off, (settings self test 17 & 18) I re-set them to the guide in the manual and apart from a few "random" extra balls, it seems to have worked, I have left the machine switched on for 7 or 8 hours to top up capacitor and I hope that's that, thanks, Alan. P.s. has anyone got or know where to get, a 7 digit numeric display or is it feasible to try get a "dead" one repaired ?
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 643
  • Last login:May 17, 2018, 02:57:42 pm
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2014, 07:54:15 am »
Did you try and re-solder the pins of the display?

Here's a new one....

http://www.pinballlife.com/index.php?p=product&id=538

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8296
  • Last login:Today at 01:42:49 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2014, 10:16:54 am »
7 digits are unfortunately fairly expensive to replace, even if you go used.

If you're spending new money, put in an LED:

http://www.marcospecialties.com/pinball-parts/PS-2518-58
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2014, 03:54:48 pm »
I took the advice from the guy who serviced it, Andy at Pinball Mania, he checked it out and advised a new unit, checked on ebay and theyre about 70 each inc p&p so I might take it out and check with my local electronics shop and see if theres anything he can do with it, thanks, note, I DO have a soldering iron and solder, im just not confident about having a go,  :-\
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8296
  • Last login:Today at 01:42:49 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2014, 03:57:48 pm »
If the nipple on the back of the glass is broken, or there's a crack in the glass, you're not going to be able to do anything besides replace that glass.

Move the dead display to the player 4 spot and get on with life.

 :cheers:
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2014, 04:04:59 pm »
Thanks for the links to get new units, ive saved them and will email them to see if they will post to the uk,,,,, yes, its already in player 4 position but I want to sell it in A1 condition to get a much loved "space invaders" pinball, missed out on one a few months ago but I will keep looking, Thanks all,
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

spoot

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 688
  • Last login:June 15, 2015, 10:36:18 am
  • Destroyer of electronics
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2014, 04:10:54 pm »
If the score display isn't working right....what are you risking if you mess up with the soldering iron?  Reflowing the solder on the bottom pins isn't too bad.

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2014, 04:55:01 pm »
I will give it a go soon, having supper then a major room reshuffle, struggling to fit pinball and 3 vintage bandits in the spare room + tools etc its only 10ft by 8ft,
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8296
  • Last login:Today at 01:42:49 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2014, 05:06:44 pm »
Ask fifty... er... pounds more than what you actually want for it, then offer to knock off 50 when the buyer gripes about the dead display.

 No sense in spending money on something that's on its way out the door.

This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2014, 04:17:33 pm »
 was tryin to work on the machine, girlfriend started playin it,,,,,,,,,,, topless  :o shes mad and addicted, lol
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8296
  • Last login:Today at 01:42:49 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2014, 04:30:12 pm »
no pics, no girlfriend
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

alan49pear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:January 31, 2014, 02:21:30 pm
  • I want to be dr frankenstein of pinball.
Re: Bally loses its memory
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2014, 04:53:59 pm »
I daren't put pic, I will ask her to put her top or bra on and take another,,,, she got 2 replays,, jammy ---smurfette---.
"its not dead,,,,,, its just sleeping"