Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems  (Read 2394 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bazza106

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« on: October 27, 2013, 01:52:44 pm »
Hi there,
I got hold of a full work machine for 40 about 2 months ago, all was working great until I got this screen one day when I turned it on



I read on here that its the COMS battery, but could I find it, not for love or money.
I saw that I could bypass this screen with a keyboard so a few weeks later I turned it on and the screen was blank, so I checked all the connections, and when turning it off the screen flashes like it did when full working.















I do have a video of the machine but don't know how to upload here.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 02:01:32 pm »
hi unplug machine
remove the header board >1 with the button key on it<
under that board u will find the cmos battery
replace it
replace i/o header board
plug in keyboard
plug in machine
turn machine on
hit esc or f1? or del. to get to putter board cmos setup
set time and date
save
then exit cmos,let game boot all the way up
un-plug key board
enjoy playing

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bazza106

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2013, 02:08:36 pm »
thanks for the quick reply ed, I did take the top board off and look for the battery but could not see it, ill post a pic of it very soon.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2013, 02:59:12 pm »
it should be a button battery

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bazza106

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2013, 03:27:00 pm »


I dont see the battery anywhere.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6135
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2013, 03:58:41 pm »
that board has a "timekeeper chip" that has an integrated battery. there is no way to replace the battery except to replace the chip. it's the chip just up from the big square intel chip.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2013, 04:22:07 pm »
ya thats a dallas chip :time-keeper:
i do wonder as it is olny for cmos u can get a fresh 1 slap it on do the cmos settings as per the manual.. :dunno
never rember trying it

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bazza106

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2013, 04:41:59 pm »
Thanks for the reply guys, as I'd have no idea how to do
This would I b able to get another board?
Also is that the reason I'm getting nothing on the screen now?

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2013, 11:47:07 pm »
i think the chip is olny about 8.00 usd
and as it is used olny for mother board crap
i do not think it tends to hold stuff like the i-key does >game id/type<
if that is the board i am thinking of..>vist our mega touch thread<
there is pdf's..they used 2 types of mobo's
telco and i do forget the other
but in any account i have never seen 1 up even on fleabay

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

bazza106

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2013, 03:24:44 pm »
Id never get my head round on how to do it, as I only paid 40 im thinking of what else I can do with the machine. ie convert it to a jukebox or any other type of gaming machine. Any ideas?
or is there a section for that?
thanks

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6135
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Ruby Maxx Megatouch problems
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2013, 06:50:30 pm »
Id never get my head round on how to do it

not too hard.

1) buy new timekeeper chip
2) remove old timekeeper chip
3) install new timekeeper chip
4) power on
5) play games

i don't recall but, the timekeeper may already be in a socket so it would just be a matter of prying out the old chip and popping in a new one. if not, you would have to unsolder the old chip which could be a pain in the butt.

take a peek and see if you can tell if that chip is in a socket or not. could be easy peasy.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31