Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: namco (pacman, galaga) 288x224 mode problem  (Read 2085 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

trick72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:March 08, 2019, 03:21:51 pm
namco (pacman, galaga) 288x224 mode problem
« on: June 25, 2013, 02:25:29 pm »
Hi,
First of all, a big thank you to Calamity for Groovymame. It's so great and I really appreciate the hard work that obviously goes into the project.

I have a 15khz arcade monitor, in vertical position in my cab and using windows xp with latest groovymame.

In this vertical position, all the games appear correctly centered and look great. Only the namco games (all pacman games, mappy, peno, galaga) that uses a native resolution of 288x224 @ 60.60606 are not correct. For this, Groovymame selects for me the mode 320x224 @ 60.60606 which gives a rather big border at the bottom of the (vertical orientated) screen.

However, the "namco classic collection" which runs at 288x224 @ 60 display fine. So amongst my modelines, I do have a 288x224@60 but I don't have a 288x224@60.60606 although I'm almost 100% sure my arcade monitor CAN display that resolution as well. So my question; can I manually "add" that 288x224@60.60606 resolution somehow? or else, can I force Groovymame to use 288x224@60 modeline for all these namco games instead of the 320x224 that groovymame seems to choose automatically?

Many thanks for any help. As I said, apart from the it looks GREAT and i'm VERY happy with it. Keep up the good work.
Patrick

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6552
  • Last login:May 17, 2019, 11:19:04 am
Re: namco (pacman, galaga) 288x224 mode problem
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 02:49:51 pm »
Hi trick72,

Please post a log of a game that shows the issue:

groovymame romname -v >romname.txt

That's the only way to diagnose the problem.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

trick72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:March 08, 2019, 03:21:51 pm
Re: namco (pacman, galaga) 288x224 mode problem
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 03:01:04 pm »
Hi,
Thanks for the quick reply. Attached the pacman.txt file as an example run of the pacman rom.

Regards,
Patrick

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6552
  • Last login:May 17, 2019, 11:19:04 am
Re: namco (pacman, galaga) 288x224 mode problem
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 04:48:45 pm »
Hi trick72,

You have found a very subtle flaw in the modeline scoring system. I think I'll need to readjust things a little bit so this doesn't happen in next versions. By now, I *think* you can solve this problem by modifying the monitor presets just a bit:

monitor custom
crt_range0 15700-16670,49.50-65.00,2.000,4.700,8.000,0.064,0.160,1.056,0,0,192,288,448,576

Doing this should force GM to pick the 288x240@60.6060 automatically. If it still doesn't, try increasing the remarked value a little.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

trick72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:March 08, 2019, 03:21:51 pm
Re: namco (pacman, galaga) 288x224 mode problem
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2013, 12:39:33 pm »
Hi Calamity,

This indeed solved the issue for me. Wow, these games are now running at their native resolution perfectly.
You are amazing!

Many thanks for your help
Patrick

sega_mad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 284
  • Last login:July 09, 2015, 04:03:08 am
Re: namco (pacman, galaga) 288x224 mode problem
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2013, 08:47:07 pm »
Hi Calamity,

Firstly, thanks also for all your hard work on this.

I too suffer the same issue as the original poster, while the size does not bother me, my biggest complaint is distortion in the maze (of all the Pacman series). The only way I can describe this is..... in a vertiucal line below the flashing score, it distortes the maze a little. The distortion is in time with the blinking/flashing of the score.

Groovymame also selects  320x224 automatically?

I've tried everything I can think of...even Soft15 Khz, but nothing fixes it  :angry:

I've set up VNmaker and edited the Mame and ini settings, and that worked correctly.

Running catlyst 6.5 and a Radeon 9600 (AGP)

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance