Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Tempest and GroovyMame  (Read 1975 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TheShaner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
  • Last login:December 23, 2017, 10:42:25 pm
  • Shut your noise tube filthy Taco Human!
Tempest and GroovyMame
« on: July 19, 2012, 09:03:07 pm »
I have done a little digging, and think I have seen issues with 640x480 games, but I havent found anything conclusive.  On my cabinet, if I launch Tempest from groovymame, I get a black screen.  On regular mame, no problem.  Anyone know what the deal is with that?  Is it a common issue with GM?

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1961
  • Last login:Today at 10:38:20 pm
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 09:32:53 am »
Tempest works on my system, but the bottom of the screen is cut off.  This is a known issue.  I'm not sure why you're getting no picture.

What's your system info?

Video card/GPU
Monitor type/model
Operating System + version

Are you using CRT_EmuDriver?  If so, which version?

Are you using "magic resolutions" with VMMaker?

Are you using Soft15KHz?

Can you grab a log from tempest and attach it here?  Here's the command line...

groovymame.exe tempest -v -md 4 >tempest.txt
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

TheShaner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
  • Last login:December 23, 2017, 10:42:25 pm
  • Shut your noise tube filthy Taco Human!
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 10:11:10 am »
Here is what I have at my fingertips.  I will get the rest here shortly.

ArcadeVGA 3000 vid card
Makvision 29" 2929D
XP 32bit

Drivers from ultimarc
no magic resolutions or soft15khz

I will get the log here shortly.

Thanks!

TheShaner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
  • Last login:December 23, 2017, 10:42:25 pm
  • Shut your noise tube filthy Taco Human!
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2012, 12:06:31 pm »
Parsing mame.ini
SwitchRes: Entering switchres_modeline_setup (0)
SwitchRes: Monitor: cga Orientation: horizontal Aspect 4:3
SwitchRes: MonitorLimits 30000.00-40000.00,47.00-90.00,0.600,2.500,2.800,0.032,0.096,0.448,0,0,640.0,768
SwitchRes: Raw limits (60.0000Hz)-> YresMin= 483p, YresMax= 643p(1286i)
SwitchRes: Logical limit YresMin (768/2) = 384p
SwitchRes: Setup monitor limits min=184x384 max=0x1286
SwitchRes: Starting with Horizontal freq of 29.831 and Vertical refresh of 60.00
SwitchRes: Increased horizontal frequency from 29.831 to 30.000
SwitchRes: Using 3 lines padding
SwitchRes: # 30.000Khz -> 40.000Khz: ( | Hfreq Change | Vpad +3 lines | )
SwitchRes: # tempest [2] 640x480@60.00 30.0000Khz
SwitchRes: ModeLine          "640x480x60.00" 23.280000 640 656 712 776 480 482 485 500 -HSync -VSync

