Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Question about Dual Cards  (Read 631 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

epicfatigue

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Last login:May 15, 2016, 08:16:08 pm
    • http://www.retromods.com.au
Question about Dual Cards
« on: January 24, 2013, 11:20:43 pm »
Hey Everyone!!!!!

So i am just wanting to find out abit of information about running two cards!

I have a x500 (soon to upgrade) running the hack drives allowing me to use all the resolutions.
However i want to Install my arcadeVGA graphics card along side it so i can use my Bios etc etc etc. (as its stock resolutions do not suit my purpose)

Can i install the hacked drives in Windows Xp64 alongside having this card in there aswell.
Will it cause issues has anyone tryed this?

Please note i will have these swicthable, via daisy chain of relays.

epicfatigue

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Last login:May 15, 2016, 08:16:08 pm
    • http://www.retromods.com.au
Re: Question about Dual Cards
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 03:26:50 am »
Okay so for anyone that wants to do this,

You will need to setup your machine using your hacked drivers,
Once finished and working remove your Hacked x550 or whatever you are using and put the arcade VGA in PCIE slot 1.

Then go into the bios and set slot 2 to to primary boot.
(make sure you do not install arcade VGA drivers)

Then exit and turn off the pc.

Put Your hacked driver G-card into slot one and the arcadeVGA into Slot 2.

This will give you native support untill windows loads, you can unplug that card and connect your Hacked gcard so you can use all the resolutions.

Why would you do this??

Maybe you want to configure somthing in the bios from time to time depending how highend your setup is.
Maybe you have an Arcade VGA doing nothing laying around.

How you switch is completely up to you.

MaYbe install a rotary switch that can use the Arcade monitor as common and the selector as the two diffirent cards.

6pdt Switch this would need to be.

Or if you wanna get tricky, use a large amound of relays and time delay circuts to auto switch between them using a master relay controled by a serial to USB convertor etc etc etc etc.

You would Ob have to be very keen to wanna do somthing like that and if it interest you PM me because well yes.....

I did build one for more then just one reason my machine also has a series of contactors to control power points inside working lights etc etc and to power many other things.


Once i have finished my other modifications i will upload a video for everyone, the machine requires alot of aditional things running in it.

As the Arcade machine is cooled by water, runs the unplayable games such as Guantlet legends 2 4 player at full speed.!!!!

As far as i am aware i am the only one that has managed to do it.

Using a Intel Xenon 775 at 6.23GHZ
« Last Edit: January 28, 2013, 03:37:56 am by epicfatigue »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6552
  • Last login:May 17, 2019, 11:19:04 am
Re: Question about Dual Cards
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2013, 01:04:34 pm »
Hi epicfatigue, thanks for sharing this.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi