Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Having fun with force and ion  (Read 2515 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Having fun with force and ion
« on: July 11, 2013, 03:29:07 pm »
Since force is EOL and im pretty sure ion will be EOL by the end of 2013 I thought we could have some Academic fun with our systems. I'll start things off with a pic. :cheers:


lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6138
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2013, 12:11:23 am »
i wouldn't mind injecting some new drivers into the software so I can use a new board.  ;D

But i know nothings of the linux OS  :embarassed:

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2013, 11:54:07 am »
i wouldn't mind injecting some new drivers into the software so I can use a new board.  ;D

But i know nothings of the linux OS  :embarassed:

That would depend on what year and version software your using. Also, some boards have drivers already there, but are blacklisted not to load.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6138
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2013, 11:57:43 am »
That would depend on what year and version software your using. Also, some boards have drivers already there, but are blacklisted not to load.

thats wierd. why would they put drivers for a board there, but then blacklist them?

unless a particular driver they used covers a whole mess of boards.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2013, 12:32:48 pm »
That would depend on what year and version software your using. Also, some boards have drivers already there, but are blacklisted not to load.

thats wierd. why would they put drivers for a board there, but then blacklist them?

unless a particular driver they used covers a whole mess of boards.

That, and ion uses Centos 5.2 which has support for many boards.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6138
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2013, 01:00:38 pm »
okay, i'm a total linux noob, but I learn fast...

Ion uses the LILO boot loader. this is what loads the access for the disk system that the OS (Centros) uses? This would be the equivalent to NTLDR yes?

and Centros is just a distribution of the Linux kernel. (your dos or windows OS)

I really should set up a computer so i can play around.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2013, 01:03:08 pm »
it's not called >black-listed</banned/refused
simple is the o/s dose not require them
so there :kernel's: are not loaded
u can fource them in
they will go

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2013, 01:05:56 pm »
rember 1 thing
linux is kernel dervin...not h-k
ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2013, 02:32:46 pm »
okay, i'm a total linux noob, but I learn fast...

Ion uses the LILO boot loader. this is what loads the access for the disk system that the OS (Centros) uses? This would be the equivalent to NTLDR yes?

and Centros is just a distribution of the Linux kernel. (your dos or windows OS)

I really should set up a computer so i can play around.

Ion uses GRUB boot loader.
Heres some more fun.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2013, 01:01:38 am »
here this may or may not help u?
take a look lilshawn
this a boot .ini from my main box
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\wubildr.mbr="Ubuntu"<<<< linux

that is the master boot
so u can see i can boot down to root
where i as a rule i run xp
now all u do in  root
is :plug-in: your cmd
where root is defined c:\>>ubuntu
once there u can as :admim: plug in a kernel < cmd as to what to do

now let me make this very clear to u
as i run dual os's
i must shut down to start
ie colse window's out and restart
but from there i pick the os

now with merit u can in linuix copy the complete hard-drive
and tear it apart in winblow's

it come's up as a .bin
and u convert

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2013, 02:01:38 am »
You dont need to image the entire hard drive to view the contents. You just need to install an ftp server on the host system and connect to the ftp via flashfxp or any other ftp client for windows. Heres is some more fun. ;D

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 643
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2013, 08:39:52 am »
I know I am completely stupid and computer code escapes me but I am just not getting the 'fun' of this thread.

What exactly are we trying to do here...run ION software on a different motherboard?

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2013, 10:00:25 am »
I know I am completely stupid and computer code escapes me but I am just not getting the 'fun' of this thread.

What exactly are we trying to do here...run ION software on a different motherboard?

These are command lines, not exactly what you consider "computer code". Its completely understandable that not many would not find this fun. This is just a way to take control over the system. You would have access to all the contents for you to "peek" at. This isnt going to allow you to use a different motherboard, but is a starting point if you wanted to. The next logical step would be installing a different motherboard you want to use and at the bash shell terminal type: lspci  ,this will give you a list of all the pci device id's on that motherboard.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6138
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2013, 10:47:21 am »
The next logical step would be installing a different motherboard you want to use and at the bash shell terminal type: lspci  ,this will give you a list of all the pci device id's on that motherboard.

So once you have the device id's of the system board, one could simply swap out/add the appropriate drivers needed for that board and modify the bootloaderconfigfile (dunno what it's name would be) and have the new board supported by the software. Yes?

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2013, 02:41:02 pm »
The next logical step would be installing a different motherboard you want to use and at the bash shell terminal type: lspci  ,this will give you a list of all the pci device id's on that motherboard.

So once you have the device id's of the system board, one could simply swap out/add the appropriate drivers needed for that board and modify the bootloaderconfigfile (dunno what it's name would be) and have the new board supported by the software. Yes?

Sort of. This works for Ion. Force is a bit different. With Ion, you would run lspci to get the id's, then you would edit the config file that contains the whitelisted id's and replace them with the id's you got from running lspci. That will just get you past the invalid motherboard nag screen. You still need to add the correct drivers for the new motherboards pci devices. That can be done easily on Ion using yum.

arcadezz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2013, 02:15:23 pm »
This is interesting..... what is the force Linux version running? Also what is the yum equivalent for the force version? Cheers.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: Having fun with force and ion
« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2013, 04:26:03 pm »
This is interesting..... what is the force Linux version running? Also what is the yum equivalent for the force version? Cheers.

force runs a custom version of linux 2.6 , I havent played around with my force system in awhile though. I believe it did have up2date as the yum equivalent. You would not need to worry about using it though since force has bftpd already built in and you can transfer files and packages that way.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31