Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Thoughts on this button layout for my first small 4-player cocktail?  (Read 1709 times)

JeebsFat

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:December 01, 2014, 08:33:54 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
This is my first attempt on a Mame Machine, so go easy on me. Hopefully, I'm in the right sub forum, too!  ;)

So, what do you guys think?

Yellow is the coin button, whites are 1 and 2 player buttons, and blue is shift. This thing will be on the smaller side with only a 15in monitor. (This is a super cheap, use want I have around kind of build) This button layout fully fills an i-pac 2 (32 slots).

For the controls, I quickly realized that the more I thought about it, the more I wanted. It is a slippery slope, indeed! I wanted 2 player across each other for vertical cocktail flipping and also wanted two player side by side for horizontal beat-em-up's. I should be able to do some twin stick shooters with this too. Maybe some two player twin stick shooters, but it might be a bit awkward. I went with 3 buttons per joystick as per metal slug and asteroids and keeping it simple.

I am considering putting the screen on a hinge for playing horizontal games more comfortably. This would give easy access to the guts too.

Anyway! :blah:

Just wanted to see what you guys thought before it's too late! ;D

Dekieon

• Offline Offline