Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??  (Read 4674 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Last login:May 24, 2019, 12:32:07 pm
  • Yep... I built that!!
Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« on: May 22, 2013, 10:10:33 am »
I have been trying to play raiden 3 and 4 on my vertical cab. When I start the game it rotates the monitor. How do I keep it from doing that??
         

brad808

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 818
  • Last login:Today at 01:43:09 am
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 01:45:06 pm »
Are you trying to use one of those little front ends? I had the same problem. Don't use any of the scripts because most of them will auto rotate it and for vertical monitors it isn't necessary. I'll try in the next day or two to get the launcher that I'm using uploaded somewhere like Dropbox.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2


Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Last login:May 24, 2019, 12:32:07 pm
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2013, 02:11:18 pm »
Are you trying to use one of those little front ends? I had the same problem. Don't use any of the scripts because most of them will auto rotate it and for vertical monitors it isn't necessary. I'll try in the next day or two to get the launcher that I'm using uploaded somewhere like Dropbox.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Yes I was. Thanks for the help Brad :D

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

brad808

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 818
  • Last login:Today at 01:43:09 am
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2013, 05:20:15 pm »
Everything but the rom files are in there.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1440817/Raiden%204.rar

Actually I should note too that the game does rotate... What I was getting at before was on a vertical monitor using the frontend it would play basically a horizontal game with black bars on each side and force it landscape.

Using whats in that rar file, put your desktop in landscape, load up the game and it'll look proper on the vertical monitor by loading up the game portrait automatically.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2013, 05:24:38 pm by brad808 »

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Last login:May 24, 2019, 12:32:07 pm
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2013, 05:44:39 pm »
Hmm how do I that running the game threw a fe?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

brad808

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 818
  • Last login:Today at 01:43:09 am
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2013, 05:48:28 pm »
can't help you with that unfortunately. I run all the taito type x games out of any front end. If I had to take a guess it would be something along the lines of ahk script that rotates the orientation, then points to the launcher, at escape rotates back orientation, then exits back to fe. Instead of having the fe load the game directly it would point to the ahk.  :dunno

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8516
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:49:15 pm
  • ...
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2013, 10:45:57 am »
Hmm how do I that running the game threw a fe?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

What front end?

With Mala, I had no problems with Raiden III.  Just pointed Mala at the launch batch file like it was a PC game.

Raiden IV would crash if anything else was running, including a front end.
So I made a script to kill Mala, launch the game, then when ESC is pressed it kills the game, resets the screen resolution and restarts Mala.
Mala saves your place on exit.  Since the process is being killed abruptly, when it relaunches it will be in the last place in the list when shut down properly, not on Raiden IV.  This can be fixed using the iniwrite command, but I haven't gotten around to that part yet.

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,123426.msg1311060.html#msg1311060


To make matters worse, there are multiple versions of this game floating around that have been hacked in different ways.

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Last login:May 24, 2019, 12:32:07 pm
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2013, 10:58:56 am »
Hyperspin, do I make a bat file like I did for supermodel?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8516
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:49:15 pm
  • ...
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2013, 11:09:34 am »
Hyperspin, do I make a bat file like I did for supermodel?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

I can't help you with Hyperspin.  Maybe someone else can.

These games have been floating around for a while.  There has to be a tutorial on the Hyperspin boards.

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Last login:May 24, 2019, 12:32:07 pm
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2013, 11:11:14 am »
I have it running in hyperspin, just need to figure out how to stop it from rotating.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8516
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:49:15 pm
  • ...
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2013, 11:18:10 am »
I have it running in hyperspin, just need to figure out how to stop it from rotating.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

Well, what file is hyperspin pointing at to launch it?

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Last login:May 24, 2019, 12:32:07 pm
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2013, 11:46:25 am »
.ink, a shortcut

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8516
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:49:15 pm
  • ...
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2013, 12:02:21 pm »
.ink, a shortcut

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

....and that points to?

champrt78

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:March 21, 2019, 10:43:37 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Running taito type x/x2 games on a vertical monitor??
« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2019, 04:06:51 pm »
Sorry I know this is an old topic, but Brian74 did you ever solve this , I have the same issue. I was able to kinda fix it by haveing a batch file rotate back after the game was loaded , but it ony worked for RAidenIV not Raiden III