SwitchRes v0.013f: [tempest] (1) vertical (640x480@60.00)->(640x480@60.00)->(640x480@60.00)
SwitchRes: # tempest 640x480@60.00 30.0000Khz
SwitchRes:    ModeLine          "640x480x60.00" 23.280000 640 656 712 776 480 482 485 500 -HSync -VSync
SwitchRes: DefaultVideo 'System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{68355F50-1C03-4546-AE52-F7F03F022BE8}\0000'
SwitchRes: Found -1 custom of 33 active modelines
  • SwitchRes: 240 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
  • [1]SwitchRes: 256 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [2]SwitchRes: 256 x 256 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [3]SwitchRes: 256 x 264 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [4]SwitchRes: 288 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [5]SwitchRes: 296 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [6]SwitchRes: 304 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [7]SwitchRes: 320 x 200 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [8]SwitchRes: 320 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [9]SwitchRes: 320 x 256 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [10]SwitchRes: 336 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [11]SwitchRes: 352 x 256 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [12]SwitchRes: 352 x 264 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [13]SwitchRes: 352 x 288 @ 51p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [14]SwitchRes: 368 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [15]SwitchRes: 384 x 288 @ 51p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [16]SwitchRes: 392 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [17]SwitchRes: 400 x 256 @ 53p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [18]SwitchRes: 448 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [19]SwitchRes: 448 x 384 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [20]SwitchRes: 512 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [21]SwitchRes: 512 x 288 @ 51p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [22]SwitchRes: 512 x 384 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [23]SwitchRes: 512 x 448 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [24]SwitchRes: 512 x 512 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [25]SwitchRes: 632 x 264 @ 57p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [26]SwitchRes: 640 x 240 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [27]SwitchRes: 640 x 288 @ 51p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [28]SwitchRes: 640 x 480 @ 60p-> 98.00 System Modeline
    [29]SwitchRes: 648 x 288 @ 59p-> 0.00 System Modeline
    [30]SwitchRes: 720 x 480 @ 60p-> 86.89 System Modeline
    [31]SwitchRes: 800 x 600 @ 60p-> 58.00 System Modeline
    [32]SwitchRes: 1024 x 768 @ 59p-> 23.00 System Modeline
    SwitchRes: Index 28/33 modeline SYSTEMMODE640x480x0x60 score 98.00 matches
    SwitchRes: Got System modeline  - SYSTEMMODE640x480x0x60:
            "" 0.000000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 -HSync -VSync
    SwitchRes: Setting Option -redraw 0
    SwitchRes: Setting Option -cleanstretch
    SwitchRes: Setting Option -rotate
    SwitchRes: Disabling VSYNC
    SwitchRes: Setting Option -nowaitvsync
    SwitchRes: Setting Option -resolution 640x480@60
    Video: Monitor 00010001 = "\\.\DISPLAY1" (primary)
    Direct3D: Warning - Unable to access d3dx9_43.dll; disabling post-effect rendering
    Direct3D: Warning - Unable to get a handle to D3DXCreateEffectFromFileW; disabling post-effect rendering
    Direct3D: Using Direct3D 9
    window_proc: WM_NCACTIVATE
    blit_lock = TRUE
    Direct3D: Configuring adapter #0 = Ultimarc ArcadeVGA3000
    Direct3D: Using dynamic textures
    Direct3D: YUV format = RGB
    Direct3D: Device created at 800x600
    Direct3D: Max texture size = 8192x8192
    blit_unlock = TRUE
    DirectSound: Primary buffer: 48000 Hz, 16 bits, 2 channels
    RawInput: APIs detected
    Input: Adding Mouse #0: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Gun #0: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Mouse #1: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Gun #1: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Mouse #2: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Gun #2: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Mouse #3: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Gun #3: HID-compliant mouse
    Input: Adding Kbd #0: HID Keyboard Device
    Input: Adding Kbd #1: HID Keyboard Device
    DirectInput: Using DirectInput 7
    Input: Adding Joy #0: Ultimarc Ultra-Stik Player 1
    window_proc: WM_PAINT
    blit_lock = FALSE
    window_proc: WM_PAINT:END
    Region ':maincpu' created
    Region ':user1' created
    Region ':user2' created
    Region ':user3' created
    Starting Tempest (rev 3, Revised Hardware) ':'
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
      (missing dependencies; rescheduling)
    Starting M6502 ':maincpu'
    Starting ATARI VG EAROM ':earom'
    Starting Video Screen ':screen'
    Starting MATHBOX ':mathbox'
    Starting Speaker ':mono'
      (missing dependencies; rescheduling)
    Starting POKEYN ':pokey1'
    Starting POKEYN ':pokey2'
    Starting Tempest (rev 3, Revised Hardware) ':'
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
      (missing dependencies; rescheduling)
    Starting Speaker ':mono'
    Starting Tempest (rev 3, Revised Hardware) ':'
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram2' not found
    Optional shared pointer 'paletteram' not found
    window_proc: WM_NCACTIVATE
    blit_lock = TRUE
    window_proc: WM_PAINT
    window_proc: WM_PAINT:END
    window_proc: WM_NCACTIVATE
    window_proc: WM_NCACTIVATE
    Average speed: 97.58% (31 seconds)
    Sound: buffer overflows=8 underflows=2
    window_proc: WM_DESTROY
    blit_lock = TRUE

TheShaner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
  • Last login:December 23, 2017, 10:42:25 pm
  • Shut your noise tube filthy Taco Human!
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2012, 07:07:42 pm »
Anything look out of place?

TheShaner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
  • Last login:December 23, 2017, 10:42:25 pm
  • Shut your noise tube filthy Taco Human!
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2012, 07:35:47 pm »
I was doing a little messing around, and it appears that the resolution is acting weird.  In that, the game is running, I just cant see it.  I popped a quarter in and pressed play and I could hear the sounds.  Im wondering if I can force it to another resolution or refresh rate that will allow it to be displayed? 

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1961
  • Last login:Today at 10:38:20 pm
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2012, 01:31:26 am »
Anything look out of place?

I was hoping the Calamity would chime in.  He's the one who really understands this stuff the best.

The symptoms you describe are what I was seeing when trying to run GroovyMAME on an ATI 4xxx card in DDRAW mode.  Only it happened for ALL games.  If I switched to D3D mode, it worked fine.  Have you tried forcing it to run in D3D mode? 
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6546
  • Last login:Today at 03:13:55 pm
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2012, 09:39:44 am »
Hi TheShaner,

Try using the option -nocleanstretch (only for this game, create a specific ini file).

EDIT: I'm thinking that this option will only work if you type it from command line, adding it to an ini file won't make any difference. Let me know if that's the case.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2012, 12:33:25 pm by Calamity »
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

TheShaner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
  • Last login:December 23, 2017, 10:42:25 pm
  • Shut your noise tube filthy Taco Human!
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2012, 05:06:36 pm »
Thanks calamity, that did the trick. I went ahead and added a conditional statement in mala so I am good.

Do you know off the top of your head what the switch is to stretch the game to the full screen?  I have a game or two I'd like to stretch but can't seem to figure out what switch it is.

Thanks!

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6546
  • Last login:Today at 03:13:55 pm
Re: Tempest and GroovyMame
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2012, 05:30:10 pm »
When MAME uses d3d the default behaviour is to stretch everything to full screen. In GM we use the -cleanstretch option internally to avoid this, so you just need to add the -nocleanstretch command line param as we did above to revert to the normal behaviour.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi