Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Project Rehab  (Read 2610 times)

virtuallyunlimited

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 07, 2021, 03:12:07 pm
Project Rehab
« on: July 05, 2012, 03:35:34 pm »
Howdy all! This is my first project that I am posting after lurking here for quite a while. this will be my third MAME cab. I picked up this cab from Craigslist inexpensively. It was up and running as a MAME cab already with ArcadeOS running on a Pentium machine with an iPac hooked up to the jamma harness and a hacked VGA cable directly to the PC. It came with leaf switch sticks and buttons. These will be replaced as I really can't get used to not hearing the click of cherries while playing games. The cabinet is a mess and I was hoping for some opinions on an appropriate way to go.
Here is the cab as I got it:

Just look at the placement of player 2s third button! Also it had a very high quality bezel and marque...(please note the sarcasm). And yes that is a bartop that I started in the background as well.

The cabinet appears to have been a Time Pilot cab as that is the tag inside:

But it definitely ran 1943 for a long time, look at that burn:

I have stripped the cabinet and plan on cleaning it and painting it all black. I am not too concerned with restoring it to Time Pilot cab as there are others out there for cheap.