Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge: Winner - TacticalChaos  (Read 2278 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Competition Rules:

- Use any car or transmission option available in the game.

- Fastest total time wins.  Winner picks the next game and track.
   If someone wins two competitions in a row, the 2nd place finisher will pick the next game and track.

- No savestates, savestate practices, etc. during the round.

- A screenshot or photo of your time displayed on the game screen is required to
  enter.  Video is great and would help others learn, but it isn't required.

- Everyone is encouraged to post their times even if faster times have already
  been submitted.  It's fun to compete with people of the same skill level even if a
  master of driving has already submitted an untouchable time.

- Please make sure your times are from games that take place during the
  competition period (no posting your best time from last year, etc.).

- Use of scripts or other non-standard hacks are not allowed.
   No program or other person or entity of any sort may manipulate your
   controls during your game.  Coaching & back-seat driving is fine as long as the
   party doesn't directly influence the game or controls.

- If you can beat any of the times from the previous competitions, you can submit
   your time in the LEADERBOARD thread stickied at the top of this forum.

- Have fun!

BYOAC Racing Competition #2 will be Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge (medium)
Competition ends at midnight Pacific Standard Time, Sunday April 7th.



emulator : mame
settings : normal (5 laps)
country : US
cabinet : Standard






GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!
« Last Edit: April 08, 2013, 09:25:08 am by BadMouth »

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:14:20 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2013, 02:30:33 pm »
Sorry guys I'm all for old school arcade racers,  but these flatshaded textures are literally making my eyes hurt :lol:

doesn't help that I'm playing on a 100" projection screen

what resolution are you running the game in? And are you using d3d or ddraw?

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2013, 09:46:37 am »
Had a go at it last night, but couldn't get higher than 4th place.
Only seems to be a 3kph difference between auto and manual transmission.
For now, I'm getting slightly faster times with auto.

negative1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 473
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:25:14 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2013, 10:24:49 pm »
good time there.

i can't beat 4th either..

3min:25.84 sec for me..



later
-1

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:52:25 pm
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2013, 04:59:42 pm »
Im trying to play but the screen is choppy and flickers.
         

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17398
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:29:35 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2013, 05:36:11 pm »
Sorry guys I'm all for old school arcade racers,  but these flatshaded textures are literally making my eyes hurt :lol:

doesn't help that I'm playing on a 100" projection screen

what resolution are you running the game in? And are you using d3d or ddraw?

Ditto.  I had some time today so I thought I would enter, but my eyes were burning after just a couple of minutes of play.  I'm not sure what's up with this game, maybe it's the refresh rate or something, but it's really irritating.  Also this game is marked as incomplete in mame... perhaps it isn't the best candidate?

Honestly as it pertains to mame, there aren't a whole lot of games we can use.  Crusin' USA Ridge Racer and ect take too beefy a pc, not many people would be able to run it.  Many of the earlier games like pole position have control issues unless you have an optical wheel ect...  Model2 Supermodel and pc games might be better choices.  I'm just sayin....

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17398
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:29:35 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2013, 05:48:49 pm »
I found out something that fixes SOME of the flickering.  The game settings have a 16:9 option.  Even if you set this, you have to go into 16:9 mode in mame's artwork settings.  If you don't it bunches everything together and makes the screen flicker more.  So set to 4:3 or change the aspect in the artwork menu to match. 

It's still hurting my eyes though. 

I think I averaged 45 seconds per lap on my first attempt but I didn't realize that the results screen goes away after a few seconds so I missed the snapshot.  (doh!)

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2013, 08:46:22 am »
Yeah I thought Acropolis chopped and bounced a lot, this stage is seizure inducing. I have yet to finish this one either lol. BBBBBUTTTTTT It did motivate me to finish my racing cab, I'll be updating that thread later tonight. And by finished I mean everything is done but the front end set up.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2013, 09:23:59 am »
I see no flickering, but I'm running MAME v.137 through S-Video to a TV.
Also playing from behind the car perspective, so it doesn't bounce as much.

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:14:20 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2013, 01:55:59 pm »
Hey didn't they make this for the PS2 Sega Ages collection? Maybe you guys can play that version. It supports ffb too, but of course there's no proper ffb emulation yet so you'll only get ds rumble :( :( :(

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2013, 02:03:29 pm »
Hey didn't they make this for the PS2 Sega Ages collection? Maybe you guys can play that version. It supports ffb too, but of course there's no proper ffb emulation yet so you'll only get ds rumble :( :( :(

yeah but I didn't build a racing cab to play racing games on a PS2 controller ;)
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2013, 08:24:32 pm »
 :)  Still don't come in higher than 4th no matter how many cars I pass after getting to that position.

TacticalChaos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:February 26, 2019, 02:57:48 pm
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2013, 02:11:57 am »
.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...

TacticalChaos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:February 26, 2019, 02:57:48 pm
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2013, 01:59:27 pm »
I noticed that it's nearly impossible to get a good lap time on the first lap do to starting from a dead stop, and all the traffic congestion.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2013, 03:05:31 pm »
we should also track "Hot Lap" aka fastest lap times as well, just for fun, but the winner is still determined by cumulative time.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2013, 06:20:36 pm »
THE WHITE FLAG IS OUT, THIS IS THE FINAL LAP!

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #17 on: April 07, 2013, 09:39:34 pm »
THE WHITE FLAG IS OUT, THIS IS THE FINAL LAP!

I was about 4 seconds from finishing the race, whomp whomp.  If you run in view 1 or 2 the earthquakes aren't as bad, but I cant see far enough up the track to race well, view 3 is what I normally but its super bouncy, for fun I tried view 4 and ts laughably bad. Cant wait to see what comes up next now that my cab is done (other than figuring out the marquee and front end)
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Re: BYOAC Racing Competition #2 - Virtua Racing - Bay Bridge
« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2013, 09:24:40 am »
Congratulations to Tactical Chaos with a winning time of 3'23"12 !
:cheers:

YOU GET TO PICK THE NEXT GAME AND TRACK!
Just reply here with your pick and I'll make the next competition thread.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Tactical Chaos would like the Hard Drivin' Stunt Track in MAME for the next competition.

I'd like to get some input from others on the idea.

I've never been able to get the steering to feel right on my 270 degree wheel, but to be honest I haven't invested a ton of time in it.
Most people don't have a clutch, which could be a disadvantage.
There was a stand-up cabinet that didn't have the clutch, maybe using that rom version would be a good compromise.

What's the general consensus, does this game play well enough on your setup that you would participate?

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
What's the general consensus, does this game play well enough on your setup that you would participate?

I can actually finish that track so Im game. I agree about wheels not feeling right with the game, but its not a super hard adjustment, can you specify which rom is the no clutch? I'd love to try out my shifter on that game.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
I can actually finish that track so Im game. I agree about wheels not feeling right with the game, but its not a super hard adjustment, can you specify which rom is the no clutch? I'd love to try out my shifter on that game.

Cool.  I'll check the roms tonight.

Setup is covered on MAMEDev's FAQ page:
http://www.mamedev.org/devwiki/index.php?title=FAQ:Games#Hard_Drivin.27_.2F_Race_Drivin.27

Sounds like the compact version (which is the one without a clutch) also used a regular shifter instead of the analog joystick one on the standard cab.

There is a trick to make a regular shifter work on the analog version though:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,105961.msg1226703.html#msg1226703
(The 6 speed in ridge racer is set up in a similar way)

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8521
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 08:34:46 pm
  • ...
Apologies for the delay in getting the next competition thread up.
It will be posted tonight.