Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Gorf issues with CGA monitor  (Read 1739 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:April 11, 2019, 11:49:21 pm
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« on: August 22, 2012, 06:49:02 pm »
I'm getting the blank screen thing with Gorf for some reason.  I can hear the sounds and the MAME menus come up fine, but no game video.  When I've had similar problems in the past, Calamity provided a custom monitor description line that fixed the issue. Gorf does have a pretty strange resolution in MAME (204 x 320 or something) so I'm wondering if this is a similar issue?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6539
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:15:47 am
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2012, 12:51:01 pm »
Hi ahofle,

That resolution shouldn't be any problem. Please create a log of gorf in your system so I can see what's happening.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:April 11, 2019, 11:49:21 pm
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 12:43:11 am »
Thanks Calamity...log attached.

Below are my monitor settings:

#
# CORE SWITCHRES OPTIONS
#
modeline                  1
monitor                   cga
monitor_connector         auto
monitor_orientation       rotate
monitor_aspect            4:3
monitor_debug             0
monitor_doublescan        1
monitor_dotclock          0
monitor_ymin              0
soundsync                 0
cleanstretch              1
changeres                 1
redraw                    0
#monitor_specs0            auto
monitor_specs0            15250-15700, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 288, 384
monitor_specs1            auto
monitor_specs2            auto
monitor_specs3            auto
monitor_specs4            auto
monitor_specs5            auto
monitor_specs6            auto
monitor_specs7            auto
magic_resolution          auto
powerstrip                0
« Last Edit: August 28, 2012, 01:20:29 am by ahofle »

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1960
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:40:10 pm
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2012, 02:32:04 am »
I'll let Calamity provide the real analysis of your log file, but I just wanted to say that I noticed a warning about a missing directX dll file.

It's probably not related to your issue, but have you updated your DirectX files using the web installer?...

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

It can't hurt.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6539
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:15:47 am
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2012, 03:43:04 pm »
Hi ahofle,

The gorf game case is interesting. You need to enable to -artwork_crop option to make it work properly, even if no artwork for this game is present.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:April 11, 2019, 11:49:21 pm
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2012, 04:12:38 pm »
Ah you are the man once again!  I'll give that a shot tonight, thanks!

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1960
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:40:10 pm
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2012, 05:12:34 pm »
Isn't Gorf one of those games that has a starfield generator background similar to galaxian/frogger ?

Maybe it requires a similar hack.


EDIT:  Nope.  It looks like Gorf has a layout file that comes with stock MAME (i.e. not bundled with artwork assets) though it may actually be internal.  I'm not sure what it does, but it's probably changing the rendered size of the game, which is why "artwork_crop" fixes it...
 
http://mamedev.org/source/src/mame/layout/gorf.lay.html

It's possible that there's a bug in the layout.  I don't think any of them should do anything unless artwork is enabled.

As a side note, shouldn't artwork_crop always be on globally for GroovyMAME?  I can't see any reason to ever have the artwork not cropped on an arcade monitor.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2012, 05:31:26 pm by krick »
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:April 11, 2019, 11:49:21 pm
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2012, 01:26:09 am »
Well that did the trick.  I also went ahead and enabled the crop for all games in mame.ini as suggested by krick.
Thanks!

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6539
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:15:47 am
Re: Gorf issues with CGA monitor
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2012, 04:20:00 am »
Thanks krick, that explains all.

As a side note, shouldn't artwork_crop always be on globally for GroovyMAME?  I can't see any reason to ever have the artwork not cropped on an arcade monitor.

Yes, this is something I should have added long ago, it will be there for the next release.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi