Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: GBS-8100 Power options  (Read 3807 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
GBS-8100 Power options
« on: December 28, 2013, 08:32:24 pm »
Just got my GBS-8100 in the mail today and I am JUICED to get it in line but I see its going to need a 5V 1A power supply.  Its going in a HyperSpin cabinet, can I use the 5V power from the PC's power supply?  Or should I try to find a wall-wart with the proper voltage?

 

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2013, 09:34:25 pm »
+5v from a PC power supply will work fine. I've ran my GBSboard that way in the past and had o issues.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2013, 02:17:19 pm »
+5v from a PC power supply will work fine. I've ran my GBSboard that way in the past and had o issues.

Thanks I can +1 this now.


now my next question, is there any way to SAVE the adjustments I make in the OSD when the device loses power - kind of a pain to have to recalibrate every time I turn the PC on.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2013, 03:13:46 pm »
bimm25e
i am picking a few of the up
i think we can add a bat for backup
just need to wait to get the spec paperwork
like u have now..maybe u could copy it
and post it or send it to me ?
and i can tell u better before hand,as mine are 10 days away

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2013, 03:28:56 pm »
Unfortunately, the only information I have on the unit is from this only moderately informative PDF


http://www.digitalsystemsdesign.co.uk/product_uploads/13153855771.pdf


I've got it installed now and really don't want to mess with it but I'm VERY interested in your battery idea for saving the settings.







ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2013, 03:55:35 pm »
from what i have read it goes >the settings< to flash/sd ram
so they should auto save
olny way to find out is to run it,do the menu thing
save,remove power..wait about 3 mins
power back up and see if it saved them..if so no need for a bat
if not then we will need to find where to tag 1
as i stated mine will not be here for 10 days yet

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2013, 05:05:41 pm »
My on screen display has very very limited options


H size
v size
brightness
contrast
hue
saturation
sharpness
"menu background" (which puts black bars behind the menu options - very dumb feature)
and the last one is something like "twitch" or "jitter" can't remember what it was


definitely no "save" option

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2013, 09:09:35 pm »
well an easy test is to set the horz freq and vert freq lower by a tad lets say 4#'s
write them down so u can rember them
then once u exit
power unit down
and wait 3 mins
then plug it back in and see if the values still match ?
if they do then u know it is auto saving,if not then it means u will need to tag a bat in

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2013, 09:44:02 pm »
ok i was reading over at hackaday
they used this same board..btw it is what turned me onto it
here is some of it
>The only way would be to use video downscaling. This part was hard to solve. We knew we had to downscale our 31Khz VGA signals to 15Khz RGB lines and this is no easy task, it requires powerful video algorithms and heavy processing using dedicated chips. Professional equipments to do this job usually cost hundreds of Euros (or more).

So we though we’d go through the old underground forums and dedicated pages for arcade parts in the hunt for a solution. And we found it.

Our pick is the GBS 8100. This beautiful piece of hardware takes VGA input at 31Khz, downscales the video and is able to output it at 15Khz over RGBS pins (which can be connected directly to the arcade CRT board, cable included), VGA db9, RCA composite video or S-Video. Furthermore it has an OSD menu system and you can calibrate brightness, contrast, video offsets and other details. Requires 5V to operate. And it costs approximately $30.

<

>link
http://hackaday.com/2012/12/17/using-arcade-monitors-with-the-raspberry-pi/
<
come down to the part about using a rasberry pi..follow the gbs-8100 link

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2013, 08:59:47 am »
Yeah I saw that article but there wasn't too much info there worth reading IMO.

My problem is a little unique in that I have the GBS-8100 in a switching cabinet... so I need to adjust the device to match the other source (a NAOMI) in my cabinet. 

The guys who made the raspberry pi arcade had the luxury of adjusting their chassis to the board's defaults they probably don't have to fiddle with the board's defaults at all.

I can get the board matched to the NAOMI but when I cut power, even for a split second, I lose my settings in the device. 


For the time being I'm going to just leave the PC/GBS-8100 powered on constantly.  I don't like it but that's the plan for now.


IF you end up with a battery-save solution PLEASE post on the forum.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2013, 10:32:03 am »
thk-u for testing
now we know we need a bat in  there
as soon as i get my boards in
that will be the first thing i look at
and will def. post for u

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bimm25e

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2013, 01:45:43 pm »
Haha no rush Ed

Thanks for all the help though! you da man

Aurelien

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #12 on: June 21, 2018, 03:07:41 pm »
Hi, not sure you are still interested, but I am working on a backup solution for that GBS8100 card.
It is a simple card that is connected to the 8100, listens to key presses and stores the configuration in EEPROM.
On system restart, it simulates key presses on the 8100 and reapplies your changes.
It works perfectly today and I am working on a more compact proofboard version before I integrate it to my cab.
I can / will post more details if anyone is interested.

Aurélien

Aurelien

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2018, 01:50:12 pm »
Here is a demo of the system initializing configuration  on startup. The GBS 8100 and the card share the power source.

https://youtu.be/wcV1byq4-Yk

Q3

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #14 on: June 24, 2018, 03:12:07 pm »
Hi,
I'm interested. Please provide more details. Thanks in advance.
Wojtek

Aurelien

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GBS-8100 Power options
« Reply #15 on: October 14, 2018, 09:29:59 am »
Hi, I am really sorry for the late reply. I saw your message 2 weekd ago (I thought I would be notified, but I haven't been).
It took me these two weeks to create an account on GitHub and publish the source code ;-)
Here it is:
The code is here: https://github.com/Aurelien34/GBS8100Save/
The board schema is here: https://easyeda.com/Bouz/GBS-8100-save
« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 04:02:13 pm by Aurelien »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31